We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid choice in Upper Hill” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kenya Road Upper Hill | PO Box 25574, Nairobi 00100, Kenya (Upper Hill Estate)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #21 of 130 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Solid choice in Upper Hill”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Crowne Plaza is solid choice if your business is in Upper Hill. Accommodations are very clean and comfortable and the location allows you to avoid all the downtown traffic (if you don't have to be there otherwise). Staff at the front desk, restaurants and gym are all phenomenal- attentive, friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. One staff member in the restaurant, Sella, remembered me each day and brought me my rather quirky cappuccino with honey every morning without ask. That was a true delight. Another staff member, Peter, from the business center called me to see how I was enjoying my stay.

The drawbacks are few: 1) there is really no place to walk around the Crowne Plaza. The road is only being paved on one side so it is temporarily a bit inconvenient. 2) the breakfast buffet is good, but if you have been to the Serena, it will seem skimpy (less fresh fruit, cheese, cooked options and juices). 3) the refrigerator in the room is wired closed each day, maybe to indicate it was restocked? Not sure, but a bit of a nuisance to have to break into it each time you want to put your water in or take something out. 4) the gym has large windows that are often open and are above some sort of a machine that billows a cloud into the air every now and again. The cloud comes in the open window and is otherwise inhaled by anyone on the line of treadmills facing the window. While the intermittent fresh air is appreciated, it might be best to keep the windows closed and instead air condition the gym.

One suggestion if you are thinking of staying there:
- make sure you are a club member and you will receive not only points for your stay, but a free newspaper each morning

I will definitely happily staff there again :-)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPNBO_Management, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Many thanks HM_Ippy for your detailed feedback on Crowne Plaza Nairobi.

We are so glad we were able to make your stay so comfortable. We appreciate your mentioning both Sellah and Peter as providing outstanding service during your time with us, we always love to hear when we make someone's day brighter.

We love to hear that our guests feel welcomed and well taken care of, especially when extra attention is needed. I this regard, I wish to let you know that we have taken note of the drawbacks and assure you that we are going to look into them. We appreciate your suggestions as well. As for the roads, we anticipate the situation to get better and over in the next few months; construction is ongoing.

Thank you for recommending us to other trip advisor reviewers and we look forward to your next stay with us.

Ken Musili,
Front Office Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    168
    45
    12
    8
See reviews for
21
55
32
237
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

The rooms are big and the TV allows you to check your bill. Their travel desk offers advise on key attractions & their drivers are knowledgeable. Great transit point as it is only 25 minutes from airport & the city center is just 5 minutes away.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPNBO_Management, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Many thanks Mkenya1 for your positive feedback on your stay with us at Crowne Plaza Nairobi. We are delighted to read of such encouraging comments. Thank you for recommending us to trip advisor reviewers and hope that we shall see you again in the near future.

Best wishes,
Ken Musili
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abidjan, Cote d'Ivoire
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Very good experience where your TV welcomes you and allow you to check your bill and a lot more.
The service is very good, the staff is helpfull, warm and open. The fitness center is well equiped and a coach is available to help. I enjoyed the breakfast and the room is very big, clean with a very good wash room.
Conferencing facilities are also great and the bar is medium but nice. The only bad thing is the road leading to the hotel: it is horrible

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aakbarali00, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you very much for your positive comments with respect to your experience at our hotel. Crowne Plaza Nairobi takes pride in both the service and product and we are pleased it met your standards.

We look forward to welcoming you back to your home in Nairobi in the near future.

Regards,

Ali Akbarali
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

I have stayed at the Crowne Plaza 4 nights in May. The rooms are very comfortable, and the reception excellent. The front office staff remember your name and is very helpful to find a taxi. I stay here often and will return. The giant prawns are great at both restaurants in the hotel. Don't be put off by the roads around the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask to be on the inside of the hotel as there are a lot of construction going on at night in the are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPNBO_Management, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you Ms. Lucette B for your kind comments on Crowne Plaza Nairobi. It has always been a pleasure hosting you and we are delighted to hear of the excellent service from the reception team and great giant prawns at the restaurants.
Thank you for recommending our hotel to other trip advisor viewers. Be sure to let us know of your next visit so that we can allocate your preffered room.

Best wishes,
Ken Musili.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

I needed an overnight hotel for a recent transit through Nairobi. Even though it is further away from where I normally stay - during non-peak traffic it takes no more than 15 minutes to get to the airport. The hotel is in a quiet part of town - you can hear the birds when you wake in the morning. The rooms are clean and modern. Breakfast is awesome. Will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I overheard a guest in front of me ask for a room away from the elevators. So I did the same. :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPNBO_Management, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Sean B,

Thank you for your kind comments on Crowne Plaza Nairobi and for recommending us to other trip advisor viewers. We are very happy to hear that you had a memorable stay with us. Be sure to let us know when you are coming back so that we can reserve your preferred room.

Best wishes,

Ken Musili
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
71 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel numerous times and have been happy with the service, staff and accommodations. The rooms are fairly updated and the restaurant is above par for the area, with a nice wine selection. Breakfast is served in nice area located next to the pool and offers great coffee! The internet was slow and needs a speed boost. Outside of the hotel, I would not recommend walking alone but their is a nice local establishment across the street if you are looking for a change of scenes.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPNBO_Management, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Dear Vmo9,

We appreciate your positive comments on Crowne Plaza Nairobi and are delighted that you are happy with the staff, service and accomodation. We will surely share this with the team.

I have taken note of the internet issue and will share it with the team for the purpose of addressing it. As for the roads surrounding the hotel, I am glad to inform you that we anticipate that they will be complete in about six months making it easy to walk around.

I has been a pleasure hosting you while in Nairobi and look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Best wishes,

Ken Musili.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky,USA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

My third visit to this property in as many years and truly our home away from home in Nairobi. Staff, surroundings, cleanliness, rooms,amenities ...all still superb. Many thanks for always making us feel so welcomed and at home.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPNBO_Management, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear Thelmagal,

We greatly appreciate your feedback on your experience at Crowne Plaza Nairobi.

We are indeed delighted to know that we have made another home for you in Nairobi and that we delivered to your expectation. Thank you for recommending us to trip advisor viewers as we look forward to hosting you again.

Best wishes,

Ken Musili
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
InterContinental Nairobi
#29 of 130 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 680 reviews
The Boma Nairobi
#4 of 130 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 425 reviews
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#6 of 130 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Hill Estate
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Nairobi
Fairmont The Norfolk
#14 of 130 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 621 reviews
Hilton Nairobi
#47 of 130 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi

Address: Kenya Road Upper Hill | PO Box 25574, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Upper Hill Estate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 130 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Nairobi is a new and stylish, 4 Star hotel strategically located in the commercial area of Upper Hill in Nairobi. The hotel is surrounded by multinational companies, diplomatic missions, banks, government offices, insurers and hospitals. Our pillar-less ballroom and 6 boardrooms with state-of-the-art equipments make it the ideal place to stay and meet. The Crowne Plaza Nairobi is just a 30 minute drive from the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, 10 minutes drive to the City Centre and 20 minutes drive to the famous Nairobi National Park and Animal Orphanage. Crowne Plaza Nairobi has 162 superbly appointed spacious rooms which include thirteen suites, a club floor with its exclusive lounge. All rooms are air conditioned and have high speed wireless internet connectivity. To compliment this is the Business Centre, the double story ultra modern fitness centre and heated swimming pool, Multiple restaurants and a double story bar, 24 hour room service, a gift shop, money changing facilities, beauty salon, travel desk, secure and ample parking space, and same day laundry facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.