We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kenya Road Upper Hill | PO Box 25574, Nairobi 00100, Kenya (Upper Hill Estate)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #21 of 134 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Chisinau, Moldova
Level Contributor
82 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

Well the hotel was nice and so far had no bad experience in it. Room was clean and not too small, bathroom was clean too, had bath tub, and shower, we got complimentary internet which is usually not, they have no wifi in room just cable. You can see the room in my pics. Staff was helpful and friendly, we got lots of help how to get around city and country too.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    168
    45
    12
    8
See reviews for
21
55
32
237
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albury, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

One of the finest hotels I have stayed at.

Professional and helpful staff, a very nice room with a luxurious bed (and a choice of pillow types), iPod/iPhone docking station and wi-fi, an excellent gym and a beautiful casual dining restaurant.

Every component of this hotel exudes quality.

Breakfast and dinner in

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

Excellent servcie by ALL Staff. I was a tourist & treated better than BUSINESS TRAVELLERS. Noting was a problem.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

During the month of July, I had the priviledge of staying a few days at a time on two separate instances at the Crowne Plaza Nairobi. My comments simply put would be that Crowne Plaza Nairobi has put into practice the Kenya Karibu from the time you step of the taxi into the hotel. The staff learns quick of your preferences and all amenities from the room to the restaurants and the gym are what one would expect from a 5 star facility.

I am certain as the hotel matures the service levels will be upheld.

Room Tip: The rooms are well equiped including free access to the internet with good speeds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

Stayed @ CP Nairobi for 2 nights last week. Great business hotel, spacious rooms, conveniently located to various intl companies. Tried the restaurant for b/fast as it was included in the room rates. Was ok, but needed more variety especially for vegetarians. Had pizza and dinner in the bar/lounge. Was good. Room was neat and clean, however the bathroom had smell, but I think its more from the weather dampness rather than anything else.
Had a late flight and asked for possibility for late checkout. Their manager, Steven was very helpful and as the hotel wasnt full, let me keep the room till 7pm.
Overall service was excellent, staff helpful.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
140 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

Service & Staff were excellent - our flight got cancelled and rescheduled a day later & I had already pre-paid my stay for crowne plaza...but the hotel staff - GM Mr. Lorenzo was most kind in shifting my dates without any hassle. The front desk person in the night shift was also extremely good and helpful.
We got upgraded to the Club room - It was spacious, well done interiors, most comfortable bed and spacious bathroom with separate tub & shower.
Drawbacks - very expensive room service menu. We went to their cafe and got a strawberry dessert - which was stale. We paid about 450-500 KES for it... and apart from not being fresh it was not even the least appealing to your taste-buds. It only looked good to the eyes. The saving grace was the restaurant 'gazebo' opposite the hotel - No great food but better and cheaper than the hotel.
Location - a bit far off from city centre and a cab is needed. But the hotel provides the same or there are other cabs outside the hotel gate which are a bit cheaper too.
But overall a very recommended hotel & a must stay in Nairobi as most other hotels have outdated interiors. The staff handled my queries extremely well and made it a pleasure to stay there.

Room Tip: The Club room was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

The hotel service is high standard. Very clean hotel rooms with free internet access. The lounge, bar and restaurants are very nice to meet colleagues and friends.

It is located away from the noisy and crowded city center. Easy and fast access from the airport.

I would stay here again, anytime.

Room Tip: Nice and spacious. good working desk
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
InterContinental Nairobi
#30 of 134 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 684 reviews
The Boma Nairobi
#4 of 134 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 429 reviews
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#7 of 134 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Hill Estate
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Nairobi
Fairmont The Norfolk
#13 of 134 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 626 reviews
Hilton Nairobi
#47 of 134 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi

Address: Kenya Road Upper Hill | PO Box 25574, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Upper Hill Estate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 134 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Nairobi is a new and stylish, 4 Star hotel strategically located in the commercial area of Upper Hill in Nairobi. The hotel is surrounded by multinational companies, diplomatic missions, banks, government offices, insurers and hospitals. Our pillar-less ballroom and 6 boardrooms with state-of-the-art equipments make it the ideal place to stay and meet. The Crowne Plaza Nairobi is just a 30 minute drive from the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, 10 minutes drive to the City Centre and 20 minutes drive to the famous Nairobi National Park and Animal Orphanage. Crowne Plaza Nairobi has 162 superbly appointed spacious rooms which include thirteen suites, a club floor with its exclusive lounge. All rooms are air conditioned and have high speed wireless internet connectivity. To compliment this is the Business Centre, the double story ultra modern fitness centre and heated swimming pool, Multiple restaurants and a double story bar, 24 hour room service, a gift shop, money changing facilities, beauty salon, travel desk, secure and ample parking space, and same day laundry facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.