We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a business stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kenya Road Upper Hill | PO Box 25574, Nairobi 00100, Kenya (Upper Hill Estate)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Members Get Up to 35% Off
Ranked #16 of 105 Hotels in Nairobi
Rochester, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Good for a business stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is very clean, modern and spacious. The rooms are very comfortable and ideal for business travellers. Breakfast excellent. Staff very helpful. My only criticism was the 'ladies of the night' that frequented the very smart hotel bar. They made their intentions quite clear by staring consistently all the men !

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo_baleri, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear Jez W ,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review here on TripAdvisor.

I was are delighted to read that your found our facilities clean, modern and spacious and ideal and comfortable for business travelers. Thank you too for the compliments regarding our breakfast and the helpful and friendly staff. I will certainly share your encouraging feedback to my Team !

We have noted your feedback regarding the bar and will immediately be taking the corrective measures to rectify this.

Once again, thank you for recommending our hotel to fellow TripAdvisor reviewers and look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Best Regards

Lorenzo Baleri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    131
    37
    10
    4
See reviews for
18
49
30
179
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Hotel is very clean with good service. The staff is very helpful and the service is relatively quick. The bar and restaurants are very good and the food is of very good quality. The Sikia restaurant has excellent food and very well presented. As good as anywhere in the world. Rooms are spacious and clean. This is a place where you can stay without worries.

Room Tip: Any room will do. Just great in all areas
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo_baleri, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Marius L,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Tripadvisor. We were pleased to note that you found our staff to be helpful and the service relatively quick.

I will pass on to our Chef and Food & Beverage Manager your feedback about the good restaurants and the food being of high quality. We are very proud of our award winning signature fine dining restaurant, and as you mentioned, "as good as anywhere in the world".

Thank you for recommending our hotel to fellow TripAdvisor reviewers.

We look forward to hosting you again in the not too distant future.

Best Wishes,

Lorenzo Baleri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauritius
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

My wife and I have stayed regularly and for long stays at the Crowne Plaza since August 2013. One of the main reasons for us coming back to CP is the excellent service from management and staff. The Front Desk Manager has always been very attentive to our needs and ensures that our stay is as comfortable as possible. Once the Chef and his assistants have been aware of our food preferences, they go the extra mile to serve dishes to our liking. Restaurant managers and waiters serve with a smile... Cannot ask for more in terms of service ! ... Rooms are comfortable, clean and gym is well equipped and well kept. Hotel premises are well secured and hotel taxis are reliable. If your business is in UpperHill area, location is excellent. One can always find things to fault anywhere but overall we are very happy with our stay at CP. Our accolades to Management (front desk, chefs, and restaurant) and staff for the great service ! Our advice: ask and you will be served with a smile !

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo_baleri, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear Donald789 ,

Thank you for taking the time of writing a review of the Crowne Plaza Nairobi, we appreciate your feedback very much.

We are delighted that you thoroughly enjoy your stay at our hotel during your regular trips to Nairobi, mainly due to the excellent attentive service received from the staff and management.

We strive very hard to ensure that our guests receive the most attentive and seamless service and ensuring we exceed guests' expectations. I will most definitely pass on your encouraging comments to all our staff which I am sure will be much appreciated.

It was a pleasuring being of service to you and look forward to your next visit to Nairobi.

Best Wishes

Lorenzo Baleri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

This hotel is very clean and well kept. The armed gate at the entrance gives you a sense of security. The breakfast menu is a bit limited but there are plenty of people in kenya who would die for that menu. There are a few minor imperfections in the rooms that I didn't expect of a crown plaza hotel, but again, overall this hotel is really nice.

My biggest gripe, is the location. If you want a hotel to hold you up before and after your Safaris, this location is for you. However, if you want to get a taste of Nairobi I would suggest a different property as the hotel is located in a light residential area with nothing around it. There is an ATM located around the corner from hotel, I WOULDNT SUGGEST WALKING TO AT NIGHT.

Nairobi gets a bad rap, but as long as your minding your business and not flashing high end items you will be okay. I would suggest arranging airport pickups with the hotel prior to your arrival. There are also a group of trusted drivers who camp out in front of hotel. I used one by the name of Kaleb, he was very punctual / reliable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo_baleri, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Dear abather ,

Thank you for taking the time of writing a revue here on TripAdvisor in regards to your recent stay with us.

Thank you for the positive comments about the clean and well kept hotel, good security, breakfast menu and the friendly/punctual and reliable staff.

With regards to the minor room imperfections, I have emailed you requesting more details so that we may take the necessary action to remedy and flaws.

I have pleasuring to inform you that the major road works in and around Upper Hill will be completed in six months, which will provide quick and easy access to all key business and leisure spots in Nairobi.

We look forward to hosting you at our Crowne Plaza Nairobi soon.

Karibu

Lorenzo Baleri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Tried the Skia fine dining restaurant at the Nairobi Restaurant Week and the food was amazing!!!! The service was also great as the waiters are swift in serving and the service sequence.
The hotel had a very nice decor and it would be nice for private functions.
They also have a good selection of wines which a person should try!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo_baleri, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Fwawesh ,

I am delighted that you enjoyed the fine dining experience in our Sikia restaurant during the Nairobi Restaurant week. The kitchen brigade as well as the service staff work very hard at delivering the ultimate fine dining experience. We are very proud of our international wine selection which compliments the food menu.

Thank you for the great feedback and look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Best Regards

Lorenzo Baleri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Always a pleasure in Kenya! made nicer and more comfortable at this hotel. The hotel lobby is a pleasure the staff are great! the taxi service attached to the hotel a pleasure to deal with if you have an option ask for Victor, a pleasure to deal with. The food was great Breakfast lovely and the restaurant great. Granted expensive but this is Africa! also a bit out of the way and te road getting there is TERRIBLE but not the hotel's fault.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo_baleri, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear ColmV ,

Thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Nairobi and for sharing your feedback here on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to know that you rate our hotel on par with international intercontinental standards and that you enjoyed our breakfast very much.

It was indeed a pleasure hosting you and look forward to your next visit to Nairobi.

Best Wishes

Lorenzo Baleri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kigali
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

The hotel meets international intercontinental standards, the rooms are spacious, the food is decent (breakfast is very good) albeit pricey and there is a decent gym and pool. This is close to the worldbank offices and you can walk if that's where you are headed. There aren't any good restaurants within walking distance but if you leave after 7.30 pm (traffic) it will take you less than 10 minutes to get into town and about 20 to get to Westlands.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a room away from the main or service elevators or you hear it all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo_baleri, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear anuka9,

Thank you so much for the wonderful review on TripAdvisor. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and in particular our spacious rooms, breakfast and Health centre.

I will share your comments with my team who always appreciate positive feedback.

Looking forward to welcome you back soon.

Best wishes

Lorenzo Baleri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi

Address: Kenya Road Upper Hill | PO Box 25574, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Upper Hill Estate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 105 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Nairobi is a new and stylish, 4 Star hotel strategically located in the commercial area of Upper Hill in Nairobi. The hotel is surrounded by multinational companies, diplomatic missions, banks, government offices, insurers and hospitals. Our pillar-less ballroom and 6 boardrooms with state-of-the-art equipments make it the ideal place to stay and meet. The Crowne Plaza Nairobi is just a 30 minute drive from the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, 10 minutes drive to the City Centre and 20 minutes drive to the famous Nairobi National Park and Animal Orphanage. Crowne Plaza Nairobi has 162 superbly appointed spacious rooms which include thirteen suites, a club floor with its exclusive lounge. All rooms are air conditioned and have high speed wireless internet connectivity. To compliment this is the Business Centre, the double story ultra modern fitness centre and heated swimming pool, Multiple restaurants and a double story bar, 24 hour room service, a gift shop, money changing facilities, beauty salon, travel desk, secure and ample parking space, and same day laundry facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.