We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very very very good but still a hair off from excellence” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kenya Road Upper Hill | PO Box 25574, Nairobi 00100, Kenya (Upper Hill Estate)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #20 of 125 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very very very good but still a hair off from excellence”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014 via mobile

Staff is phenomenal, and accommodating. Facilities are clean and comfortable. Beds provide for a great nights sleep every time. Road Access leaves a bit to be desired but it's improving. Health club is the best of the 4/5 stars in the area. So why not excellent?? I stay here every month for at least a week, and have been for over a year, the one issue is inconsistency. Small quirky things like, having a bathrobe and slippers, ordering a plate and it being the same as last time. These are such small things which should be standardized, but when you need these items it really is a pain to have to call and request them or to complain about the plate. It makes me feel like they I'm always complaining whereas in fact I'm just requesting the comforts and great food dishes which gives me the desire to return. Maybe I'm being too hard by not rating as excellent, but I hate the feeling of bothering the very friendly staff with these request every month. These points do not take away from it being the best to date. And certainly relaxing after a hard day at work or play.

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPNBO_Management, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Many thanks Terral B S for your candid feedback on your stay at Crowne Plaza Nairobi. It has indeed been a pleasure hosting you and we are delighted to read that our hotel colleagues take great care of you.

Crowne Plaza Nairobi strives to provide exemplary services to all our guests; being perceptive to our guests needs and working with others seamlessly to help them be successful. Your comments have been noted and will be acted upon.

Thank you for recommending Crowne Plaza Nairobi to other trip advisor reviewers.

We appreciate your most continued loyalty- IHG Rewards Platinum membership.

Best wishes,
Ken Musili.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    158
    43
    11
    7
See reviews for
19
53
31
221
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, MD
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

We recently missed our connecting flight in Nairobi, and booked a room last minute at this hotel. What a beautiful place! The lobby is big, bright, and airy. The bed was so comfortable and had a great shower! But, best of all, the staff was so friendly and accommodating to all our needs -- it made the frustrating and inconvenient layover a million times easier! Even though we were unlucky when we missed our connection, we were very lucky to find this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPNBO_Management, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear gerie74,

We appreciate your time to give us your great feedback your stay at Crowne Plaza Nairobi.

It was indeed a pleasure to host you while on transit and we are delighted to read that you had a great experience. I will with pleasure share your feedback with the team and I hope that we will have another opportunity to welcome you back in future.

Best wishes,
Ken Musili.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petworth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

I agree with others here who praise the hotel - all facilities and all staff were excellent. I was placed here, not by choice, but by a travel agent's package. I would not stay here again by choice unless I was on business to see one of the banks or embassies in the immediate area. The area may be wonderful in 4 or 5 years but for now it is a wasteland of really, REALLY bad dirt roads, big construction projects everywhere around it and no redeeming amenities anywhere near it. It is a gilded cage.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPNBO_Management, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear Stoic_Warrior,

Thank you for taking your time to give us your feedback on your stay at Crowne Plaza Nairobi.

We are delighted to read that you found the hotel facilities & staff excellent but sad that the environment and roads are not in the best state. We anticipate their completion by end of this year. There are more amenities too coming up in upper hill and this will make the area livelier.

I hope that you will give us another opportunity to host you in future.

Best wishes.
Ken Musili
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

A fantastic and pleasant stay in Nairobi. The rooms are clean, well organized and comfortable. The staff is friendly and and ready to help. The breakfast is wonderful with variety of options one can have. Keep up the good work. Should have more vegetarian options.
- by Rupesh D

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPNBO_Management, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Many thanks Rupesh D for taking the time to give such an amazing review on Tripadvisor on your stay at Crowne Plaza Nairobi.

We are delighted to read through your feedback and with great pleasure I will share your comments with the team. It is wonderful to know that our hotel colleagues make it happen for our guests. As for the food options, I have shared your suggestions with the Chef and his team.

It has been a pleasure hosting you and thank you for your continued loyalty- IHG Rewards membership.

Best wishes,
Ken Musili.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

The rooms are well appointed, clean and comfortable. The staff are friendly, knowledgeable, helpful and go out of their way to accommodate the guests needs. The quality and selection of food for breakfast and dinner buffets could be improved, given the price charged. Similarly the quality and selection of food at the coffee lounge can be vastly improved and it could offer light meal alternatives to the full buffet. With few other dining-out options in the vicinity, improving food service could enhance the hotel experience immensely. The hotel is conveniently located for business in Upper Hill area of Nairobi which is fast developing into the new business district. The roads in the area, unfortunately, are terrible and presents and unfavorable picture when approaching the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on 5th floor facing front of hotel are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPNBO_Management, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Thank you RAnilC for your time to review us on trip advisor. We appreciate your feedback, both positive and constructive. I have shared your comments and suggestions with the team and I assure you that they have taken them seriously. As for the roads in the area, we anticipate the completion in the next few months. This will make movement around upper hill much easier, hassle-free and create a favorable picture of the hotel.

Thank you for your patronage hoping to welcome you back soon!

Best wishes,
Ken Musili.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

I was blessed to reside at this Crowne Plaza Hotel for the first week of July. I was highly impressed. The staff was attentive and friendly. The room was immaculate. The menu was culturally diverse and the food was excellent. The service was quick and quality was high. Of course, they are building up the area so the roads and surrounding areas were a bit rough for travel, however arriving at the hotel was truly pleasant. I was pleased to see the level of security provided with no exceptions. The management was great and I loved the extra touches. Travel often, but had never had a personalized welcome on the room television before! COOL! I sent that home to the US and everyone was shocked! This hotel gives you affordability coupled with class and service from people who take great pride in their work.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPNBO_Management, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear HopeDB,

Thank you for such fantastic feedback with regards to your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Nairobi. Indeed, it is very encouraging to read how our team were able to make it happen for you.

I will pass your great comments on to the team and let them know of the very great ratings. This will go a long way in boosting the team's morale and make them achieve higher scores.

We appreciate your feedback once more hoping to host you in the near future.

Best wishes,
Ken Musili.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Have stayed here a number of times. As Platinum member I get an upgrade which is always welcome. This entitles you to a free Happy Hour in the Club Room ( where I am now). Happy front desk staff and Club staff. The pool is heated and gets the sun in the afternoon. Good gym. Concierge can arrange car to get out at reasonable rates (Dame Daphne Sheldrick elephant rescue centre was my destination).
Comfy bed and love the "sleep therapy" kit provided...works for me!

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPNBO_Management, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear cue-em,

Thank you for taking your time to give us your feedback on your stay at Crowne Plaza Nairobi. We are delighted to read that we have made an oasis of calm for you while in Nairobi. Our team takes pride in both the service and product and we are pleased it met your standards.

We appreciate your most continued loyalty- IHG Rewards Platinum membership.

Last but not least, thank you for recommending our hotel to other trip advisor reviewers hoping to host you again in future.

Best wishes,
Ken Musili
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi

Address: Kenya Road Upper Hill | PO Box 25574, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Upper Hill Estate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 125 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Nairobi is a new and stylish, 4 Star hotel strategically located in the commercial area of Upper Hill in Nairobi. The hotel is surrounded by multinational companies, diplomatic missions, banks, government offices, insurers and hospitals. Our pillar-less ballroom and 6 boardrooms with state-of-the-art equipments make it the ideal place to stay and meet. The Crowne Plaza Nairobi is just a 30 minute drive from the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, 10 minutes drive to the City Centre and 20 minutes drive to the famous Nairobi National Park and Animal Orphanage. Crowne Plaza Nairobi has 162 superbly appointed spacious rooms which include thirteen suites, a club floor with its exclusive lounge. All rooms are air conditioned and have high speed wireless internet connectivity. To compliment this is the Business Centre, the double story ultra modern fitness centre and heated swimming pool, Multiple restaurants and a double story bar, 24 hour room service, a gift shop, money changing facilities, beauty salon, travel desk, secure and ample parking space, and same day laundry facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.