We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for business use, wouldn't recommend for couples” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kenya Road Upper Hill | PO Box 25574, Nairobi 00100, Kenya (Upper Hill Estate)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Members Exclusive:25% Off
Ranked #17 of 106 Hotels in Nairobi
London
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Ideal for business use, wouldn't recommend for couples”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

The hotel is ideally located near to the financial and business sectors. The service is good, inviting and generally prompt. Prices for food is a little high - more akin to 4* UK (£30-40 a head for dinner) than Kenyan restaurant (£10 a head). Rooms are clean and presentable. The pool is more of a feature to look at than a relaxing suntrap. If you are planning on hiring a car - 4x4 is the best suited even in this part of town roads are more like dirt tracks than tarmacked. Some nice features: there’s a live pianist in the lounge area most evenings and a happy hour in the bar.

Room Tip: All standard rooms have 2 x double beds. Suites are located on each corner of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo_baleri, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear F14-Roberts ,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Crowne Plaza Nairobi here on TripAdvisor.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our service, good,inviting and prompt. Thank you too for the encouraging comments about our clean rooms, babalus bar happy hour and the pianist in the Alabaster coffee lounge.

I am happy to inform you that the roads in and around Upperhill are undergoing major renovations and once completed will provide easy and quick access to the Kenyatta International Airport, Kenyatta Convention Centre and the City centre.

Once again, thank you for your recommendation and we hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.

Best Regards,

Lorenzo Baleri
General Manager - Crowne Plaza Nairobi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    136
    38
    10
    4
See reviews for
18
49
30
188
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I stayed at the Crown Plaza in mid February for one night during the week for business. Being centrally located in Nairobi's financial district (as opposed to town centre where the Interconti and some other hotels are) the Crown to me is the best hotel for business travellers whom location is important.

Crown has all business facilities that one could need. I had access to the club lounge floor with its own complimentary business centre and f&b. There is strong wireless connection everywhere making it easy to work virtually anywhere in the hotel. There is a fully equipped business centre, a bank (DTB), a couple of small meeting and conference rooms, as well as very big banquet halls with good conference facilities. During my stay there was a conference going on - the Alabaster lounge just outside the banquet halls serves excellent tea and pastry and was my favourite 'work station' during my stay.

The gym is really good with very modern equipment. They have a small pool as well that faces the main breakfast restaurant, but being outdoors I didn't use it.

All in all, I had a very very convenient stay at the Crown. The hotel has a own taxi fleet which I used to attend a meeting and for my hotel transfers. If you stay longer and have a free afternoon or morning, the travel desk organises day trips to the nearby game park as well as more farther places.

Room Tip: If you are a Priority Club (IHG loyalty card) member you get free wifi and access to the Business Lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo_baleri, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear sbahety,

We were thrilled to read your wonderful review of your stay and thank you for taking the time to share it across here on Tripadvisor.

We are glad that you had an excellent stay overall.We are happy that you enjoyed the facilities we offer in our hotel such as the business centre with strong wireless conectivity, conferece facilities and the Alabaster coffee lounge.

As you mentioned the hotel is conveniently situated and is ideal for the business traveller.

We look forward to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel.

Kind Regards

Lorenzo Baleri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Stay at crowne plaza for 4 days,though there an event at the ballroom the music from the function hall was loud but very entertaining may be the hotel should be having this at the reception often.The hotel is clean and rooms are big enough,The food at ground floor restaurant was great from any elaborate Breakfast to lunch Buffet.Waiters are very alert the Coffee served at the coffee and the freshness of the cakes is amazing,will be back definately,hope by then the roads will have been fixed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo_baleri, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear milka o ,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Crowne Plaza Nairobi and we are delighted to know that you had a nice experience. We are glad to hear that you found the hotel clean and the rooms big as well as the food in the Baraza Restaurant was great.

We will be happty to share your feedback with my Team.

I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Lorenzo Baleri

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

As always it was a wonderful stay under the guidance of GM Lorenzo with the staff being ever helpful tending to your every need.The room was spacious,clean and very comfortable, quality of sleep was good, food in the restaurant was very tasty and all in all a very good stay.
I look forward to visiting this super hotel once again soon.

Regards
Darius Batliwala

Room Tip: Very good Value for Money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo_baleri, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Darius B ,

Thank you for the great comments about our hotel made on TripAdvisor.

We truely value your feedback about the spacious,clean and comfortable,quality of sleep as well as the tasty food which made your stay with us more enjoyable.

I will certainly share your feedback to my Team which is well deserved.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Lorenzo Baleri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Hotel is nothing special. Inside this place could be in Osaka, Philadelphia, Lyon, Manchester or any other of the world's secondary cities. Zero Africa feeling. Service slow (was in group of 7 and check-in took 25 minutes, we waited at bar for this to be completed.). Rooms - average, restaurants - average, food - average (and mostly Italian or other non-African) everything - average. While this sounds boring and unimpressive, for Africa this is actually good news as often you get unexpected "surprises". So although a hotel you will have rightfully forgotten 1.24 seconds after checkout this may be a positive for an African destination...

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo_baleri, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Andry123,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Crowne Plaza Nairobi and for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.

I am sorry to hear that we did not fully meet your expectation during your recent visit at our hotel. Please accept our sincere apologies for having to wait for your room,hence the slow check-in experience.

We constantly strive to provide our guests with the best experience in terms of product, service and ultimate hospitality and can assure you that this is our priority.

My sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused and look forward to welcoming your group back to our hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards


Lorenzo Baleri

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night before leaving for the Masai Mara. Everything was good except for the price. I felt like it was expensive for what we received. Our total bill was about $450 USD for 1 night stay, 2 breakfast buffets, airport pick up for 2, and room service (fish and chips and chicken strips appetizer) which we were double charged for. Nothing was outstanding but I did appreciate the clean comfortable bed and feeling safe after 36 hours of traveling. The air conditioning in the room did not let me change the setting. The service was very good. Just double check your bill when you check out. If you have already signed for room service don't let them also charge you again at check out.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo_baleri, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear TravelingHokie7 ,

Thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Nairobi as your hotel of choice. We appreciate the time you took to share your valued feeddback with us.

It is our goal to consistently provide superior service,food and accommodation to our valued guests and your comments are important to us. The feedback we receive from our guets,like you,enable us to take appropriate measures to ensure the highest level of hospitality.

We were concerned to hear about the double charge on your room service bill. Please accept our sincerest apologies.We will share your comment with the Food & Beverage Manager so that action can be taken to prevent repeat occurrences of this nature.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Lorenzo Baleri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Going through the reviews looking for a hotel in Nairobi, there seemed to be issues with so many of the hotels. In these cases, we usually settle on a chain hoping for some consistent quality and also for secuity rasons - that is why we opted for the Crowne Plaza. We were "satisfied" though not impressed. We ate in the restuarant on the first evening and it was OK. As was the room and the service. All just about OK. We stayed here just before Christmas and it was dead (seems to be more of a business hotel). They had quite a nice gym - probably the bit we liked the most.

The Crowne Plaza is really cut off. It would be OK if the surroundings were nice (nice gardens) but there is nothing. Lots of new buildings springing up in this area. Looking out the window is a bit depressing. During the day it is possible/safe to walk around downtown in Nairobi and for a future visit we would choose somewhere downtown or somehwere with nice grounds.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo_baleri, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Tagesthemen ,

Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor.

I was disappointed to hear that we were not able to meet your expectations during this stay with us.

We value all guests comments and feedback so that we may constantly strive to improve service and quality of offerings at our hotel.

Looking forward to hosting you at Crowne Plaza Nairobi in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards

Lorenzo Baleri

General Manager

Crowne Plaza Nairobi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi

Address: Kenya Road Upper Hill | PO Box 25574, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Upper Hill Estate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 106 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Nairobi is a new and stylish, 4 Star hotel strategically located in the commercial area of Upper Hill in Nairobi. The hotel is surrounded by multinational companies, diplomatic missions, banks, government offices, insurers and hospitals. Our pillar-less ballroom and 6 boardrooms with state-of-the-art equipments make it the ideal place to stay and meet. The Crowne Plaza Nairobi is just a 30 minute drive from the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, 10 minutes drive to the City Centre and 20 minutes drive to the famous Nairobi National Park and Animal Orphanage. Crowne Plaza Nairobi has 162 superbly appointed spacious rooms which include thirteen suites, a club floor with its exclusive lounge. All rooms are air conditioned and have high speed wireless internet connectivity. To compliment this is the Business Centre, the double story ultra modern fitness centre and heated swimming pool, Multiple restaurants and a double story bar, 24 hour room service, a gift shop, money changing facilities, beauty salon, travel desk, secure and ample parking space, and same day laundry facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.