We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For Business Folk Only” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kenya Road Upper Hill | PO Box 25574, Nairobi 00100, Kenya (Upper Hill Estate)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #14 of 111 Hotels in Nairobi
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“For Business Folk Only”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

A really nice modern hotel with fantastic facilities but only for the business folk out there. All the staff are mannered but not one of them have a personal touch. Everything about the hotel is corporate. Nice rooms, gym, coffee shop etc but if you want food at a third of the price walk the 10 metres across the road and enjoy the local food with nice hospitality.

Room Tip: Do not use the overpriced hotel taxi's.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo_baleri, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, January 24, 2012
We thank you for taking the time to share your valued feedback with us. It was truly a pleasure hostong you and appreciate any comments made by our guests that will assist us in constatntly striving to achieve the highest quality standards.

We are indeed pleased to note that you enjoyed the hotel facilities as it is comments like these that make our efforts worthwhile.

We thank you for your custom and continued relationship with our hotel and look forward to welcoming you back in Nairobi.

Best Wishes

Lorenzo Baleri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    143
    40
    10
    4
See reviews for
19
51
31
200
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kampala
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

My stay was from January 1st to January 11th, 2011. The hotel staff are welcoming and friendly. They endeavoured to solve the requirements that I had. The services are very good. The quality of the building itself and the equipment is excellent. My only proposals for betterments are to widen the menus and extend the restaurant closing times to 2230HRS, as some travellers arrive rather late.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

Generously sized rooms. Nice bathrooms with large walk in shower as well as bathtub. Free wifi - although signal variable. Staff very friendly and try to please.

Food generally good, especially the restaurant Sikia. Although I did have one poor room service meal.

Excellent gym and good spa - although treatments/massages a bit pricey. Pool oddly located and quite small, but heated and nice enough.

Unfortuanately, smoking rooms are not available.

All in all better than average Business Hotel at a fair price.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo_baleri, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, January 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel with such honesty and fairness.It is greatly appreciated.
I was particularly pleased to learn that my team demonstarated high levels of hospitality that one would expect.Service is something that we can influence and take great pride in delivering as best we can. I thank you for the encouranging feeedback about our Sikia Fine Dining Restaurant meal and your disppointment about the quality of room service food delivery.I have discussed this with our team and will be taking the appropriate corrective measures.

Thank you and we hope to welcome you back with us.

Best Wishes

Lorenzo Baleri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

Stayed here only for one short night. Were greeted by extremely friendly and helpful staff. Room was nice and spacious as well as clean (the mattresses in our twin beds were - at least for American standard - very hard, but still comfortable).
We had dinner at their "fine dining" restaurant, which was good and certainly better than we expected. Drinks in the lobby bar served by a very helpful bartender.
We left early the next morning without trying the pool, but it looked nice (-:

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo_baleri, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, January 14, 2012
Thank you for the kind words.We are glad to hear that you had a very enjoyable stay with us and you were able to experience our SIKIA 'Fine Dining" Restaurant.

It's always a pleasure recieving great feedback and this will definately be passed onto our team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Crowne Plaza Nairobi in the near future.

Best Wishes

Lorenzo Baleri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

Pretty much what you'd expect form the brand - nice room, comfortable, clean and well serviced. Pool slightly disappointing - right by the restaurant and enclosed so that sun is lost quite early in the afternoon. We were there for a conference, which was not very efficiently managed by the hotel, and the usual inability of anyone below General Manager to make a decision meant our little problems took ages to fix. Overall, good enough, but not quite at full international standards imo

Oh, and Evans, the man in the hat directing traffic, is charming and very helpful.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo_baleri, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, January 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at our hotel recently.Your feedback is very important to us as this assists us in continually improving the services and facilities we have to offer to our guests.

We would like to express our sincere apologies for the shortcomings you experienced during your conferece. I have taken note and wish to thank you for your valuable comments.These are a great deal of importance to us.

Nevertheless, thank you for the positive comments about the hotel and in particular Evans, our Doorman.

We thank you for having chosen our hotel and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best Regards

Lorenzo Baleri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

Everything about this hotel is great - highly recommended.

The check-in and check-out were smooth and staff were friendly - as per the rest of the stay.

My room was (most importantly) very clean and modern. The bathroom is especially nice with a separate rainfall shower. There was no issue with noise so I had a great sleep every night.

One small thing I especially like (other hotels, please start listening...) is that you can switch off all the lights with one switch next to the bed.

I've been spoiled with some great breakfast option in Asia recently; so the options here were pale in comparison but still enough to satisfy your appetite. All the usual breakfast dishes were available (e.g. bacon, eggs, baked beans etc.) The curries prepared for dinner (off the la carte menu) were especially nice - try the Crowne Plaza Chicken Curry.

The health club is actually quite large with lots of equipment and a steam room.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo_baleri, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, January 8, 2012
I truly thank you for your kind and generous feedback which I shared straight away with my whole team.We were all extremely glad to have provided you with a delightful stay with us.
Please be assured that we love to make all of our guests happy.
I thank you for mentioning all the departments you've been in contact with as it is very rewarding to know that we have satisfied our guests.

I look forward to welcoming you back very soon in order to offer you our undivided attention.

Kind Regards

Lorenzo Baleri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

We came to Nairobi for a short stayover before moving on to Mount Kenya. The hotel's facilities were well-equipped boasting of a gym, swimming pool, cafeteria and restaurant. The room was spacious and clean offering guests choice of pillows. There was free wifi available in the hotel rooms as well. I would consider it one of my best stays in Kenya.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo_baleri, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, January 8, 2012
I thank you for taking the time to drop your positive feedback on TripAdvisor regarding our facilities as well as our high level of services.Indeed we try our utmost to have our guests feel at home away from home which is most convenient when travelling abroad.

I hope to welcome you back to Nairobi in the near furure.

Best Regards

Lorenzo Baleri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi

Address: Kenya Road Upper Hill | PO Box 25574, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Upper Hill Estate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 111 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Nairobi is a new and stylish, 4 Star hotel strategically located in the commercial area of Upper Hill in Nairobi. The hotel is surrounded by multinational companies, diplomatic missions, banks, government offices, insurers and hospitals. Our pillar-less ballroom and 6 boardrooms with state-of-the-art equipments make it the ideal place to stay and meet. The Crowne Plaza Nairobi is just a 30 minute drive from the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, 10 minutes drive to the City Centre and 20 minutes drive to the famous Nairobi National Park and Animal Orphanage. Crowne Plaza Nairobi has 162 superbly appointed spacious rooms which include thirteen suites, a club floor with its exclusive lounge. All rooms are air conditioned and have high speed wireless internet connectivity. To compliment this is the Business Centre, the double story ultra modern fitness centre and heated swimming pool, Multiple restaurants and a double story bar, 24 hour room service, a gift shop, money changing facilities, beauty salon, travel desk, secure and ample parking space, and same day laundry facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.