We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'm Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kenya Road Upper Hill | PO Box 25574, Nairobi 00100, Kenya (Upper Hill Estate)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
IHG Special up to 25% Off
Ranked #15 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“I'm Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

We traveled through Nairobi and had to overnight the beginning and end of our trip. We picked this hotel because it wasn't far from the hotel and we were told it was new, nice and the right price. It was all those things and more. I was so happy to be returning to this hotel after our safari, it was the perfect place to take the road dust off. It is clean, modern and comfortable. The rooms have everything you would expect or need. The staff was wonderful. The restaurant had a large menu and good food. Business or pleasure it's a great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    115
    127
    35
    10
    4
See reviews for
18
47
30
169
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

Staying at the Crowne Plaza was a perfect experience. We literally had no negative experiences. The food was great, the complimentary bottled water was ample. The pillow menu was a nice treat. The restaurants were always pleasant experiences.

Most of all, the staff was amazing. I haven't met a more friendly and qualified group of people in my life. They helped me learn Swahili and kept me company while I wait for my taxi. One man in particular stood out - Evans Njenga. He is currently working as door master if I understood correctly. He is a truly gifted individual. I have never met anyone who can endear himself to you through honest and sincere interest and friendliness quite like Evans. Who ever snatches him away from the Crowne Plaza will be doing themselves a great favor yet also inflict a great loss on the Plaza. I look forward to hearing from him and following his career.

Room Tip: My room looked out over the front of the hotel. I enjoyed this view more than one that overlooks the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chisinau, Moldova
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

Well the hotel was nice and so far had no bad experience in it. Room was clean and not too small, bathroom was clean too, had bath tub, and shower, we got complimentary internet which is usually not, they have no wifi in room just cable. You can see the room in my pics. Staff was helpful and friendly, we got lots of help how to get around city and country too.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albury, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011 via mobile

One of the finest hotels I have stayed at.

Professional and helpful staff, a very nice room with a luxurious bed (and a choice of pillow types), iPod/iPhone docking station and wi-fi, an excellent gym and a beautiful casual dining restaurant.

Every component of this hotel exudes quality.

Breakfast and dinner in

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

Excellent servcie by ALL Staff. I was a tourist & treated better than BUSINESS TRAVELLERS. Noting was a problem.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

During the month of July, I had the priviledge of staying a few days at a time on two separate instances at the Crowne Plaza Nairobi. My comments simply put would be that Crowne Plaza Nairobi has put into practice the Kenya Karibu from the time you step of the taxi into the hotel. The staff learns quick of your preferences and all amenities from the room to the restaurants and the gym are what one would expect from a 5 star facility.

I am certain as the hotel matures the service levels will be upheld.

Room Tip: The rooms are well equiped including free access to the internet with good speeds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

Stayed @ CP Nairobi for 2 nights last week. Great business hotel, spacious rooms, conveniently located to various intl companies. Tried the restaurant for b/fast as it was included in the room rates. Was ok, but needed more variety especially for vegetarians. Had pizza and dinner in the bar/lounge. Was good. Room was neat and clean, however the bathroom had smell, but I think its more from the weather dampness rather than anything else.
Had a late flight and asked for possibility for late checkout. Their manager, Steven was very helpful and as the hotel wasnt full, let me keep the room till 7pm.
Overall service was excellent, staff helpful.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi

Address: Kenya Road Upper Hill | PO Box 25574, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Upper Hill Estate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Nairobi is a new and stylish, 4 Star hotel strategically located in the commercial area of Upper Hill in Nairobi. The hotel is surrounded by multinational companies, diplomatic missions, banks, government offices, insurers and hospitals. Our pillar-less ballroom and 6 boardrooms with state-of-the-art equipments make it the ideal place to stay and meet. The Crowne Plaza Nairobi is just a 30 minute drive from the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, 10 minutes drive to the City Centre and 20 minutes drive to the famous Nairobi National Park and Animal Orphanage. Crowne Plaza Nairobi has 162 superbly appointed spacious rooms which include thirteen suites, a club floor with its exclusive lounge. All rooms are air conditioned and have high speed wireless internet connectivity. To compliment this is the Business Centre, the double story ultra modern fitness centre and heated swimming pool, Multiple restaurants and a double story bar, 24 hour room service, a gift shop, money changing facilities, beauty salon, travel desk, secure and ample parking space, and same day laundry facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.