We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kenya Road Upper Hill | PO Box 25574, Nairobi 00100, Kenya (Upper Hill Estate)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #20 of 125 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Very good hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I've stayed at a few CPs in different countries, and I must say that this is one of the better ones. (the one in Yas Island is very good as well).

They have extremely comfortable beds at this hotel. I got the usual "this will help you sleep" sachets with the aromatherapy oils and sprays ( I usually sleep without issue, so not sure if this helped me at all!)

The breakfast spread was very good. They had a lot of the usual fare like eggs and sausages etc but quite a few local delicacies as well, so it catered to everyone's palate.

They had quite a nice pool at the hotel and a pretty good gym as well.
I tried their spa as well. Got a pretty good massage, though the facilities could be improved (it was a bit noisy from the gym right outside and the music being played in the gym wasn't exactly the soothing kind you want when getting a massage).
The staff though, were extremely helpful and friendly.
All in all, quite good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    157
    43
    11
    7
See reviews for
19
53
31
220
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mauritius
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

The Crowne at UpperHill is relatively new hotel that has been in operation for about 3 years ago. I had a superior room that was very comfortable, well equipped with all amenities one would usually expect. Room service was efficient and friendly. Gym has a wide variety of modern equipment for cardio and there is also a good choice for muscle toning. Used main restaurant, food is average, a la carte or buffet when larger number of guests. I enjoyed the good variety of fresh fruit available during buffet breakfast. Small swimming pool next to restaurant. Internet bandwidth is good, satellite TV. Taxi service available at hotel, price on higher side. Pickup service to return to hotel not always on time. Hotel is located in an area where there is a fair amount of construction ongoing. Noise at night has fortunately not been a problem during this trip.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunis, Tunisia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Crowne plaza a new hotel and even with tight competition; the hotel has quickly gained confidence and build up a renome around Nairobi.
The hotel is well situated and during traffic jams you can always find a short-cut, which is not possible for hotels in the city-center.
The staff mebers are very friendly and ready to assist whenever you may need them. the rooms are big and have all coomidities you may require such hotwater kattel, firdge, and always clean. the windows are big and while you are in the rooms there is a good light.

Room Tip: the hotel has executive lounge for the executive floor ; which will enble you to have meeting or to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

A standard business hotel but great when transitioning to and from Wilson airport for safari Flights. Only 5 minutes from the airport, so if you cannot make connections work (Amboseli to Samburu for us) it is a nice stop over. Great service and helpful staff. the only downside is the roads around the hotel that have been under construction for at least a year. The gym is not big but has all the standard equipment you'd need t work out. Good food options and fest internet - free if you are a IHG rewards member.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo_baleri, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Hi Ruby664 ,

Thank you for the wonderful review on TripAdvisor and have passed your feedback on to my Team with regards to the Great Service and helpful staff, good food, Gym and free internet.

It is indeed encouraging to receive positive feedback about our staff who always excel in providing our guests with a memorable stay.

I am pleased to confirm that once the enhancement of the roads in Upperhill are fully completed in mid 2014, this will offer quick and easy access to the Kenyatta International airport and city centre.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Best Wishes

Lorenzo & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

I'll start by saying there are other hotels in Nairobi of equal or better quality for less the price. Options at the end of this write-up.

Staff at the property were friendly and helpful throughout. Lobby airy and spacious. Rooms are quiet, standard Crowne Plaza size, comfortable bedding and quiet floors. Room amenities are average. For example, no coffee maker, but they provide instant coffee (typical in Kenya). Instead of choosing something local (Dormans brand provided at some higher end hotels) they use the typical brand given at any hotel in this county (Nescafe I believe). For Hundreds of $US a night, in a country where Coffee & Tea are thrive, this is the best they can do?

The fitness center is average based on what is typical for the area, but far short of a Crowne in the U.S. Not 24-hours, but open till 9 or 10 in the evening.

Breakfast buffet is decent (hot/cold, fresh omelettes) but far from the best in Nairobi, despite a $31US breakfast buffet rate (inclusive of tax).

I contacted the hotel by email a week before arrival to ask a question about their room rate versus maximum allowed by my company, they did not respond to the email. The issue related to taxes/fees charged by the hotel; they are about 25% more than other hotels of the same price in Nairobi and I was hoping for an explanation.

Overall, the hotel provides for a good nights sleep and decent stay. But, as you can see from my experiences, there were a few small thorny issues I encountered, which are particularly bothersome when paying a high rate for a nights stay.

Other recommendations:
-- Best Western Premier. Just opened up in Herlingham area of Nairobi. Not stayed there yet, but looks promising and a rate about 60% of typical Crowne Plaza Nairobi rate (using several different dates as an example)
--Fairview Hotel. A cozy hotel (short and long-term stays) with free breakfast, GREAT Wi-Fi, restaurants, wine cellar, many open lounge areas and solid staff (my review for this hotel pending as of this writing). Also great rates.
-Yaya, colleagues highly recommend this, though tough to find availability in their towers over YaYa center.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo_baleri, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear dbcme,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Nairobi. It was pleasing to know that you chose to stay with us on your visit to Nairobi and that there were positive aspects to your stay as the friendly and helpful staff, spacious rooms and comfortable rooms.

With regards to your feedback on the no response on a query sent to the hotel a week before your arrival to the hotel, I have sent you a direct message requesting details so that I may have the opportunity of investigating and providing an explanation.

Once again, thank you for such a comprehensive review on Tripadvisor and please be assured your feedback has been shared with my Team.

I sincerely hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming your back in the near future.

Best Wishes

Lorenzo Baleri

General Manager - Crowne Plaza Nairobi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Hotel room was clean and comfortable. There is a nice bar in the hotel as well, that has reasonable prices.

We also experienced great service from our concierge after our bus shuttle to Moshi did not pick us up, he called the shuttle service and arranged a ride to us at a different location.

Breakfast buffet was quite expensive. $30. That was a bit of a surprise. It was very good, but probably too much for breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo_baleri, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear beach2134,

Thank you very much for your valued feedback here on TripAdvisor, and was pleased to hear that your found our rooms to be clean and comfortable as well as our Babalus Bar to be enjoyable and reasonably priced.

We constantly strive to deliver excellent service and overall guests experience and was delighted to hear our concierge staff met your expectations.

Once again, thank you for your encouraging feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Wishes

Lorenzo Baleri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

That's a standard business hotel. Great service and helpful staff. the only downside is the roads around the hotel that have been under construction for at least a year.
The gym is not big but has all the standard equipment you'd need t work out.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo_baleri, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear George73Greek ,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay on TripAdvisor.

We appreciate the positive and encouraging feedback regarding the Great service and helpful staff which I will share with my Team.

I am pleased to inform you that once the enhancement of the roads have been completed, in the first quarter of 2014,access to Nairobi City Centre, Kenyatta International Airport and all major shopping centres will be easily accessible and a quick drive.

Thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Nairobi for your stay in Nairobi and look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Best Wishes

Lorenzo Baleri

General Manager - Crowne Plaza Nairobi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi

Address: Kenya Road Upper Hill | PO Box 25574, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Upper Hill Estate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 125 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Nairobi is a new and stylish, 4 Star hotel strategically located in the commercial area of Upper Hill in Nairobi. The hotel is surrounded by multinational companies, diplomatic missions, banks, government offices, insurers and hospitals. Our pillar-less ballroom and 6 boardrooms with state-of-the-art equipments make it the ideal place to stay and meet. The Crowne Plaza Nairobi is just a 30 minute drive from the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, 10 minutes drive to the City Centre and 20 minutes drive to the famous Nairobi National Park and Animal Orphanage. Crowne Plaza Nairobi has 162 superbly appointed spacious rooms which include thirteen suites, a club floor with its exclusive lounge. All rooms are air conditioned and have high speed wireless internet connectivity. To compliment this is the Business Centre, the double story ultra modern fitness centre and heated swimming pool, Multiple restaurants and a double story bar, 24 hour room service, a gift shop, money changing facilities, beauty salon, travel desk, secure and ample parking space, and same day laundry facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Despegar.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.