We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel, but immediate area not so great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kenya Road Upper Hill | PO Box 25574, Nairobi 00100, Kenya (Upper Hill Estate)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Members Exclusive:25% Off
Ranked #17 of 106 Hotels in Nairobi
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel, but immediate area not so great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

The Crowne Plaza is very new. As is typical Kenyan construction, it is already starting to show it's age, however. The rooms and bathrooms are VERY nice! Warning: Checking Out (and in) may take a long time (30 minutes plus), so plan some extra time on checkout...it depends on how well the Front Desk Staff that are serving you know their jobs. The food is OK. The cost is quite overpriced, as is common in all of African major cities: The poorer the country, the more overpriced the Western stuff is.

The immediate area around the hotel is very African. The eating/dancing place across the street is very safe, and is typical Kenyan food-you may not like it, and it IS easy to get sick on the local food. If you are new to Africa, I highly recommend eating across the street for the local flavour...try it at least once. Around the hotel there are a number of VERY local-type restaurants that most Westerners will have to be very adventurous to feel comfortable in. I wouldn't mind eating in them, but I lived in NBO for a year, and am very used to eating local.

The best part about the CP location is it is near to the best tourist sights in NBO: The best is the Nairobi National Park, which has a huge unfenced area that you can vehicle safari in, as well as a zoo/wildlife park to see fenced animals, the "Giraffe Center", where you can feed the giraffes by hand (or mouth) and see warthogs, the David Sheldrick Wildlife Trust, where you can see baby elephants being fed at around noon (and I also saw a VERY cute baby rhino being fed!), and finally the Wilson Airport and Wilson Aero Club.

The Aero Club is great for aviation enthusiasts. It is local aviation history, good "British Pub" food and drink, and a children's play area...and you can watch the small airplanes come and go. Wilson was the old main airport for the city of Nairobi, and now has the smaller planes flying in and out. They have scheduled and charter air service to many nearby destinations, include Masai Mara here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo_baleri, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear atpcliff ,

Thank you for taking the time of writing a comprehensive review of your stay at Crowne Plaza Nairobi and Nairobi here on TripAdvisor and we hope you enjoyed the overall stay in Kenya.

We appreciate all your feedback and we accept all constructive comments as it helps us improve on offering the ultimate great guest experience.

We are glad that I was able to contact you to apologise for the inconvenience caused on the time taken to check out from the hotel.I have taken this up with my team to take corrective steps to ensure this does not happen again.

Again thsnk you snd we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best Regards

Lorenzo Baleri

General Manager - Crowne Plaza Nairobi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    136
    38
    10
    4
See reviews for
18
49
30
188
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I spent about a week in this hotel during a recent business trip. The rooms are clean and very functional for work - good size bathroom, work space, etc. Plus the price is a bit lower from some of the other options. Food is quite decent: fresh salads and decent Indian. Location is probably the biggest negative - nothing to walk to, and the roads are quite congested during rush hour. But overall a very nice choice for Nairobi - especially if your offices are in the Upper Hill area.

I also highly recommend a spa pedicure from Judy in the salon. Great price and very professional.

Room Tip: Club floor is nice if you're staying for a longer stretch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo_baleri, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Dear soy_latte_togo ,

We are thrilled to read your wonderful review and thank you for taking the time to share the experience of your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Nairobi.

We are very glad to note your appreciation of the hotel's clean and functional rooms,goood size bathroom and work space.

Your words clearly showed how much you enjoyed your stay and will pass on your comments about the food to our chef.

Thank you for recommending the health centre and will let Judy in the salon know that she was very professional with services rendered.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Lorenzo Baleri

General Manager - Crowne Plaza Nairobi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape town
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Excellent service; luxurious, comfortable room with lovely bath products and a good choice of TV stations; free wifi (far too rare in Africa!), impeccably clean. I don't recall ever having had such a good experience in an African hotel. The pillow spray and pillow menu are lovely touches.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo_baleri, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear CapeTownSafrican,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share the experience of your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Nairobi.

I was pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay and delighted to note your appreciation of our excellent service,luxurious and comfortable rooms with lovely room amenities free WIFI, good choice and variety of TV channels.

Your kind comments about the hotel being impeccably clean is much appreciated and it was great to know you enjoyed the pillow menu and sleep advantage pillow spray.

I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you once again to our hotel,hopefully in the near future.


Kind Regards

Lorenzo Baleri

General Manager Crowne Plaza Nairobi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

My friend and I needed somewhere to stay after 21 days on an overland truck. While the Crowne Plaza was a bit more expensive than some of the places that our fellow overland travellers chose, it was worth every cent. Accommodation in Nairobi is incredibly expensive, we found that the 1 star hotels were not significantly cheaper that the Crowne Plaza. The staff are very, very friendly. They even offered to wrap our fragile luggage, free of charge, before leaving on our international flights. The facilities are super. The rooms are so comfortable, spacious and clean. There are several choices for dining, and the breakfast beats the spread at the W Hotel in Barcelona! The bar has a great happy hour special, with local beer and great complimentary snacks. I'd definitely go back there!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo_baleri, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Laskarina Y ,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a complimentary review about your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Nairobi.

We were happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and that you found our staff to be very friendly and hospitable.I am particularly grateful to receive such positive feedback on the facilities of the spacious,clean and comfortable rooms, breakfast spread at the Baraza restaurant and the happy hour at Babalus bar.

It will be a pleasure to share your comments with the rest of the team and i'm sure this will be greatly appreciated.



We sincerely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel soon.


Kind Regards

Lorenzo Baleri
General Manager- Crowne Plaza Nairobi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harare, Zimbabwe
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights on business (March 2013)and thought it was one of the best hotels ive stayed at compared to my previous trips to Kenya. The staff were amazing and went out of their way to make me feel welcome. Pity I didn't get their names but from the porter to the receptionist, everyone was very welcoming.
The rooms were nice and clean and overall it was a good experience. Would definitely stay here again..

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo_baleri, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Cherise P ,

Thank you choosing to stay at Crowne Plaza Nairobi and for taking the time to write a review here on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted that you found our hotel as one of the best in Kenya and for pointing out the excellent staff that went out of their way to make your stay a great experience.

We strive for perfection and were glad to hear that you found our rooms to be nice and clean.

Thank you for recommending our hotel to fellow TripAdvisor reviewers .

It has been our pleasure to have the opportunity to host you and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Lorenzo Baleri

General Manager- Crowne Plaza Nairobi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estacada, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The Crowne Plaza in Nairobi is a lovely hotel with very good service. It is in an area of town that is undergoing street and other urban repairs so getting there is somewhat disconcerting. Once you do arrive, however, you will be pleasantly surprised. The lobby and bar area is very nicely appointed and comfortable. The rooms are exceptionally comfortable with superb beds and bedding. You even get your choice of pillow types. The food is good, the employees are all accommodating, the swimming pool is refreshing (though it is located right outside of the restaurant so swimmers will usually have an audience!) and the spa services are reasonably priced. I was sorry that the restaurant dinner was buffet only (unless you choose the more expensive on-site upscale restaurant) because it was more food than I would have wanted. Overall I would choose Crowne Plaza the next time I am visiting the city.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo_baleri, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear Lynne G ,

Thank you for your thoughtful review regarding your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Nairobi.

I am pleased you found our hotel to have very good service,accomodating staff,exceptionally comfortable rooms and the food very good.

The roads to Upperhill are currently undergoing major renovations,once completed will be the highways with easy and fast connections to the Kenyatta International Airport, City Centre and the Kenyatta Convention Centre.

Once again, thank you for recommending our hotel to felow TripAdvisor reviewers and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Lorenzo Baleri

General Manager- Crowne Plaza Nairobi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

The hotel is ideally located near to the financial and business sectors. The service is good, inviting and generally prompt. Prices for food is a little high - more akin to 4* UK (£30-40 a head for dinner) than Kenyan restaurant (£10 a head). Rooms are clean and presentable. The pool is more of a feature to look at than a relaxing suntrap. If you are planning on hiring a car - 4x4 is the best suited even in this part of town roads are more like dirt tracks than tarmacked. Some nice features: there’s a live pianist in the lounge area most evenings and a happy hour in the bar.

Room Tip: All standard rooms have 2 x double beds. Suites are located on each corner of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo_baleri, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear F14-Roberts ,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Crowne Plaza Nairobi here on TripAdvisor.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our service, good,inviting and prompt. Thank you too for the encouraging comments about our clean rooms, babalus bar happy hour and the pianist in the Alabaster coffee lounge.

I am happy to inform you that the roads in and around Upperhill are undergoing major renovations and once completed will provide easy and quick access to the Kenyatta International Airport, Kenyatta Convention Centre and the City centre.

Once again, thank you for your recommendation and we hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.

Best Regards,

Lorenzo Baleri
General Manager - Crowne Plaza Nairobi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi

Address: Kenya Road Upper Hill | PO Box 25574, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Upper Hill Estate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 106 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Nairobi is a new and stylish, 4 Star hotel strategically located in the commercial area of Upper Hill in Nairobi. The hotel is surrounded by multinational companies, diplomatic missions, banks, government offices, insurers and hospitals. Our pillar-less ballroom and 6 boardrooms with state-of-the-art equipments make it the ideal place to stay and meet. The Crowne Plaza Nairobi is just a 30 minute drive from the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, 10 minutes drive to the City Centre and 20 minutes drive to the famous Nairobi National Park and Animal Orphanage. Crowne Plaza Nairobi has 162 superbly appointed spacious rooms which include thirteen suites, a club floor with its exclusive lounge. All rooms are air conditioned and have high speed wireless internet connectivity. To compliment this is the Business Centre, the double story ultra modern fitness centre and heated swimming pool, Multiple restaurants and a double story bar, 24 hour room service, a gift shop, money changing facilities, beauty salon, travel desk, secure and ample parking space, and same day laundry facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.