We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent business hotel!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kenya Road Upper Hill | PO Box 25574, Nairobi 00100, Kenya (Upper Hill Estate)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #16 of 91 hotels in Nairobi
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent business hotel!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

Stayed @ CP Nairobi for 2 nights last week. Great business hotel, spacious rooms, conveniently located to various intl companies. Tried the restaurant for b/fast as it was included in the room rates. Was ok, but needed more variety especially for vegetarians. Had pizza and dinner in the bar/lounge. Was good. Room was neat and clean, however the bathroom had smell, but I think its more from the weather dampness rather than anything else.
Had a late flight and asked for possibility for late checkout. Their manager, Steven was very helpful and as the hotel wasnt full, let me keep the room till 7pm.
Overall service was excellent, staff helpful.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    111
    120
    34
    10
    4
See reviews for
16
47
30
163
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

Service & Staff were excellent - our flight got cancelled and rescheduled a day later & I had already pre-paid my stay for crowne plaza...but the hotel staff - GM Mr. Lorenzo was most kind in shifting my dates without any hassle. The front desk person in the night shift was also extremely good and helpful.
We got upgraded to the Club room - It was spacious, well done interiors, most comfortable bed and spacious bathroom with separate tub & shower.
Drawbacks - very expensive room service menu. We went to their cafe and got a strawberry dessert - which was stale. We paid about 450-500 KES for it... and apart from not being fresh it was not even the least appealing to your taste-buds. It only looked good to the eyes. The saving grace was the restaurant 'gazebo' opposite the hotel - No great food but better and cheaper than the hotel.
Location - a bit far off from city centre and a cab is needed. But the hotel provides the same or there are other cabs outside the hotel gate which are a bit cheaper too.
But overall a very recommended hotel & a must stay in Nairobi as most other hotels have outdated interiors. The staff handled my queries extremely well and made it a pleasure to stay there.

Room Tip: The Club room was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

The hotel service is high standard. Very clean hotel rooms with free internet access. The lounge, bar and restaurants are very nice to meet colleagues and friends.

It is located away from the noisy and crowded city center. Easy and fast access from the airport.

I would stay here again, anytime.

Room Tip: Nice and spacious. good working desk
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandton, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

In the month of July 2011, I stayed at the Crowne Plaza Nairobi on two occasions both of which were superb. The hotel boasts numerous amenities including a state of the art gym and a spa/treatment facility.

The hotel's three restaurants offered a large variety of dishes including a fine dining steak house - the lamb chops were to die for.

The room's are comfortable, clean and its seems as if the hotel designers paid attention to detail - there are even ipod docks in the rooms!

Overall, I had a great stay at the hotel and will definitely stay there on my next trip to Nairobi.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

It stands grand amongst the best in the world, the Crown Plaza makes its mark in Nairobi. Set amongst the Embassies and Corporate giants on Upper hill, away from the air pollution, traffic and dust. it doesn't have views of Kilimanjaro, then again none of the hotels in Nairobi do, however the Crown Plaza is certainly the Jewel of Nairobi and the top choice for discerning travelers who like their comforts striking but not ostentatious.

It boast a grand lounge with grand piano, a bar with two floors, breakfast and all-day-dining over looking the pool, not to mention a 5* restaurant with exceptional service and food.

The staff are very eager to please and always smiling, i fell sick one night and they called me regularly to check-in on me, they went the extra mile, something you don't find much these days, especially in Africa. The mattresses are luxuriously comfortable and over the top. Duvets and a pillow menu were more then i bargained for, so i ordered 4 extra pillows, set my air-conditioner to 16 and slept like a baby.

The next day the breakfast buffet was fresh and welcoming, they had a good assortment of dishes and various bread and roll options. The private cabs are readily available and cleaner then the street cabs. The fitness center has the best Technogym equipment.
I always enjoy my stay and I'll definitely return, i think it's excellent value for money with the good rates they offer for a new 4**** hotel. Crown Plaza well done !!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are good, if you can afford the suite then go for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

My experience at Crowne Plaza Nairobi has been my best yet! The service was EXCEPTIONAL - I have never stayed at a hotel with such professional mannerism and authenticity. Everything from the food, to the rooms, to the comfortable beds, to the friendly staff, to the spa/gym was absolutely superb. The only hotel I'll be staying at when I return to Nairobi will be Crowne Plaza. I definitely recommend this hotel to anyone - you will NOT be disappointed!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

5 star service and the most comfortable bed I've ever slept on in a hotel!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi

Address: Kenya Road Upper Hill | PO Box 25574, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Upper Hill Estate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 91 hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Nairobi is a new and stylish, 4 Star hotel strategically located in the commercial area of Upper Hill in Nairobi. The hotel is surrounded by multinational companies, diplomatic missions, banks, government offices, insurers and hospitals. Our pillar-less ballroom and 6 boardrooms with state-of-the-art equipments make it the ideal place to stay and meet. The Crowne Plaza Nairobi is just a 30 minute drive from the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, 10 minutes drive to the City Centre and 20 minutes drive to the famous Nairobi National Park and Animal Orphanage. Crowne Plaza Nairobi has 162 superbly appointed spacious rooms which include thirteen suites, a club floor with its exclusive lounge. All rooms are air conditioned and have high speed wireless internet connectivity. To compliment this is the Business Centre, the double story ultra modern fitness centre and heated swimming pool, Multiple restaurants and a double story bar, 24 hour room service, a gift shop, money changing facilities, beauty salon, travel desk, secure and ample parking space, and same day laundry facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere, HotelsClick and Agoda so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.