We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here for good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kenya Road Upper Hill | PO Box 25574, Nairobi 00100, Kenya (Upper Hill Estate)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #14 of 111 Hotels in Nairobi
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Stay here for good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Stayed recently and found staff extremely helpful and could not do enough for you. Had a late flight and was able to stay in my room til 7pm which was very helpful. Fine dining restraurant extremely good but under utilised, again staff could not do enough for you. Breakfast needs an al a carte menu, buffet was expensive. Rooms very clean, hotel spotless. There is building work going on in the area but I had no noise from this. Due to the recent bombing security very high, travelling alone I was happy about this.

Thoroughly recommend.

Room Tip: If you are travelling as a single I alway request a double bed, hate two singles being pushed togeth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    143
    40
    10
    4
See reviews for
19
51
31
200
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lagos, Nigeria
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

This was one of the few Nairobi hotels I really enjoyed staying in. Service was exceptional. Especially after the Westgate affair, though security was tight, it was stifling and guests were still treated courteously during searches.

The restaurant staff were really good, though the buffet meals provided weren't always to my liking. The turn down service at night was so different from what you get at most similar priced hotels. The Janitor actually, took down my shoes from the dresser and asked if I wanted them polished. That for me was going the extra mile and a mark of a truly great place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

The main thing that stood out for me in this hotel was the service. Nothing was too much trouble and everyone was efficient and friendly. I was there for 4 nights and not once did I come across a surly member of staff.
The rooms were pleasantly furnished and fairly well maintained. I appreciated the desk in the room and the excellent wifi service.
The location is good being close to the city centre although the place I needed to go to was only just around the corner. I still had to make use of drivers because the roads are being dug up all over the place and are not easy to navigate on foot - come to think of it, they are not easy to navigate by car either, but at least it is less dusty!
The food was great - a wide selection and everything I tasted was lovely. The evening buffet is good value.
My only criticism is that the beds were quite hard. I have a sensitive back and found the mattresses a bit uncomfortable to sleep on. A little bit of 'give' for sore hips would have helped me.
Overall this is a great business hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Good service, central location, comfortable, well appointed and maintained, business meeting rooms available, a decent gym and wifi available. What more could a business traveller need? Just avoid a room opposite the building site next door...

Room Tip: Avoid a room opposite the building site next door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I enjoyed my stay at the Nairobi Crowne Plaza, the food was excellent and the staff were helpful and warm. I would certainly stay there again. Close to the city for your business needs and accessible to most amenities. Very safe and secure.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Crown plaza located on a hill gives one an overview of Nairobi city it is a good hotel especially for business meeting with good conference facilities. It is easy to access with spacious meeting room, from bus stop its 2-3minutes talk way for people using public stransport (Advisable to use cabs at night) . it's 20 minutes drive to the JKIA airport when there is no trafic Jam and about 1hr during rush hour.It is about 5minutes away from Wilson airport

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I've stayed at a few CPs in different countries, and I must say that this is one of the better ones. (the one in Yas Island is very good as well).

They have extremely comfortable beds at this hotel. I got the usual "this will help you sleep" sachets with the aromatherapy oils and sprays ( I usually sleep without issue, so not sure if this helped me at all!)

The breakfast spread was very good. They had a lot of the usual fare like eggs and sausages etc but quite a few local delicacies as well, so it catered to everyone's palate.

They had quite a nice pool at the hotel and a pretty good gym as well.
I tried their spa as well. Got a pretty good massage, though the facilities could be improved (it was a bit noisy from the gym right outside and the music being played in the gym wasn't exactly the soothing kind you want when getting a massage).
The staff though, were extremely helpful and friendly.
All in all, quite good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi

Address: Kenya Road Upper Hill | PO Box 25574, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Upper Hill Estate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 111 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Nairobi is a new and stylish, 4 Star hotel strategically located in the commercial area of Upper Hill in Nairobi. The hotel is surrounded by multinational companies, diplomatic missions, banks, government offices, insurers and hospitals. Our pillar-less ballroom and 6 boardrooms with state-of-the-art equipments make it the ideal place to stay and meet. The Crowne Plaza Nairobi is just a 30 minute drive from the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, 10 minutes drive to the City Centre and 20 minutes drive to the famous Nairobi National Park and Animal Orphanage. Crowne Plaza Nairobi has 162 superbly appointed spacious rooms which include thirteen suites, a club floor with its exclusive lounge. All rooms are air conditioned and have high speed wireless internet connectivity. To compliment this is the Business Centre, the double story ultra modern fitness centre and heated swimming pool, Multiple restaurants and a double story bar, 24 hour room service, a gift shop, money changing facilities, beauty salon, travel desk, secure and ample parking space, and same day laundry facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.