We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night at the Crown Plaza” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kenya Road Upper Hill | PO Box 25574, Nairobi 00100, Kenya (Upper Hill Estate)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #14 of 110 Hotels in Nairobi
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“One night at the Crown Plaza”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Spend one night at the Crown Plaza Nairobi
Quick airport pickup - very helpfull driver
Nice check in at the Club floor
The club room is good but some ameneties like toothbrush are missing
poor breakfast at the club lounge

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo_baleri, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Dear Shibre,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share the experience of your recent stay at Crowne plaza Nairobi.

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, specifically the service recieved from our shuttle driver and the Club Lounge guest attendant on check in.

We are sorry to hear that about your feedback regarding the breakfast in the Club Lounge and will be sharing it with Management and staff to address any shortcomings to avoid this from happening in the future. Toothbrush & toothpaste kits are availbale on request and are not a standard item available in the room.

Again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards

Lorenzo Baleri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    143
    40
    10
    4
See reviews for
19
51
31
200
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

I've stayed here on multiple business trips this year and have had a great experience everytime. While it is nothing fancy and there are nicer places in Nairobi, the service is very good and the staff are all great.

A few other highlights--the restaurant food is very good, the hotel gym is very nice (pretty good size and variety of equipment--all brand new TechnoGym stuff). There is also a good bar area to get an evening drink and a cafe area to get a morning coffee.

The location is a bit quiet, and there isn't even an restaurant that is close enough to walk to, but it's a very safe area and quite convenient to many parts of the city (and relatively good for traffic).

The hotel also has a large number of hotel cars that allow you to organize pickups and drop offs around the city at competitive rates (other hotels are usually much more expensive than cabs) and you can charge everything to your room.

A few very small negatives:
- the pool is surrounded by the casual restaurant, which serves three meals a day. So it's not really a very good location to lay out and get some sun or even go swimming
- the breakfast buffet is so-so. It's nothing bad but staying here a lot one wishes for something a bit better

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo_baleri, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Dear patrickdward,

We are glad to hear that you choose our hotel when in Nairobi and have had a Great experience everytime we host you and we would like to thank you for sharing your experiences on TripAdvisor.

We are very pleased to read the detailed comments and the positive aspects of your stay such as the very good service and food in the restaurants and Great staff which we will share with our team.

We are proud to showcase our state of the art gym and our restaurants and are happy to advise that we will be embarking on an expansion plan soon which entails more luxury bedrooms,conference facilities and relocation of the existing pool area.In the process we are reviewing our breakfast menus to suit a broader variety of offerings to our vast guest profile.

Thank you for recommending us and we look forward to your next visit.

Best Wishes,

Lorenzo Baleri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Stayed Sep,2011,8 nights side trips for safaris.my room was large for 1 person,,nice 2 resturants plus bar.Its about a 15 to 20 min walk to the center of Nairobi,I felt safe although I made it look as if I new exactly where I was going,,,LOL,,and yes I would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo_baleri, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Dear cn-trainman ,

It was pleasing to read your comments about the wonderful stay at Crowne Plaza Nairobi recently and would like to thank you for taking the time to write about your experience here on TripAdvisor.

Thank you for recommending our hotel and certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Best wishes

Lorenzo Baleri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

PRIVACY & SECURITY - On my 2nd night, a male attendant opened my room's door without knocking or ringing the bell. I was terrifed upon hearing the door clicked so I ran and checked. I asked him why he was intruding and he told me he thought I was about to check out. First, if he was supposed to see a guest checking out, he should have checked the room number carefully. Second, he should never enter a room using the hotel key without checking if someone is in by ringing the bell. Now I get so paranoid hearing noises near my room's door. In fairness to the management, when I sent an e-mail to the general manager I got a prompt response saying they will investigate. After that, I was not informed what happened next.

BILLING - The Bill Review on TV is not accurate. I got multiple charges for the mini bar. I informed the mini bar attendant Titus and I appreciate his promptness in verifying and correcting the charges posted.

HOUSEKEEPING - It is difficult to reach them. Most of the time, my calls were re-directed to reception. After complaining, the service has not improved.

LOCATION - far from the central business district so you only get your meal at the pricey hotel restaurants (but the food is good though..the chef is good!)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo_baleri, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Dear wandering_dive_geek ,

Thank you for your review of you stay with us in July 2012.

You have identified some deficiencies that I have addressed without delay and have taken appropriate corrective action to remedy these, as this should have not occured.

I have looked further at the issue with the room mini bar billing and the Housekeeping promptness in the telephone service.

We will monitor and continuosly evaluate the issues that you have brought to our attention as this will only impove the overall excellence to our guests in the future.

Thank you again for the review.We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back soon again.

Kind Regards

Lorenzo Baleri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mombasa
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012 via mobile

As far as Nairobi goes, this is one of the best rivalled only by Fairview Hotel. I still don't understand why every hotel in Nairobi is so expensive by world standards but Crowne Plaza is good value by Nairobi standards. Great service, fantastic breakfast and restaurant serves a nice dinner too despite being expectedly overpriced. I've stayed at Crowne twice and both times the glass shower screen was quite dirty but everything else is very clean. The Mini Bar was also strange both times. There is a cable ties holding it shut which made me not open it the first time I visited (thinking maybe something was wrong with it, so they didn't want me to use it). The second visit, I threw caution to the wind and broke the seal to find everything okay. Obviously this is some kind of seal so you know nothing is missing but I really didn't know that on my first visit.

The business centre was good, the fitness centre also good. Overall a great hotel. I stay here when Fairview is full though simply because of the great gardens and restaurants there. This hotel is just as good or better at everything else so I'm just as happy to stay here.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo_baleri, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Dear Chookmeister69,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a complimentary review about your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Nairobi.

I greatly appreciate your kind words about your our hotel and in particular comments regarding "Great Service, Fantastic Breakfast and Dinner".Your comments will definately be passed on to the team and will be greatly appreciated by them.I was also pleased to read you enjoyed the business centre , fitness centre and that you rate our hotel as a Great Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Lorenzo Baleri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

I stayed here for work for a week in February. I was placed on the executive floor, thanks to a rate I found online, which was cheaper than the rate my colleagues got. I'm not sure if I timed it right but it was worth it. I had the perks of private buffet breakfast upstairs, cocktail hour with yummy snacks, and free dry cleaning daily. I also loved the sleep kit with the pillow spray!

I found the hotel comfortable, the service fabulous, and the restaurants tasty. I would recommend!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo_baleri, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Dear Valerie210,

I was very pleased to read your most complimentary review of your stay at Crowne Plaza Nairobi and would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor.

I was delighted to know that you enjoyed many of the hotel facilities and services, espescially the Breakfast,snacks and Cocktail hour in our Club Lounge.

Our guests complete satisfaction is our main goal at Crowne Plaza Nairobi and it is very rewarding to learn that this has been achieved on your visit.Thank you for recommending our hotel to other travelers visiting Nairobi.

Best Regards

Lorenzo Baleri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, England
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We hosted a business breakfast networkin meeting here for senior leadership in Nairobi and this was the perfect venue for it. It had a real feel of a proper business hotel and the food and service were great. We will defitiely be using it in the future.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo_baleri, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Dear Ironmummy,

It was pleasing to know that you had a successful networking meeting and found our hotel to be the perfect venue for business and corporate guests.

Your comments made it clear how much you enjoyed the food and appreciated the great service.

I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Best Regards

Lorenzo Baleri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi

Address: Kenya Road Upper Hill | PO Box 25574, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Upper Hill Estate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 110 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Nairobi is a new and stylish, 4 Star hotel strategically located in the commercial area of Upper Hill in Nairobi. The hotel is surrounded by multinational companies, diplomatic missions, banks, government offices, insurers and hospitals. Our pillar-less ballroom and 6 boardrooms with state-of-the-art equipments make it the ideal place to stay and meet. The Crowne Plaza Nairobi is just a 30 minute drive from the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, 10 minutes drive to the City Centre and 20 minutes drive to the famous Nairobi National Park and Animal Orphanage. Crowne Plaza Nairobi has 162 superbly appointed spacious rooms which include thirteen suites, a club floor with its exclusive lounge. All rooms are air conditioned and have high speed wireless internet connectivity. To compliment this is the Business Centre, the double story ultra modern fitness centre and heated swimming pool, Multiple restaurants and a double story bar, 24 hour room service, a gift shop, money changing facilities, beauty salon, travel desk, secure and ample parking space, and same day laundry facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.