We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in ages” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kenya Road Upper Hill | PO Box 25574, Nairobi 00100, Kenya (Upper Hill Estate)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #23 of 128 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best hotel in ages”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

We brought a group of 20 people to Nairobi for a conference for 7 days and everyone found it one of the best hotel experiences in ages. Staff were friendly, competent, and well organized. Hotel was beautiful, spotlessly clean, and ideally located close to downtown, but in a quiet area. Rooms were excellent--very comfortable beds, big modern bathrooms, flatscreen TVs, free and fast wireless internet, complimentary water bottles replenished daily, etc. Breakfast buffet was one of the best I've seen and I travel quite a bit and the fitness center was at a level of an actual gym you would pay to go to.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    165
    45
    12
    8
See reviews for
20
54
32
230
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Uganda
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

I stayed here for a week. The hotel is very good or excellent. Great customer care and nice rooms. The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was excellent. The hotel meals were always on time. The lunch time for our conference was 12.30pm and the food was always ready. The internet speed is good and everywhere! The rooms were always always clean! Keep it up

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pisceanblue
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

I stayed here on two occasions over a period of two weeks while in Kenya on business. Each time, I was given a complimentary upgrade to the Club level. The hotel is beautiful and spotlessly clean. My room was extremely comfortable. The bed was exquisite. Nice choice of pillows and great linens. Bathroom is a very nice size, and the shower had the perfect amount of water pressure. The buffet in the Baraza restaurant was delicious. Staff friendly and helpful. When I have occasion to return to Nairobi this is the only hotel I will be staying it.

Room Tip: try to get a room on the back side of the hotel (facing the soccer field). It is quieter on that si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
141 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

We stayed here on the last night of our honeymoon and we got a free upgrade to the Presidential Suite. It was out of this world. The hotel had a lovely bouquet of flowers and bottle of wine in our suite. The suite was also covered in little petals. We got room service which was excellent. Our only complaint was we did'nt have more time to experience the hotel as we had an early morning flight departure.

We highly recommend this hotel to all. Thanks once again to the hotel for our upgrade

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

An excellent international hotel in the Upper Hill district. No hesitation in recommending. Two king size beds, free wifi, free bottled water, reasonably priced mini bar, good restaurant, hotel bar is reasonably priced however they will try to sell you double shots, free nuts/crisps with drinks, breakfast is excellent with a made to order egg bar, fresh orange juice!

Room Tip: All rooms are the same - area is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

We spent afew days here at the start of our holiday. Location quiet and secure. The staff are very helpful and great with the kids...they made us feel at home.The beds were comfy and the rooms clean. Food was of good standard and room service efficient. Baby cot was happily provided on request. The staff helped us get local sim cards and get phone working... Overall we had a lovely stay and will definitely be back.
Thanks to Evans,Rotich and the boys! keep up the good work...

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

I usually travel to Nairobi on business at least once a month - and have experienced quite a few hotels, thus far Crowne has one of the better services and facilities. Good internet, good food and a good response time to requests.
A couple of tips...
DO NOT go for the cheaper option of Taxi service - always use the hotel's taxi shuttle, especially if you are not familiar to the area. Had an unpleasant experience with the "freelance" taxi operators across the road - though they are half the price they are not worth risking your safety and the hotel cannot help if something happens.
I was not comfortable with the pillows in my room - asked for new pillows and got them.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
2.1 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#3 of 128 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 407 reviews
0.9 mi away
InterContinental Nairobi
InterContinental Nairobi
#28 of 128 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 659 reviews
0.9 mi away
Nairobi Serena Hotel
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#10 of 128 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#13 of 128 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 596 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#7 of 128 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 758 reviews
2.1 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi

Address: Kenya Road Upper Hill | PO Box 25574, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Upper Hill Estate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 128 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Nairobi is a new and stylish, 4 Star hotel strategically located in the commercial area of Upper Hill in Nairobi. The hotel is surrounded by multinational companies, diplomatic missions, banks, government offices, insurers and hospitals. Our pillar-less ballroom and 6 boardrooms with state-of-the-art equipments make it the ideal place to stay and meet. The Crowne Plaza Nairobi is just a 30 minute drive from the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, 10 minutes drive to the City Centre and 20 minutes drive to the famous Nairobi National Park and Animal Orphanage. Crowne Plaza Nairobi has 162 superbly appointed spacious rooms which include thirteen suites, a club floor with its exclusive lounge. All rooms are air conditioned and have high speed wireless internet connectivity. To compliment this is the Business Centre, the double story ultra modern fitness centre and heated swimming pool, Multiple restaurants and a double story bar, 24 hour room service, a gift shop, money changing facilities, beauty salon, travel desk, secure and ample parking space, and same day laundry facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.