We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely staff, Nice rooms but not cheap” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kenya Road Upper Hill | PO Box 25574, Nairobi 00100, Kenya (Upper Hill Estate)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
IHG Special up to 25% Off
Ranked #15 of 101 hotels in Nairobi
South Shields
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Lovely staff, Nice rooms but not cheap”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I stayed here for 7 nights on business.
The rooms were lovely, spacious with 2 free bottles of water a day. They also gave me some biscuits and chocolates at various times. They had air con.
The hotel has 3 restaurant bar areas, which were nice but not cheap. 450KES for a bottle of beer and 1700KES for a chicken burger.
The pool area is ok, its in the wrong place so you only get sun for a limited time and it faces one of the restaurants so its a bit awkward.
The staff were lovely, very friendly and polite at all times. Especially Ian who helped me get my lift each morning.
I did go for a pedicure with not much else to do in the hotel, this was nice but cost 2300KES.
There isn't much within walking distance except the Gazebo bar over the road which is ok for a change and for something cheaper than the hotel.
Its good if all you want is somewhere to park up and sleep, or not spend much time in the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo_baleri, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear taly_70uk,

Thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Nairobi and for taking the time to write a review of your stay here on TripAdvisor.

We were glad to hear that you found our rooms lovely,spacious and comfortable.

It was great to hear the feedback about the staff friendliness and politeness and will certainly pass on the compliments to Ian,our Doorman.

We are delighted to advise that our existing pool will be moved to a much more suitable location soon which will coincide with the extension of the hotel rooms.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Lorenzo Baleri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    116
    127
    36
    10
    4
See reviews for
18
47
30
173
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights in mid January. We expected to be charged to the credit card provided online prior to arrival, but this did not happen. On arrival, we were told we would pay a higher amount as our rate did not include the 20% discount offered online, even though we had booked online and done so miles in advance. After some debate we managed to get the online rate we had expected. We enjoyed our stay at the hotel for a few days as it is very clean, the staff are nice and it is quite a good location (although a bit out of the way for central Nairobi and on a terrible stretch of road). We paid the discounted amount upon leaving the hotel and went on our way to Mombasa where we were next staying. When I went to use my card at an ATM there, I was unable to do so. Assuming it had been blocked I rang my bank who told me that it had not been blocked, and that TWO charges were due out to the hotel, one which had cleared and the other which had not cleared as I did not have enough money in my account, thus preventing me from accessing my money for the remainder of the holiday, effectively leaving me finanically stranded had it not been for one of my friends being able to lend me the money.

Being charged double for a room and thus prevented from using your card abroad is one thing, but the real issue was the level of customer service we received in pursuing this issue. After approximately 20 phone calls to the hotel including management we received absolutely no response to any of them. I also emailed to no avail. It was not for an entire week and having returned to the UK and contacted the IHG customer care team that any progress whatsoever was made, and this in itself was incredibly slow. Eventually the pending charge on my account was removed by the hotel but no mention of this was made to me and I only found out by ringing my bank and checking again with them.

The whole incident was extremely stressful and caused us vast inconvenience, not to mention incurred some expense from calling and using internet on UK phones whilst in Kenya. While the hotel was absolutely fine to stay in, this level of customer service absolutely falls short of what you'd expect from a four star hotel and I cannot recommend it to any travellers as I would not wish anyone to experience what we did - if this were to happen to anyone travelling without friends or with friends who were not in a position to lend them money they would find themselves in a serious situation.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo_baleri, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Sophie O ,

Thank you for your feeedback regarding your stay at Crowne Plaza Nairobi and for taking the time to post here on TripAdvisor.

We were very disappointed to hear that there were billing issues and misunderstaning about the rates and credit card charges and the customer service received in pursuing the issue, which caused you stress and inconvenience during your stay in Kenya recently.

I will personally be taking these points up with my management team and will be reponding to you via your email under seperate cover shortly.

Assuring you of my best attention at all times.

Kind Regards

Lorenzo Baleri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conway, Arkansas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

After 10 days in the "bush", I needed some A/C, good food, hot shower and good bed. I got all of that and more during my two night stay. Professional/helpful staff. Good food (although a bit pricey), and a GREAT massage to boot! The steam room and work out facility were a great help in working out the Kenya road kinks. I am adding this stop as a regular for my Kenya trips.

Room Tip: If you are a priority member, ask for a complimentary upgrade when you book. If it is available, th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo_baleri, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Razorback11 ,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Nairobi.

I was delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the hotel. Thank you for your complimentary feedback in relation to the good food,, comfortable bed and professional/helpful staff.

We were glad that your enjoyed our gym and spa facilities, in particular the massage and the steam room after your work out !!

Thank you for recommending the Crowne Plaza Nairobi to fellow reviewers and look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Best Regards

Lorenzo Baleri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I was two nights in Nairobi and needed a hotel the local airport and near the client, as traffic is terrible in town. The Crowne Plaza was IT. Superb service a warm welcome at the recon on my arrival, a great and very professional greeting.
The room was super it was spacious, clean and very comfortable.
The restaurant was well stocked, the staff professional and friendly.
The hotel has good high speed Internet, and is easy to use.
All in all a hotel I would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite, if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo_baleri, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear ColmV ,

Thank you so much for your kind words and positive feedback about the superb service and the warm welcome at the reception on arrival at the hotel

We pride ourselves in our spacious , clean and comfortable rooms for which we are renowned of and the friendly and professional staff in our restaurants. I will certainly share the postive feedback with the rest of the team.

Thank you for recommending the Crowne Plaza Nairobi to fellow TripAdvisor readers.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Lorenzo Baleri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Has an excellent dining experience. One you can die for. Courses well presented with kind and welcoming chef. The menu was well explained and I got more than I could bargain for. The bar and fruit cakes were so good. Definitely visit again

Room Tip: Very good for business travellers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo_baleri, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Hjkenya ,

Thank you for acknowledging the excellent dining experience received by the team at the Crowne Plaza Nairobi. We were pleased to know that you enjoyed a wonderful dining experience and that the courses were well presented with the chef being welcoming and visibile.

Indeed, feedback like yours encourage our team to further deliver guests expectations and to achieve our brand promise,creating Great Hotels Guest Love, and am glad we were able to live up to this promise.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best Regards

Lorenzo Baleri

General Manager - Crowne Plaza Nairobi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I stayed for four nights while at a conference taking place at the Crowne Plaza. Things started badly as, despite three email requests to the hotel, there was no car and driver at the airport to meet me. That said, there was a hotel car and driver, meeting somebody else, and the driver quickly called the hotel, arranged for another driver to come out and, within 10 minutes I was on my way. Well done to the driver, but someone dropped the ball on the reservation side.

In terms of the location, I did not leave during my stay. If I had wanted to there did not seem much to do in the local area (heavily business) so do not stay here is you want to roam a local area on foot.

The hotel itself was pretty well perfect. Great room, fantastic service, good facilities and a real "buzz" about the place. I would put it on par with any top of the range business hotel anywhere in the world. In a word, and thinking hard about it, I cannot find anything at all to fault it.

I think very much a business hotel - I have not seen a single child here - so maybe not ideal for families, but from a businss perspective I do not think you will find much better - anywhere.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo_baleri, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Jonathan200210 ,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a complimentary review about your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Nairobi.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and found it to be on par with any top of the range business hotels anywhere in the world.

I will share with my entire team your feedback about your experience regarding the fantastic service,, good facilities, great room and the real buzz at our hotel.

We have taken the liberty of contacting you direct with regards to the airport pickup request and have taken the apppropriate steps to ensure of a more seamless service in the future.

Once again, thank you for recommending our hotel to fellow TripAdvisor viewers.

Best Regards

Lorenzo Baleri

General Manager - Crowne Plaza Nairobi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

it just seems that way when your taxi driver turns off the paved road and starts traversing down the most pot-holed dirt tracks in the Upper Hill area. Once you arrive at the Crowne Plaza, and your vehicle is inspected for explosives with under-car mirrors and a quick check of the boot, you're fine. The friendly staff warmly greet you and make you feel welcome. The rooms are what you expect from a top-star chain- well kept, clean and fairly modern since the building is only about 3 years old. The pillow menu is a great service and the breakfast buffet is well worth the visit. Free wi fi (all other hotels take note! FREE wi fi!) and a very well-equipped gym make this a very pleasant property to stay. It's a little out of the way of the city (about a US$5 trip each way which you should negotiate before getting into a taxi - even for the Crowne's own fleet of cars) but it's quiet location. Try the Gazebo Grill place across the road/dirt track from the Crowne for a simple but cheap meal.

Room Tip: If you want to avoid the noise from kids (and adults) playing in the swimming pool, ask for a room t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo_baleri, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Alvin W ,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a most complimentary and detailed review about your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Nairobi.

I was particulary pleased to know you enjoyed your trip to Nairobi and there were so many positive aspects to your stay,such as the friendly staff that made you feel welcome from your arrival, modern spacious and clean rooms.

Our Pillow menu in the rooms is very popular. Thank you for the fantastic feedback about our breakfast offering as we pride ourselves in offering the best available in terms of quality, variety and service.

We have taken the view of offering added value to our guests hospitality experience by offering FREE Wi fi and a state of the art Gym which has given our hotel a competitive edge.

Our guests complete satisfaction is our main goal at Crowne Plaza Nairobi and it is very rewarding to learn that this was achieved during your stay. Thank you again for recommending our hotel to other travelers visiting Nairobi and we do look forward to the opportunity of once again welcoming you back to our hotel.

Best Regards

Lorenzo Baleri

General Manager- Crowne Plaza Nairobi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi

Address: Kenya Road Upper Hill | PO Box 25574, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Upper Hill Estate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 101 hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Nairobi is a new and stylish, 4 Star hotel strategically located in the commercial area of Upper Hill in Nairobi. The hotel is surrounded by multinational companies, diplomatic missions, banks, government offices, insurers and hospitals. Our pillar-less ballroom and 6 boardrooms with state-of-the-art equipments make it the ideal place to stay and meet. The Crowne Plaza Nairobi is just a 30 minute drive from the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, 10 minutes drive to the City Centre and 20 minutes drive to the famous Nairobi National Park and Animal Orphanage. Crowne Plaza Nairobi has 162 superbly appointed spacious rooms which include thirteen suites, a club floor with its exclusive lounge. All rooms are air conditioned and have high speed wireless internet connectivity. To compliment this is the Business Centre, the double story ultra modern fitness centre and heated swimming pool, Multiple restaurants and a double story bar, 24 hour room service, a gift shop, money changing facilities, beauty salon, travel desk, secure and ample parking space, and same day laundry facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.