We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in its class!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kenya Road Upper Hill | PO Box 25574, Nairobi 00100, Kenya (Upper Hill Estate)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Members Exclusive:25% Off
Ranked #17 of 106 Hotels in Nairobi
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best in its class!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Visited here in early 2013 for a business trip.

The room is very clean and spacious. Have everything you could have asked for in a 4-5 star hotels. The bed is comfy. I do love a thought of providing "This works" for those who have problems sleeping at night. Staff is professional and friendly. Gym is excellent and so is the breakfast. I'd say this is one of the best 4 star hotels I have ever stayed. Very pleasant stay.

One unpleasant experience is hotel taxi, been overcharged the price for a short ride. The driver refused to provide an official receipt. However, the hotel management tried their best to sort it out, but this should not happen at all. Please have this sorted.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPNBO_Management, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Many thanks Oaki T for your feedback on your stay at Crowne Plaza Nairobi.

We love to read that our hotel colleagues make it happen to our guests.

I have taken note of your comments and will with great pleasure share with the team.

It was a pleasure hosting you and we look forward to hosting you in future.

Best wishes.
Ken Musili.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    136
    38
    10
    4
See reviews for
18
49
30
188
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Nice 5 star feeling, We had gone for an inspection tour, The location of the hotel is ideal being at the upperhill area of Nairobi 5 Mins from the city centre and 20 Mins from the JKIA, and 15 Min to Wilson airport, very nice rooms recently upgraded, perfect health club, and the lunch very nice, abeyance excellent. i also found the staff to be warm and friendly

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Rooms are clean and well serviced. Peter and Kennedy and Bernard all smiles on the front desk for a great welcome. Restaurant staff not so good. Slow, in fact painfully slow at breakfast. Gym excellent. A good, solid functional place to stay on business. Restaurant is very good too although I didn't eat there this time.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed our stay at the Crown Plaza. The staff members were warm, accommodating and friendly. We went on safari to Maasai Mara and our luggage were held without charge. There was a minor water issue with the shower and the facility Engineer was prompt in addressing the problem. We are vegans and the dinning staff adhered to our dietary needs. All I can say is Kenya we will see you again. Uhuru

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I had stayed at Intercontinental previously and looked for a change for this visit. I was hoping to beat traffic jams and enjoy better rooms(as compared to old wing@Intercontinental). Crowne Plaza is a brand new property and I was not disappointed with the hotel and rooms. Business travelers ought to find this hotel supporting all their needs. The road is yet to be done up for last three minutes to the hotel. All around one would see upcoming office complexes. The security advice applicable for Nairobi of not strolling around on your own outside in the evenings, may hold here as well.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

Have reviewed and reported on this hotel a few times and am happy to report that they are maintaining their standards if not improving on them. Great service, and friendly staff help you to settle in and fell comfortable very quickly. Added security is also comforting. Room service food is exceptional.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Stayed recently and found staff extremely helpful and could not do enough for you. Had a late flight and was able to stay in my room til 7pm which was very helpful. Fine dining restraurant extremely good but under utilised, again staff could not do enough for you. Breakfast needs an al a carte menu, buffet was expensive. Rooms very clean, hotel spotless. There is building work going on in the area but I had no noise from this. Due to the recent bombing security very high, travelling alone I was happy about this.

Thoroughly recommend.

Room Tip: If you are travelling as a single I alway request a double bed, hate two singles being pushed togeth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi

Address: Kenya Road Upper Hill | PO Box 25574, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Upper Hill Estate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 106 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Nairobi is a new and stylish, 4 Star hotel strategically located in the commercial area of Upper Hill in Nairobi. The hotel is surrounded by multinational companies, diplomatic missions, banks, government offices, insurers and hospitals. Our pillar-less ballroom and 6 boardrooms with state-of-the-art equipments make it the ideal place to stay and meet. The Crowne Plaza Nairobi is just a 30 minute drive from the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, 10 minutes drive to the City Centre and 20 minutes drive to the famous Nairobi National Park and Animal Orphanage. Crowne Plaza Nairobi has 162 superbly appointed spacious rooms which include thirteen suites, a club floor with its exclusive lounge. All rooms are air conditioned and have high speed wireless internet connectivity. To compliment this is the Business Centre, the double story ultra modern fitness centre and heated swimming pool, Multiple restaurants and a double story bar, 24 hour room service, a gift shop, money changing facilities, beauty salon, travel desk, secure and ample parking space, and same day laundry facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.