We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect base” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kenya Road Upper Hill | PO Box 25574, Nairobi 00100, Kenya (Upper Hill Estate)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Members Get Up to 35% Off
Ranked #15 of 100 hotels in Nairobi
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Perfect base”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Recently had an extended stay here for three weeks in whilst searching for a property in the area. This was the perfect base.

The staff are extremely polite, well trained and the food was great. The place is super clean. Even though the area is undergoing a lot of renovations (roads etc) and the locale is very dusty, this is really a haven of calm.

We tried most services during our stay - everything from great massages, to haircut and use of the sports facilities. Everything exceeded our expectations.

There is a good range of places to eat - the upper end restaurant is fantastic, and even the poolside and room service menus didn't disappoint.

Ian and the concierge team know a lot about the area and are great guys - always ready for a chat.

Top tip: Beet Basic juice (restaurant/by the pool) - all your daily vitamins in one delicious drink!

Did have an issue with staff letting doors slam, for example once they've delivered room service or when servicing rooms in the morning (as doors are heavy) and passed this onto housekeeping team upon departure. This was only as I was working in my room often, so at hotel most of the day. Satisfed that they will look at this issue.

Room Tip: During road rebuild, go for a poolside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo_baleri, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear 15Annemarie ,

It was very pleasing to know that you had a "Perfect stay" at the Crowne Plaza Nairobi and I would like to thank you for taking the time to recommend us on TripAdvisor.

It was a pleasure to read your review and to know that how you made it clear to see how much you enjoyed our hotel and appreciated the Health SPA, Good Food and efficient friendly service.

I am glad that we were able to exceed your expectations. and will certainly encourage Ian, our Doorman to keep up the sterling job.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Best Wishes,

Lorenzo Baleri
General Manager
Crowne Plaza Nairobi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    118
    130
    36
    10
    4
See reviews for
18
48
30
176
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

After experiencing some African hotels that had dubious plumbing, hot water, and no security, it was good to stay at the Crowne Plaza. Food was very good. Room was clean and comfortable with air conditioning, which allowed us to do hand laundry and get it dried by morning. Service from everyone in hotel is excellent. While expensive at $230 a night, it was a welcome oasis after a dusty safari.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo_baleri, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear TorontoAlan,
We would like to thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Nairobi on your trip to Kenya.

We appreciate your detailed review and your feedback about the hotel's good food, clean and comfortable rooms and the excellent service received.

I sincerely hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back again to our hotel.

Kind Regards

Lorenzo Baleri
General Manager Crowne Plaza Nairobi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

The rooms are large, beds extremely comfortable with feather light snuggly pillows. Shower is big and the water pressure nice and strong. The fruit selection at breakfast is excellent. The gym and spa are clean. Only problem is the security on evey floor - but again this is Nairobi!!

Room Tip: Take the rooms with a city view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo_baleri, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Abiria ,

Thank you for the Great revue about our hotel regarding your recent stay in Nairobi.

It is extremely encouraging to receive such postive feedback and will certainly share this with my entire Team.

I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Best Regards

Lorenzo Baleri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

New, clean, well looked-after, this hotel exceeded my expectations of a Crowne Plaza hotel.
There are quite a lot of roadworks going on around the hotel though we can be frustrating given that taxis will get lost, which in Nairobi traffic could add an hour to your journey home.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo_baleri, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Kannice ,

Just a short note to thank you for the brilliant feedback . We are glad to hear that we exceeded your expectations.

We are pleased to inform you once the major roadworks improvement plan is completed it will be well worth the travel from the airport to our hotel.

Thank you too for recommending our hotel to fellow Tripadvisor readers.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards

Lorenzo Baleri
General Manager - Crowne Plaza Nairobi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

After a scarry drive through the boom docks of Nairobi, we arrived to find our room had been double booked...not good as we were flying of on a Safari the next day.
The Manager arranged for a room at another top hotel and sent a car for us to take us to airport the next day...now that is what I call customer service.
On returning 4 days later, we were delighted to have been given a free upgrade. Well done to management. Lovely Hotel, superb service, nice outdoor swimming pool. Just located in a tucked away location and the roads!!! Or rather potholes with tarmack.Dreadful drivers too. Airport a nightmare of push and shove and disorder.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back. Building work going on over the road and a pilling hammer at 7am is NOT...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo_baleri, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear paulinebell ,

We are thrilled to note your detailed and wonderful review of your stay at Crowne Plaza Nairobi here on Tripadvisor.

A typical and great example of turning a negative into a positive and living the moment of truth of guest experience and satisfaction.

I will pass on your positive feedback and comments to my team which will make them proud.

Thank you too for the positive comments about our lovely hotel and superb service.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Lorenzo Baleri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Just a quick update after my third visit this year (for business). Location is ideal for many attending for business. Rooms large and comfortable. I never sleep well here but not anything to do with the room as far as I can tell. Restaurant food is okay but service can be very slow. Pool is in an unusual spot right by the outdoor restaurant tables - not ideal for some. This time we used the 'local' bar directly opposite, great value and very relaxed, worth a visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo_baleri, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear AandAW ,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share the experience of your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Nairobi.

We are happy to note that this was your third visit to our hotel and it was great having you back with us. As you mentioned the location is ideal for guests on persons and stayovers for connecting flights within Kenya and East Africa.
We are also happy to hear you enjoyed the size and comfort of our rooms.

We are sorry to hear about the slow service experienced in our Baraza restaurant.We will share it with my management team to avoid this from happening in future.

You may want to visit our Sikia Restaurant on your next visit, a fine dining continental & local restaurant where we recently introduced an innovative and mouth watering menu- nominated by Go Places runner up for Hotel Restaurant for 2012.

Again thank you, and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Best wishes

Lorenzo Baleri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley UK
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Lets get my issues out the way first - They could not find our reservation after sometime they apologized blaming a new system that left bookings prior to its introduction hanging! The room was great, gorgeous big bed with pillow selection & spray by your bed to help you sleep so the big shame was all the noise. We kept thinking it will stop soon at 4am we called to ask when the noise would stop to be told the function in the hotel was now over but the one across the Street they had no idea when it would stop. They go the extra mile with pillow selection but don't have double glazing & you hear it all even on the 5th Floor!. The management did apologized and admitted to other complaints. When asked what they were going to do about it they did offer 5000 points back from the 25000 used to book. I did not feel they took the complaint that seriously as they had the full points already. If this had not been the case I would have refused to pay as to only get a couple of hours sleep is shocking in my book. They also confirmed they should have put us on the other side of the hotel which would have been less noisy that did not really help after the event.
Also the TV system was down for most of the stay.
I have given them 3 stars as the room was comfortable and the rest of the staff were good so if you are lucky enough to stay when not events are on I am sure your will have a good stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear annettet,

hank you for your review regarding your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi

Address: Kenya Road Upper Hill | PO Box 25574, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Upper Hill Estate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 100 hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Nairobi is a new and stylish, 4 Star hotel strategically located in the commercial area of Upper Hill in Nairobi. The hotel is surrounded by multinational companies, diplomatic missions, banks, government offices, insurers and hospitals. Our pillar-less ballroom and 6 boardrooms with state-of-the-art equipments make it the ideal place to stay and meet. The Crowne Plaza Nairobi is just a 30 minute drive from the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, 10 minutes drive to the City Centre and 20 minutes drive to the famous Nairobi National Park and Animal Orphanage. Crowne Plaza Nairobi has 162 superbly appointed spacious rooms which include thirteen suites, a club floor with its exclusive lounge. All rooms are air conditioned and have high speed wireless internet connectivity. To compliment this is the Business Centre, the double story ultra modern fitness centre and heated swimming pool, Multiple restaurants and a double story bar, 24 hour room service, a gift shop, money changing facilities, beauty salon, travel desk, secure and ample parking space, and same day laundry facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.