We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Satisfactory - nothing spectacular!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kenya Road Upper Hill | PO Box 25574, Nairobi 00100, Kenya (Upper Hill Estate)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #20 of 125 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town, South Africa
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Satisfactory - nothing spectacular!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

Spent 4 days at this hotel attending a conference. To be honest, there is not much that I could fault this hotel with other than it just does not do it for me. The staff were friendly. Housekeeping was a bit tardy (had to call 3 or 4 times before they came). Big issue for me was the mosquitoes in the room. There was no insect repellent and I had to beg for an electric repellent for the room to get rid of the mosquitoes.The free internet was fast and reliable. The bed comfortable and the size of the room was ok I guess. The food was ordinary, but edible. The aircons are definitely not adequate for this type of room as it barely operates. Essentially I suppose my stay was ok, but for the price, I think it is a bit on the expensive side.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    157
    43
    11
    7
See reviews for
19
53
31
220
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kasulu, Tanzania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

A relatively newly built hotel, the Crowne Plaza has all the cleanliness, comfort and amenitites you would hope for in a large chain hotel. Nothing really objectionable about the place: Customer service is pleasant, bathrooms are comfortable, bed and linens are great, and amenities are all readily available. My one issue would be that it lacks that intangible quality or a bit of "soul" or personality that would keep one coming back. Decor and food makes it just like any other clean, corporate chain hotel you could find in any other large city although can be a relief, if you're used to lower standards..

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

Ok, they say attention to detail makes a hotel, well the CP staff have not only missed the point but the whole wall.

The security is great, am being evacuated as terrorists are blowing things up twice a day since i arrived so its time to go home but i can't fault the security - secret service, sniffer dogs, armed guards, fences, patrols, vehicle checks all make you feel safe.

once inside though, although it looks the part the truth is i am very dissapointed.

the food is naff, fine dining restaurant last night, ran out of the things i wanted to order, what i did order was dire, sent it back - was beef curry, they said it was mild but could make it to taste so i asked for extra hot, what i got was warm beef stew, bland and luke warm, the beef was in 2 camps, camp 1 was home to the shoe leather beef and camp 2 was home to the lumps of fat with beef glued to it to make it seem like beef.
they swapped it for stuffed chicken breast which was "OK" but it took a long time to fix and all this cost $50.

In the bar there were several.... well i think "escort" is the correct term but i guess hooker works too, looking for wealthy looking sorts and then sloping off to hotel rooms, not what i want to see in a hotel, especially in what is supposed to be a world wide chain.

My room was ok but the view out the window was of a 10' wall directly opposite, no wonder the curtains were drawn when i entered the room. the kettle didn't work and the safe had been activated but with the door open so was useless, i reported both to reception, they fixed the safe but left the kettle.

when i returned from work i found my room was missing the two bottles of complimentary water and hand towels, small thing but these are 2 star mistakes in a 5 star hotel.

finally, am having to check out early due to the deteriorating security issue so i made an enquiry to reception to see if this is possible last night, this morning at 0700 there was a knock on the door and then 3 seconds later the porter was letting himself into my room, i always put the chain on the door so he didn't get in but i had already got up to answer the door and just thought this was lacking in courtesy.

on the whole - a big disappointment.

Room Tip: stay off the 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky,USA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

This was the second time I've stayed here in the past year and it was just as lovely as the first. The rooms are impeccably clean and modern, beds comfortable and the staff welcoming and incredibly professional.

Stephen, the front office manager, is almost always available and he and his staff are very warm and friendly. They truly make you feel at home.

This is the only place would stay in Nairobi and I simply can't say enough about what a special oasis this is.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enola, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

Hello, In US we love Crown plaza... we will be staying at Nairobi Crown plaza on 30th October 2011 before our safari tour.Our name --Mr. and Mrs. Anil Thakrar email..acthakrar@yahoo.com

My husband and I will be celebrating our 44 yrs. wedding anniversary this month.
I would apprecite your help to make it a very memorable stay at your hotel--may be with a lovely upgrade to your special suite and more!!!

Looking forward to our visit... Do you have a shuttle pick up from the airport?? Thanks

Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, ihgcare at Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, October 8, 2011
Dear NeemaT,

Thank you for taking the time to communicate your concerns regarding the Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi. I have sent you a private email with additional information. We thank you for having chosen our Hotel. We take this opportunity to send you our best wishes.

Sincerely,
Brenda J.
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

My husband and I were schedule for Safari and a little work in Kenya and I began researching accomadations in Nairobi. While there were many options to choose from, the Crowne Plaza stood out because of it's amenities (free internet, fitness center, pool, etc) and because of the price. Nairobi is an expensive city but the Crowne Plaza, with advanced purchase, gives you an excellent stay. The room was exceptional and the bed, luxurious. The hotel itself is immaculate. One of the outstanding features of this hotel is the staff - they will go to any length to please you. During your stay, make sure to look up Evans (he wears a top hat at the front door) and Grace who does check in - they will make you feel at home.

Only one caution, taxi's are expensive at the hotel but they are very safe.

Room Tip: We had a superior double and couldn't have been happier. Spacious, easy to work in, and great am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

We brought a group of 20 people to Nairobi for a conference for 7 days and everyone found it one of the best hotel experiences in ages. Staff were friendly, competent, and well organized. Hotel was beautiful, spotlessly clean, and ideally located close to downtown, but in a quiet area. Rooms were excellent--very comfortable beds, big modern bathrooms, flatscreen TVs, free and fast wireless internet, complimentary water bottles replenished daily, etc. Breakfast buffet was one of the best I've seen and I travel quite a bit and the fitness center was at a level of an actual gym you would pay to go to.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi

Address: Kenya Road Upper Hill | PO Box 25574, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Upper Hill Estate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 125 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Nairobi is a new and stylish, 4 Star hotel strategically located in the commercial area of Upper Hill in Nairobi. The hotel is surrounded by multinational companies, diplomatic missions, banks, government offices, insurers and hospitals. Our pillar-less ballroom and 6 boardrooms with state-of-the-art equipments make it the ideal place to stay and meet. The Crowne Plaza Nairobi is just a 30 minute drive from the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, 10 minutes drive to the City Centre and 20 minutes drive to the famous Nairobi National Park and Animal Orphanage. Crowne Plaza Nairobi has 162 superbly appointed spacious rooms which include thirteen suites, a club floor with its exclusive lounge. All rooms are air conditioned and have high speed wireless internet connectivity. To compliment this is the Business Centre, the double story ultra modern fitness centre and heated swimming pool, Multiple restaurants and a double story bar, 24 hour room service, a gift shop, money changing facilities, beauty salon, travel desk, secure and ample parking space, and same day laundry facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.