We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great business hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kenya Road Upper Hill | PO Box 25574, Nairobi 00100, Kenya (Upper Hill Estate)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Members Exclusive:25% Off
Ranked #17 of 106 Hotels in Nairobi
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great business hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I stayed at the Crowne Plaza throughout 2012 and I enjoyed every stay. The hotel is clean and tidy and just out of the way of the city to give you some peace and quite when needed. The staff are friendly and the food is of good quality. My only observation for improvement would be the pool area. It is not large enough for anyone who likes to swim to work out instead of the gym.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the interior of the hotel, that way in case the power goes out you will be les...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo_baleri, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear Adam N ,

It was pleasing to know that you enjoyed the experience with us during your various stays at Crowne Plaza Nairobi.

It was a pleasure to read your review and to see how much you enjoyed our hotel and appreciated the clean and tidy hotel, friendly staff and good quality food.

I am glad to advise that we have planned to build a larger than average pool adjacent to the gym in the near future.

Thank you for recommending our hotel and sincerely hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Best Wishes

Lorenzo Baleri

General Manager - Crowne Plaza Nairobi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    136
    38
    10
    4
See reviews for
18
49
30
188
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
914 reviews 914 reviews
137 hotel reviews
Reviews in 139 cities Reviews in 139 cities
491 helpful votes 491 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Stayed here on a redemption night recently.

Location isn't great if you don't have your own transport: you will be at the mercy of the hotel for transport as there really aren't many options. And of course hotel transport isn't cheap.

Meals in the hotel are also expensive: so better if you come equipped with an expense account!

On the plus side the hotel is relatively quiet (some noise from slamming doors), staff are friendly, free wifi is available throughout.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo_baleri, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear KGB777,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at Crowne Plaza Nairobi on TripAdvisor.

We are glad to hear that you found the hotel staff to be friendly and the Free Wi-Fi in the hotel to be on the plus side.

I am pleased to confirm that enhancement of all roads to and from Upperhill are progressing well and once completed towards the end of 2013, will allow easy and quick access to and from the Kenyatta International Airport and the City Centre.

We welcome any constructive feedback as this enables us to address any flaws as we strive to continually enhance the service and experience we deliver at Crowne Plaza Nairobi.

In the mean time we do hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Lorenzo Baleri

General Manager- Crowne Plaza Nairobi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I stayed at the Crowne Plaza for 5 nights and it was a real pleasure from check in to check out - the staff were incredibly courteous and efficient, very friendly and welcoming to me as a solo female traveller I couldn't have felt more at ease. I could not have asked for a better place to stay. The room was very comfortable - kept immaculately clean and had everything I needed. The shower was very good. I used the gym facilities which were very good - the staff helpful and professional and ate in the hotel a few times- the buffets offered wide choice and excellent variety of fresh fruit and salads as well as hot dishes although I didnt try these. I ordered from the Al a Carte a couple of times and the quality was good. I will definitely be coming back to this hotel on my next business trip. Thank you Crown Plaza for making my stay so pleasant I look forward to coming back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo_baleri, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear SDJMP,

First of all, thank you for staying at Crowne Plaza Nairobi. We do know there are a lot of choices in Nairobi and yet you have chosen to stay with us. Secondly , we would like to thank you for taking the time in writing a review of your stay with us. Your comments are much appreciated.

Your complimentary feedback especially regarding our helpful and professional staff, comfortable and clean rooms , very good gym facilities and the good food.

My Team takes great pride in providing exceptional service and it is always rewarding to be able to share praises from our guests.

We all look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Lorenzo Baleri - Crowne Plaza Nairobi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Stayed here for a conference; pleasant staff; average price for hotels in Nairobi; very clean rooms; nice showers; terrible pillows - to their credit, they did offer an alternative promptly on the 2nd day; breakfast buffet is varied enough, although after day 3 I imagine one would be bored of it; expensive dinner buffet not so great despite large selection, some salad looked like it had been recycled; some eating places nearby - Upper Hill Springs which one could go to instead or even further away to Ngong Road (Nakumatt Prestige) and Kilimani area (Yaya Centre) traffic notwithstanding; fitness centre was great, clean and has tons more equipment than a regular hotel gym; nice easy check out; access road not that great and few signs directing one where to go;

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo_baleri, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear AfroRastaGal,

It was pleasing to know that you enjoyed your stay at Crowne Plaza Nairobi and thank you for taking the time to write a review.

It was a pleasure to read your review and to see how much you appreciated the "pleasant staff", clean and spacious rooms and the fitness centre with tons of equipment to choose from.

I was however concerned to hear that the dinner buffet did not meet your expectations and would like to assure that your feedback and comments have been taken into consideration and we will strive to improve our services in the future.

Thank you once again for your valuable feedback. I sincerely hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Best Regards


Lorenzo Baleri

General Manager- Crowne Plaza Nairobi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Stayed at the Crowne Nairobi for 5 days and I must say it was a very pleasant stay for sure.
Services and facilities are great. Rooms are nice and spacious, clean and very well maintained. Great gym with sauna and steam room, accompanied with shaving, shower gel, after shave balms, body sprays and lots of towels. Staff are very friendly, internet speed is brilliant!

Few bad points –
Location. As it’s in the middle of a new build estate the roads are uneven, a lot construction work taking place, no local shops around either.
You’ll have to drive 15/20mins to get to the city centre.

Food. Didn’t enjoy any of the food in the hotel, from pizza’s to burgers to curries to breakfast.

That’s all from me for now.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo_baleri, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear Kaymax112 ,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of your stay at Crowne Plaza Nairobi here on Tripadvisor.

Thank you for recognizing the great services and facilities and that you found the rooms as being spacious ,clean and well maintained.

We were glad to hear that you enjoyed our Gym, sauna and steam room and will pass your kind feedback to my Team.

The internet connectivity was recently upgraded and am happy to say that feedback from our guests has been very encouraging.

I am pleased to advise that construction to enhance roads in Upperhill are progressing well and once completed will provide our guests with quick and easy access to the Kenyatta International Airport and to the city centre.

We look forward welcoming you back to Crowne Plaza Nairobi in the not too distant future.

Best Regards

Lorenzo Baleri

General Manager - Crowne Plaza Nairobi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The hotel is salient for training. The room are big and well ventilated. Although the access roads are dusty due to ongoing constructions in the area, Crown plaza is close to Nairobi CBD as well as highway that exits to JKIA airport.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo_baleri, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear Mkulima ,

Thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Nairobi.

We appreciate the time you have taken to write a review and were pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found are rooms to be spacious.

I am pleased to advise that the enhancement of all roads in and around Upperhill are well on track and once complete will offer our guests quick and easy access from the Kenyatta International Airport and city centre.

Thank you for recommending our hotel to and look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Lorenzo Baleri
General Manager- Crowne Plaza Nairobi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Potosi, Mexico
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I loved the hotel.
it clearly is a good hotel for business stays.
I enjoyed the last night there , in Nairobi,
after 2 weeks of travelling around.
very comfortable , I loved the room, the room-service, the food - good kitchen,
I really enjoyed my last night there.
(luckily the gift shop was closed that night (despite of higher prices I cannot help but look for small gifts ((in the hotel shops they normally offer selected high quality products; so - that is good)).
I would go back there , any time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo_baleri, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear TanjaB373 ,

It is very pleasing to know that you were satisfied with your stay at Crowne Plaza Nairobi and thank you for taking the time to recommend us on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed the comfortable rooms, room service and the good food.

Your kind comments will surely be shared with the rest of the team and appreciated. We do hope to welcome you on your next visit to Nairobi.

Best regards

Lorenzo Baleri

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi

Address: Kenya Road Upper Hill | PO Box 25574, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Upper Hill Estate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 106 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Nairobi is a new and stylish, 4 Star hotel strategically located in the commercial area of Upper Hill in Nairobi. The hotel is surrounded by multinational companies, diplomatic missions, banks, government offices, insurers and hospitals. Our pillar-less ballroom and 6 boardrooms with state-of-the-art equipments make it the ideal place to stay and meet. The Crowne Plaza Nairobi is just a 30 minute drive from the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, 10 minutes drive to the City Centre and 20 minutes drive to the famous Nairobi National Park and Animal Orphanage. Crowne Plaza Nairobi has 162 superbly appointed spacious rooms which include thirteen suites, a club floor with its exclusive lounge. All rooms are air conditioned and have high speed wireless internet connectivity. To compliment this is the Business Centre, the double story ultra modern fitness centre and heated swimming pool, Multiple restaurants and a double story bar, 24 hour room service, a gift shop, money changing facilities, beauty salon, travel desk, secure and ample parking space, and same day laundry facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.