We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safe and pleasant option for Nairobi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kenya Road Upper Hill | PO Box 25574, Nairobi 00100, Kenya (Upper Hill Estate)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
IHG Special up to 25% Off
Ranked #16 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Safe and pleasant option for Nairobi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

We stayed here for two nights following an African safari through Kenya and Tanzania. The hotel's pool is very nice, as is the state-of-the-art gym. The area around the hotel is safe, although a bit boring. There is nothing really to walk to around the hotel. We ate most of our meals at the restaurant across the street, which provided a taste of the local atmosphere and a $5 large breakfast. The room is of high quality, which you'd expect from a Crowne Plaza. We enjoyed chatting with Ian, one of the doormen, who greeted us personally when we came and went. The day tour prices offered by the travel agency in the lobby were very expensive, so we hired a private driver based upon a friend's recommendation and had a wonderful day trip to see Nairobi's sites. It cost us US$30 for 4.5 hours of a hired car.

Our only complaint was the business center. While Skype is installed on the computers, only one computer has a headset with microphone and that microphone is broken. When asked, the business center attendant just said, "Oh yeah, the microphone is broken." The business center should provide business travelers with the option to video conference, given that microphones cost $15. Moreover, after I had set myself up on one machine, I discovered that Adobe Reader did not work and I could not open any PDFs. Again, the attendant just admitted casually that the program didn't work. The computer desktops were littered with users' files, adding to the impression that the business center needs some more attention to detail.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo_baleri, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, January 31, 2012
Thank you for your review dated 28 January 2012.

At the Crowne Plaza Nairobi we strive to maintain a benchmark of excellence in every aspect of our offerings and it is constructive critiscm like yours that will help us achieve this.

Thank you very much for the compliments and I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Ian,our Doorman is indeed an excellent staff member and am sure he will be happy to hear your compliments.

I apologise for the unacceptable standard of service offering in the business centre and can assure you that the issue has been rectified.

I would like to assure you that the TEAM at Crowne Plaza Nairobi take personal pride in our Guests convenience and comfort.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Best Wishes

Lorenzo Baleri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    115
    128
    36
    10
    4
See reviews for
18
47
30
170
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, Netherlands
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

I had a great stay at the Crown Plaza which is I think quite a new place, little over a year old. It has a good restaurant by the pool, half inside half outside, and very friendly staff. Rooms are good, internet is free. Only the pool is a bit too small and surrounded by little space to sit/lie down. Special thanks to Njenga Evans, the main doorman, who brightened up my day every day with nice chats and great service! Will definitly go back.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo_baleri, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, January 24, 2012
On behalf of the "TEAM" at the Crowne Plaza Nairobi,I would like to thank you very much for choosing to stay with us.

We are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and more so that you will consider us for a return visit.

I have passed on your kind words to Evans, our Doorman and all our team members who made your stay memorable.

We are working hard to provide the highest level of product and services and therefore appreciate your positive comments.

We hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to Nairobi.

Best Regards

Lorenzo Baleri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury Park, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights at this hotel and were very pleased with it. Wonderful facilities all around including a very nice gym! The food was and service were great! Very nicely appointed rooms and the price was great! We paid with our airline miles, but it was very reasonable and looking up the price online also confirmed that. The only other hotel in Nairobi I know that is comparable is the Serena, but I think this might be better and is definitely a better value, as the Serena is quite expensive. It is also in a great location on the Upper Hill - a nicer part of town. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo_baleri, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, January 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Nairobi.

It is so gratifying to hear such great feedback on the staff,service ,food and the hotel facilities.

Our Guests experience is at the core of our values and we work very hard to achieve fantastic feedback such as yours.

On behalf of the Crown Plaza Nairobi "TEAM" we are delighted that you had a Great Stay and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Best Regards

Lorenzo Baleri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

I stayed at the Crowne Plaza for a week. Unless you are doing business in Upper Hill or perhaps laying over between flights, the location is a bit difficult. If you plan to spend time in Westlands or anywhere north or west, this hotel is quite isolated. This also results in the hotel being quiet, no bar or social scene, which some people may prefer.
Aside from the location, it is a lovely hotel. The rooms are big, clean, and comfortable, the staff is friendly, and the restaurants are good. The gym is my favorite part of the hotel, as it is truly a well-stocked facility. My one surprise is the swimming pool. It is strangely situated in the middle of the dining room (if you can imagine that), so it would be a very awkward place to relax in a swimsuit.
This hotel is nicer than your average Crowne Plaza in the U.S., but it's not as sophisticated as some of the other big Nairobi hotels.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

Stayed at the hotel for three nights the service was very good. the rooms are big than average hotels i have stayed i definitely recommend these hotel as i was pleased with the service and overall appearance. most impressed about the housekeeping service before the end of the night

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo_baleri, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, January 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor following your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Nairobi.

I was pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and in particular was impressed with with the service and the overall appearance of the hotel. I will certainly share your encouraging comments to our Housekeeping "TEAM" .

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Best Regards

Lorenzo Baleri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

A really nice modern hotel with fantastic facilities but only for the business folk out there. All the staff are mannered but not one of them have a personal touch. Everything about the hotel is corporate. Nice rooms, gym, coffee shop etc but if you want food at a third of the price walk the 10 metres across the road and enjoy the local food with nice hospitality.

Room Tip: Do not use the overpriced hotel taxi's.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo_baleri, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, January 24, 2012
We thank you for taking the time to share your valued feedback with us. It was truly a pleasure hostong you and appreciate any comments made by our guests that will assist us in constatntly striving to achieve the highest quality standards.

We are indeed pleased to note that you enjoyed the hotel facilities as it is comments like these that make our efforts worthwhile.

We thank you for your custom and continued relationship with our hotel and look forward to welcoming you back in Nairobi.

Best Wishes

Lorenzo Baleri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

My stay was from January 1st to January 11th, 2011. The hotel staff are welcoming and friendly. They endeavoured to solve the requirements that I had. The services are very good. The quality of the building itself and the equipment is excellent. My only proposals for betterments are to widen the menus and extend the restaurant closing times to 2230HRS, as some travellers arrive rather late.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi

Address: Kenya Road Upper Hill | PO Box 25574, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Upper Hill Estate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Nairobi is a new and stylish, 4 Star hotel strategically located in the commercial area of Upper Hill in Nairobi. The hotel is surrounded by multinational companies, diplomatic missions, banks, government offices, insurers and hospitals. Our pillar-less ballroom and 6 boardrooms with state-of-the-art equipments make it the ideal place to stay and meet. The Crowne Plaza Nairobi is just a 30 minute drive from the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, 10 minutes drive to the City Centre and 20 minutes drive to the famous Nairobi National Park and Animal Orphanage. Crowne Plaza Nairobi has 162 superbly appointed spacious rooms which include thirteen suites, a club floor with its exclusive lounge. All rooms are air conditioned and have high speed wireless internet connectivity. To compliment this is the Business Centre, the double story ultra modern fitness centre and heated swimming pool, Multiple restaurants and a double story bar, 24 hour room service, a gift shop, money changing facilities, beauty salon, travel desk, secure and ample parking space, and same day laundry facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.