We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Nairobi!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kenya Road Upper Hill | PO Box 25574, Nairobi 00100, Kenya (Upper Hill Estate)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Members Get Up to 35% Off
Ranked #15 of 100 hotels in Nairobi
Rockville, MD
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Nairobi!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We recently missed our connecting flight in Nairobi, and booked a room last minute at this hotel. What a beautiful place! The lobby is big, bright, and airy. The bed was so comfortable and had a great shower! But, best of all, the staff was so friendly and accommodating to all our needs -- it made the frustrating and inconvenient layover a million times easier! Even though we were unlucky when we missed our connection, we were very lucky to find this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPNBO_Management, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear gerie74,

We appreciate your time to give us your great feedback your stay at Crowne Plaza Nairobi.

It was indeed a pleasure to host you while on transit and we are delighted to read that you had a great experience. I will with pleasure share your feedback with the team and I hope that we will have another opportunity to welcome you back in future.

Best wishes,
Ken Musili.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    118
    128
    36
    10
    4
See reviews for
18
48
30
174
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Petworth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I agree with others here who praise the hotel - all facilities and all staff were excellent. I was placed here, not by choice, but by a travel agent's package. I would not stay here again by choice unless I was on business to see one of the banks or embassies in the immediate area. The area may be wonderful in 4 or 5 years but for now it is a wasteland of really, REALLY bad dirt roads, big construction projects everywhere around it and no redeeming amenities anywhere near it. It is a gilded cage.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPNBO_Management, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Stoic_Warrior,

Thank you for taking your time to give us your feedback on your stay at Crowne Plaza Nairobi.

We are delighted to read that you found the hotel facilities & staff excellent but sad that the environment and roads are not in the best state. We anticipate their completion by end of this year. There are more amenities too coming up in upper hill and this will make the area livelier.

I hope that you will give us another opportunity to host you in future.

Best wishes.
Ken Musili
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

A fantastic and pleasant stay in Nairobi. The rooms are clean, well organized and comfortable. The staff is friendly and and ready to help. The breakfast is wonderful with variety of options one can have. Keep up the good work. Should have more vegetarian options.
- by Rupesh D

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPNBO_Management, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Many thanks Rupesh D for taking the time to give such an amazing review on Tripadvisor on your stay at Crowne Plaza Nairobi.

We are delighted to read through your feedback and with great pleasure I will share your comments with the team. It is wonderful to know that our hotel colleagues make it happen for our guests. As for the food options, I have shared your suggestions with the Chef and his team.

It has been a pleasure hosting you and thank you for your continued loyalty- IHG Rewards membership.

Best wishes,
Ken Musili.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The rooms are well appointed, clean and comfortable. The staff are friendly, knowledgeable, helpful and go out of their way to accommodate the guests needs. The quality and selection of food for breakfast and dinner buffets could be improved, given the price charged. Similarly the quality and selection of food at the coffee lounge can be vastly improved and it could offer light meal alternatives to the full buffet. With few other dining-out options in the vicinity, improving food service could enhance the hotel experience immensely. The hotel is conveniently located for business in Upper Hill area of Nairobi which is fast developing into the new business district. The roads in the area, unfortunately, are terrible and presents and unfavorable picture when approaching the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on 5th floor facing front of hotel are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPNBO_Management, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you RAnilC for your time to review us on trip advisor. We appreciate your feedback, both positive and constructive. I have shared your comments and suggestions with the team and I assure you that they have taken them seriously. As for the roads in the area, we anticipate the completion in the next few months. This will make movement around upper hill much easier, hassle-free and create a favorable picture of the hotel.

Thank you for your patronage hoping to welcome you back soon!

Best wishes,
Ken Musili.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was blessed to reside at this Crowne Plaza Hotel for the first week of July. I was highly impressed. The staff was attentive and friendly. The room was immaculate. The menu was culturally diverse and the food was excellent. The service was quick and quality was high. Of course, they are building up the area so the roads and surrounding areas were a bit rough for travel, however arriving at the hotel was truly pleasant. I was pleased to see the level of security provided with no exceptions. The management was great and I loved the extra touches. Travel often, but had never had a personalized welcome on the room television before! COOL! I sent that home to the US and everyone was shocked! This hotel gives you affordability coupled with class and service from people who take great pride in their work.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPNBO_Management, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear HopeDB,

Thank you for such fantastic feedback with regards to your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Nairobi. Indeed, it is very encouraging to read how our team were able to make it happen for you.

I will pass your great comments on to the team and let them know of the very great ratings. This will go a long way in boosting the team's morale and make them achieve higher scores.

We appreciate your feedback once more hoping to host you in the near future.

Best wishes,
Ken Musili.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Have stayed here a number of times. As Platinum member I get an upgrade which is always welcome. This entitles you to a free Happy Hour in the Club Room ( where I am now). Happy front desk staff and Club staff. The pool is heated and gets the sun in the afternoon. Good gym. Concierge can arrange car to get out at reasonable rates (Dame Daphne Sheldrick elephant rescue centre was my destination).
Comfy bed and love the "sleep therapy" kit provided...works for me!

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPNBO_Management, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear cue-em,

Thank you for taking your time to give us your feedback on your stay at Crowne Plaza Nairobi. We are delighted to read that we have made an oasis of calm for you while in Nairobi. Our team takes pride in both the service and product and we are pleased it met your standards.

We appreciate your most continued loyalty- IHG Rewards Platinum membership.

Last but not least, thank you for recommending our hotel to other trip advisor reviewers hoping to host you again in future.

Best wishes,
Ken Musili
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great all-round service, from the lobby to restaurant, concierge, reception counter and hotel taxi service! The atmosphere is just wonderful.
Good food too! Fresh fruit every morning, diverse menu that incorporates local dishes. Delicious!!

Rooms are comfortable! Very fast WiFi with Internet access.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPNBO_Management, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Many thanks Sandile S for your time to give us feedback on your stay. We are very happy to read of your positive feedback and to read that your travel was a succesful one.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Crowne Plaza Nairobi on your next visit to the city of cold waters, Nairobi.

Best wishes,
Ken Musili.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi

Address: Kenya Road Upper Hill | PO Box 25574, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Upper Hill Estate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 100 hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Nairobi is a new and stylish, 4 Star hotel strategically located in the commercial area of Upper Hill in Nairobi. The hotel is surrounded by multinational companies, diplomatic missions, banks, government offices, insurers and hospitals. Our pillar-less ballroom and 6 boardrooms with state-of-the-art equipments make it the ideal place to stay and meet. The Crowne Plaza Nairobi is just a 30 minute drive from the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, 10 minutes drive to the City Centre and 20 minutes drive to the famous Nairobi National Park and Animal Orphanage. Crowne Plaza Nairobi has 162 superbly appointed spacious rooms which include thirteen suites, a club floor with its exclusive lounge. All rooms are air conditioned and have high speed wireless internet connectivity. To compliment this is the Business Centre, the double story ultra modern fitness centre and heated swimming pool, Multiple restaurants and a double story bar, 24 hour room service, a gift shop, money changing facilities, beauty salon, travel desk, secure and ample parking space, and same day laundry facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.