We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed for 3 Weeks” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kenya Road Upper Hill | PO Box 25574, Nairobi 00100, Kenya (Upper Hill Estate)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
IHG Special up to 25% Off
Ranked #15 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Kent, UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Stayed for 3 Weeks”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I stayed in the Crowne Plaza for 3 weeks and wasn't overly impressed with it. I was given food poisoning once when I ordered a take away tuna and egg salad from the hotel. As I was living in the hotel all of my meals came from the hotel, so it was impossible that the food poisoning came from anywhere else. I also heard of colleagues who suffered after eating the main buffet dinner. I stuck to the a la carte restuarant upstairs which seemed better and meals were freshly cooked.

Other than that - the wifi was good, television package fine and beds comfortable. The toiletries were nice and the staff very friendly and accommodating. The staff are the hotels biggest asset.

Decent hotel, but for the price not worth it if travelling privately. Also - make sure you go to the bar opposite to get a beer rather than drinking in the hotel!

Room Tip: Try and get put on the 5th floor as you have access to the executive suite, a much nicer place to ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo_baleri, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear Mary_1982Kent_UK,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at Crowne Plaza Nairobi in January of this year. We are disappointed to hear about the feedback about the food poisoning. We would like to know more about your feedback and have sent you a direct message to further clarify and look forward to your reply.

Please be assured that your feedback will be communicated with the respective Team Members and we will continue to strive to improve our product and services to deliver the ultimate great guest experience.

Thank you so much for the great feedback about our staff being an asset. I will certainly pass this on to the team.

We sincerely hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Asante Sana

Lorenzo Baleri
General Manager - Crowne Plaza Nairobi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    115
    127
    35
    10
    4
See reviews for
18
47
30
169
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

I feel terribly guilty about the fact that I have never written a review of the CP in Nairobi despite numerous visits there. Having just returned, I promised I would so.....

1. I think I never write a review because it feels like home!! (I wouldn't say that about many places)

2. Great amenities - gym and a really professional spa (special mention for Liz)

3. Attentive staff throughout

4. Wifi is now consistent and reliable.

A great place to stay!!!!!

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo_baleri, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Susand70 ,

We are delighted to learn that during your numerous visits at our hotel that it feels like "home away from home ". and would like to thank you for taking the time to write about your experience.

It was pleasing to read your comments great amenities, including the gym and spa, reliable and constant Wi Fi. Special mention to Liz !!


I will certainly share your encouraging words about our attentive staff with my whole team which I am sure they will appreciate very much.

Thank you for recommending Crowne Plaza Nairobi to fellow TripAdvisor viewers.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Asante Sana

Lorenzo Baleri

General Manager - Crowne Plaza Nairobi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

The staff were professional and service exceptional! Well done! How about a outside dedicated smoking area?
Cannot say we will stay there again as there are hotels that have the exact same rooms for so much cheaper!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo_baleri, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear HannelieWright ,

Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted that we have been able to keep up our standards and very happy to hear that you found our staff to be professional and the service exceptional.

We have taken note of your feedback about an outside dedicated smoking area for consideration.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Karibu

Lorenzo Baleri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villars-sur-Ollon, Switzerland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I stayed here last new year. It was simple and businesslike and lacking in any real character, but was a vast improvement on the dive that was the Hilton in downtown. I stayed here over New Year and regularly walked into town (about 20 minutes) as taxis were not readily available due to the non-central location. This should improve as the roads and construction work nearby are completed. Reasonable price though.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo_baleri, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear BSTony,

Thank you for taking the time to share the experience of your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Nairobi here on TripAdvisor.

We always strive to ensure our guests complete satisfaction at Crowne Plaza Nairobi, and it is rewarding to learn that it has been achieved on this occasion. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back on your next trip to Nairobi.

Best Regards

Lorenzo Baleri

General Manager - Crowne Plaza Nairobi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Despite not being in the CBD, this hotel is in a part of Nairobi that is being rapidly developed and is home to many rapid growth companies.

Service is exceptional. They've gone out if their way for be on every stay. Restaurant and bar us good. Great to do business at.

Rooms are very well equipped, clean and classically modern.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo_baleri, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear B1ades ,

Thank you for the notes and for taking the time to post positive feedback here on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted that we met your expectations and that you had an enjoyable stay. I will certainly pass your comments on to my Team with regards to the exceptional service they provided.

You would be most welcome to stay again, and I hope we have that opportunity.

Kind Regards

Lorenzo Baleri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Just come back from 4 days at the Crowne Plaza in Nairobi and loved it. I'll start with the staff as they deserve the first praise - everyone, from check-in to check-out was friendly, professional and made us feel welcome and valued, especially the 'front of house' staff who were brilliant at organising transport and recommending where and what to do and then keen to know what our day had been like on return. Nothing was too much trouble. I had a problem with the in-room safe and an engineer was there within 10 minutes to fix it.

Food at the hotel was good (breakfast being nothing startling although similar to most chain hotel breakfasts) but the items we ordered from bar menus were delicious, particularly the pizzas. Drinks and food weren't cheap though.

The hotel was spotlessly clean and couldn't be faulted. My only gripe would be that the pool area is surrounded by the restaurant and I felt a bit self conscious sitting out in the sun with diners having their lunch beside me, but other than that, it was a great stay and I felt the hotel was far superior to some other Crowne Plazas I've stayed in previously. Can't recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: Club rooms on the top floor (5th) come with complimentary food and alcoholic drinks between 6 and 7...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo_baleri, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear Fiona66 ,

Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Nairobi. I have shared your kind comments about all our staff friendliness, professional and hospitable, especially the front of house staff. Feedback like yours goes a long way to keep my team motivated to go the extra mile.

Thank you too about the positive feedback about the bar food menu and the pizza and must say that the Babalus food menu is extremely popular and very much in demand.

Thank you for recommending our hotel to fellow TripAdvisor viewers and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Best Regards

Lorenzo Baleri
General Manager - Crowne Plaza Nairobi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I stayed at the Crowne Plaza throughout 2012 and I enjoyed every stay. The hotel is clean and tidy and just out of the way of the city to give you some peace and quite when needed. The staff are friendly and the food is of good quality. My only observation for improvement would be the pool area. It is not large enough for anyone who likes to swim to work out instead of the gym.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the interior of the hotel, that way in case the power goes out you will be les...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo_baleri, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear Adam N ,

It was pleasing to know that you enjoyed the experience with us during your various stays at Crowne Plaza Nairobi.

It was a pleasure to read your review and to see how much you enjoyed our hotel and appreciated the clean and tidy hotel, friendly staff and good quality food.

I am glad to advise that we have planned to build a larger than average pool adjacent to the gym in the near future.

Thank you for recommending our hotel and sincerely hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Best Wishes

Lorenzo Baleri

General Manager - Crowne Plaza Nairobi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi

Address: Kenya Road Upper Hill | PO Box 25574, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Upper Hill Estate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Nairobi is a new and stylish, 4 Star hotel strategically located in the commercial area of Upper Hill in Nairobi. The hotel is surrounded by multinational companies, diplomatic missions, banks, government offices, insurers and hospitals. Our pillar-less ballroom and 6 boardrooms with state-of-the-art equipments make it the ideal place to stay and meet. The Crowne Plaza Nairobi is just a 30 minute drive from the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, 10 minutes drive to the City Centre and 20 minutes drive to the famous Nairobi National Park and Animal Orphanage. Crowne Plaza Nairobi has 162 superbly appointed spacious rooms which include thirteen suites, a club floor with its exclusive lounge. All rooms are air conditioned and have high speed wireless internet connectivity. To compliment this is the Business Centre, the double story ultra modern fitness centre and heated swimming pool, Multiple restaurants and a double story bar, 24 hour room service, a gift shop, money changing facilities, beauty salon, travel desk, secure and ample parking space, and same day laundry facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.