We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kenya Road Upper Hill | PO Box 25574, Nairobi 00100, Kenya (Upper Hill Estate)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Members Exclusive:25% Off
Ranked #15 of 106 Hotels in Nairobi
Anchorage, Alaska
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel numerous times and have been happy with the service, staff and accommodations. The rooms are fairly updated and the restaurant is above par for the area, with a nice wine selection. Breakfast is served in nice area located next to the pool and offers great coffee! The internet was slow and needs a speed boost. Outside of the hotel, I would not recommend walking alone but their is a nice local establishment across the street if you are looking for a change of scenes.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPNBO_Management, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Dear Vmo9,

We appreciate your positive comments on Crowne Plaza Nairobi and are delighted that you are happy with the staff, service and accomodation. We will surely share this with the team.

I have taken note of the internet issue and will share it with the team for the purpose of addressing it. As for the roads surrounding the hotel, I am glad to inform you that we anticipate that they will be complete in about six months making it easy to walk around.

I has been a pleasure hosting you while in Nairobi and look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Best wishes,

Ken Musili.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    141
    39
    10
    4
See reviews for
19
51
31
195
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kentucky,USA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

My third visit to this property in as many years and truly our home away from home in Nairobi. Staff, surroundings, cleanliness, rooms,amenities ...all still superb. Many thanks for always making us feel so welcomed and at home.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPNBO_Management, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear Thelmagal,

We greatly appreciate your feedback on your experience at Crowne Plaza Nairobi.

We are indeed delighted to know that we have made another home for you in Nairobi and that we delivered to your expectation. Thank you for recommending us to trip advisor viewers as we look forward to hosting you again.

Best wishes,

Ken Musili
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

I got picked up from a friendly hotel driver. The security was very strict to enter the hotel which is very good. Received a complementary upgrade to Club floor and a wonderful corner suite. The rooms are clean and everything worked including free wifi. The breakfast room beside the pool is great as well as the buffet. The fitness area is nice with many machines and spotless clean. The whole staff is extremely friendly esp. the one from the club lounge and fitness area. Between 6 and 7 pm the lounge served free drinks and good snacks. Definitely one of my favorite IHG Hotels in the MEA region.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPNBO_Management, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Woso1,

We greatly appreciate your comments about Crowne Plaza Nairobi and delighted to know that you had a very good experience with us. We will share the comments with the staff and assure you that this will go a long way in motivating them to deliver the best to all hotel guests.

Thank you for recommending our hotel to trip advisor members and hope to host you again in future.

Regards,

Ken Musili.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

A very professional set of people, we'll maintained rooms, centrally located, though the approach roads are somewhat of a problem - been under construction by some Chinese companies forever, but otherwise, it's perfect.

A perfect spread of breakfast options, a good gym, a pool too small and oddly located, that doesn't help, but overall not much to complain for a business traveller.

Pricing is pretty competitive and they really take good care of their regular guests, so suits me just fine.

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo_baleri, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Dear Siddhoo,

Thank you for your feedback and for the positive comments about our hotel. We are delighted to hear that you had a very good experience with staff and facility.

As for the roads, I am glad to inform you that the construction should be concluded in the next six months. This will greatly help in reducing the traffic that chokes up the roads in upperhill area.

I hope that we shall have another opportunity to host you in future.

Best wishes,

Ken Musili.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

At a recent business trip to Nairobi I stayed at the Crowne Plaza hotel. I requested an early check in which the staff at the reception counter dealt with most professionally. With no hesitation I was offered a room. the rooms are neat, clean and offer excellent value to the business traveller. Wi-fi connectivity is good and its free. The abience of the hotel is relaxing and the coffee shop is brilliant.
The restaurant offers a great selection of food. The gym facilities are excellent. Overall, a great hotel in Nairobi.

Room Tip: I stayed in the 5th floor which is the business executive floor. This has its own breakfast room whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo_baleri, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Manfred K ,

Thank you for taking the time of writing a review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Nairobi.

I was pleased to hear that you experienced friendly and efficient service from our front desk staff on arrival and that they indeed exceeded your expectations.

We were also very happy to read that you found the hotel rooms clean and neat, offering excellent value to the business traveller like yourself. We pride ourselves of our product offering and we continuosly work hard at offering the best selection of food in our restaurants and coffee selection offerings.

Thank you very much for recommending our hotel to fellow Tripadvisor reviewers and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best Wishes

Lorenzo Baleri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

I stayed at the hotel for one week in March. The facilities are good, staff is very nice and helpful, the main drawback is food. Each day, the same things (of very average quality) were severed for each meal and after 4 days I was not even feeling hungry anymore....

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo_baleri, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear raposaraposa

Thank you for the review regarding your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Nairobi. We were very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our facilities and hotel very much,particularly the friendly and helpful staff.

We have taken note of your comments regarding the qaulity of the food and are most welcome, and will take the appropriate steps to review our menu offerings.

Constructive feedback like yours is always appreciated as this helps us offer you,our guests,the ultimate guest experience.

Lookinf forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Kind Regards

Lorenzo Baleri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

I recently stayed at the Crowne Plaza on Business. Usually i stay at one of the downtown hotels (Serena, Hilton..) but decided to try Upperhill area this time. What a mistake! The hotel is between 2 major arterial roads and you spend most of your time in a taxi stuck in hour-long traffic jams. The facilities are good, and the quality of food (room service) is high quality, as is to be expected from the hotel brand. My only complaint is with their business centre and the exorbitant price they charge for a printout: $1 a page! what business are you running here? a hotel or printing shop? I know it doesn't sound much, but for a proposal i paid $48 to print. The idea of a business centre is to facilitate your guests business dealings while staying at your hotel, not supplementing profits. If it wasn't for the traffic, i may have considered coming back, but for a lot less cost and traffic, stay in the city centre or nearby.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo_baleri, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Dear SA_Business_Traveler ,

Thank you for much for taking the time to review our hotel. We were happy to hear that you enjoyed the hotel facilities and most particularly the quality of the food.

We have taken note of your comments with regards to cost of the printing in the business centre and will be reviewing the costs, as mentioned in your review.

I am glad to confirm that the major construction phase of the main roads to Upperhill will be completed towards the end of September 2014, and will considerably ease the flow of traffic in and around Upperhill. The newly built highways will provide easy access to and from the International airport and city centre.

Thank you once again and we do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Crowne Plaza Nairobi sometime in the near future.

Best Regards

Lorenzo Baleri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi

Address: Kenya Road Upper Hill | PO Box 25574, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Upper Hill Estate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 106 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Nairobi is a new and stylish, 4 Star hotel strategically located in the commercial area of Upper Hill in Nairobi. The hotel is surrounded by multinational companies, diplomatic missions, banks, government offices, insurers and hospitals. Our pillar-less ballroom and 6 boardrooms with state-of-the-art equipments make it the ideal place to stay and meet. The Crowne Plaza Nairobi is just a 30 minute drive from the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, 10 minutes drive to the City Centre and 20 minutes drive to the famous Nairobi National Park and Animal Orphanage. Crowne Plaza Nairobi has 162 superbly appointed spacious rooms which include thirteen suites, a club floor with its exclusive lounge. All rooms are air conditioned and have high speed wireless internet connectivity. To compliment this is the Business Centre, the double story ultra modern fitness centre and heated swimming pool, Multiple restaurants and a double story bar, 24 hour room service, a gift shop, money changing facilities, beauty salon, travel desk, secure and ample parking space, and same day laundry facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Otel, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.