We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charging customers twice” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kenya Road Upper Hill | PO Box 25574, Nairobi 00100, Kenya (Upper Hill Estate)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Members Exclusive:25% Off
Ranked #17 of 106 Hotels in Nairobi
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Charging customers twice”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Our staff was staying in December in the Crown Plaza Hotel in Nairobi. They charged him the preauthorisation and the final amount for his stay. Since three weeks the Crown Plaza has not refunded the amount of 1000USD to our staff member. The hotel Director and hotel staff are not supported proactively apologised , neither made fast suggestions to settle this problem with their bank. According to others this is not a unique case. We recommend not to use the Crown Plaza at all.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aakbarali00, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Mr. Helge,

We thank you for providing feedback regarding your experience at the Crowne Plaza Nairobi. We apologize for the situation that was caused by the Kenyan Commercial Bank. As we discussed on the phone with you this was an issue with the banking merchant. They had changed systems and erroneously double charged you. As they stated in their letter this was not caused by the Crowne Plaza Nairobi and they have taken full responsibility for their banking error.

We understand how frustrating this must have been for you and can assure you that we have since stopped using this banking merchant.

Once again we apologize and we hope you will give us another chance upon your next return to Nairobi.

With Regards,

Ali Akbarali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    136
    38
    10
    4
See reviews for
18
49
30
188
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

I stayed at the Crowne Plaza Hotel in Nairobi for a few weeks after a month and a half of traveling and working around Kenya. As such, I was looking for a comfortable place to unwind, and work on my research. The Crowne Plaza provided everything I needed.
I liked the variety of food (Western, Indian, traditional Kenyan etc.) offered, as well as the cafe where I did a lot of my work. Reliable internet (which is hard to come by in Kenya), 24 hour room service, and the fitness center are particular features of the hotel I really enjoyed.
The staff were especially notable. There's no such thing as 'no' at this hotel- if you want something that's not on the menu, the staff will accommodate your request and make it happen. Having seen me daily for the weeks I was there, they became my friends- they would check in on me as I worked away for hours at the cafe, and would remember the way I liked my food. There was something about the service at Crowne Plaza that made me feel at home.
If I come back to Kenya, I'd stay at the Crowne Plaza Nairobi again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo_baleri, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Dear azshiv ,

I am pleased that we helped kick off the new year on a good note !! Thanks for your feedback, it's really encouraging to note that you were very comfortable like as in home from home and in particular the variety of food, internet connectivity , 24 hour in dining service, fitness centre and the Alabaster coffee lounge.

I will most surely pass on your feedback to our team who have a "can do" attitude. It was a pleasure being of service to you and look forward to being your host sometime soon.

Best regards

Lorenzo Baleri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

My son and I stayed at this hotel for a few nights at the end of a Kenyan safari. After a week bouncing around on trails and roads, we were looking forward to a comfortable hotel within easy walking distance of the central business district. The Crowne Plaza didn't disappoint... clean room, reasonable quality food, very helpful concierge and other staff to make all the arrangements, and an easy walk down the hill into the CBD. Nothing special about the hotel in terms of rooms or architecture... which was what we wanted in order to rest and prepare for the next leg of our trip. Don't expect character, or gourmet cuisine... just the basics delivered competently.

Room Tip: Lots of construction all around... so hard to avoid the noise and bother, but we were really not dis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo_baleri, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear Michael S ,

Thank you for your feedback, we are very pleased that you appreciated the hotel and the services and in particular our helpful and efficient staff.

Thank you for the opportunity of hosting you and look forward to meeting you on your next visit to Kenya.

Best Wishes

Lorenzo Baleri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

Hotel was nice unfortunately one of the female staff propositioned my husband one night girl with strange eyes and bad attitude her name was Peris apart from that all round it was a good hotel but this girl spoilt it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear reeny r,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We have sent you a private message to obtain additional details about your experience.

Regards,

Brenda J.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

I stayed here for a week on a business trip along with 4 colleagues. The only highlight of the hotel would be the coffee shop. The rooms or the breakfast are nothing to talk about. Rather, the breakfast was actually bad, one of the key factors why we didnt stay here on our following trip, when we came in with bigger team and for a longer duration. The staff at the reception were quiet accomodating and the gym is quiet big.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aakbarali00, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Hi,

I want to thank you for sharing your experience. Your feedback is extremely important to us and it allows us to continuously improve our product and service. I want to apologize for your experience with our breakfast. We have made considerable changes and improvements to our breakfast menu, since your last stay and would implore you to try us out again.

Thank you for acknowledging our staff and quality of gym.

We hope you will give us another shot in order to change your experience.

Warm Regards,

Ali Akbarali
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TORONTO
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

I'm here in Nairobi right now to begin a 6 week trip of Africa and we're currently staying at the Crown Plaza Hotel until Monday when I head to the Mask Mara. This is one of the top rated hotel voted by TripAdvisor. This is wonderful and beautiful hotel to stay very modern and clean with very friendly staff.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo_baleri, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear alyd72 ,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor.

We are very happy to read your positive comments about our hotel. We appreciate all your feedback, we work very hard to ensure our facilities and services are superior and are happy to see it reflects in our guests experience.

We look forward to your next visit.

Best Wishes

Lorenzo Baleri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kensington, Maryland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

We stayed at the Crowne Plaza Nairobi for two nights before our safari and for one night after. The staff was friendly and helpful, and addressed us by name on our return to the hotel. We had two rooms and both were clean, comfortable and well-appointed. Construction near the hotel made getting in and out somewhat of a hassle, but that wasn't the hotel's fault. The hotel is located in a neighborhood with few, if any, restaurant options. Perhaps as a result, the breakfast buffet was outlandishly expensive (more than US$30 per person) for a thoroughly average offering. Dinner in the hotel was more reasonably priced, but something he ate there made my son sick the next day. In advance of our arrival, I inquired by email about a hotel-aranged pickup at the airport and was quoted a price of $30 per person. Through a World Bank connection we instead used JimCab and were happy with the service and the price. Check out took longer than necessary because the front desk kept the housekeeping staff scurrying from room to room to check on mini-bar usage.

Room Tip: Make sure to get a room on away from the nearby construction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asquared2, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time out to review our property. We appreciate your compliments regarding our team and we really strive hard to make your stay feel warm and hospitable. I will definitely pass on your comments to the mentioned department. I also want to apologize for your delayed check out experience. We are always trying to improve and your feedback allows us to address any hiccups in our processes in procedures. We take your comments seriously and this has already been addressed.

We thank you for your business and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm Regards,

Ali Akbarali
Operations and Project Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi

Address: Kenya Road Upper Hill | PO Box 25574, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Upper Hill Estate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 106 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Nairobi is a new and stylish, 4 Star hotel strategically located in the commercial area of Upper Hill in Nairobi. The hotel is surrounded by multinational companies, diplomatic missions, banks, government offices, insurers and hospitals. Our pillar-less ballroom and 6 boardrooms with state-of-the-art equipments make it the ideal place to stay and meet. The Crowne Plaza Nairobi is just a 30 minute drive from the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, 10 minutes drive to the City Centre and 20 minutes drive to the famous Nairobi National Park and Animal Orphanage. Crowne Plaza Nairobi has 162 superbly appointed spacious rooms which include thirteen suites, a club floor with its exclusive lounge. All rooms are air conditioned and have high speed wireless internet connectivity. To compliment this is the Business Centre, the double story ultra modern fitness centre and heated swimming pool, Multiple restaurants and a double story bar, 24 hour room service, a gift shop, money changing facilities, beauty salon, travel desk, secure and ample parking space, and same day laundry facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.