We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Hotel room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kenya Road Upper Hill | PO Box 25574, Nairobi 00100, Kenya (Upper Hill Estate)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #14 of 111 Hotels in Nairobi
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Loved the Hotel room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

Service & Staff were excellent - our flight got cancelled and rescheduled a day later & I had already pre-paid my stay for crowne plaza...but the hotel staff - GM Mr. Lorenzo was most kind in shifting my dates without any hassle. The front desk person in the night shift was also extremely good and helpful.
We got upgraded to the Club room - It was spacious, well done interiors, most comfortable bed and spacious bathroom with separate tub & shower.
Drawbacks - very expensive room service menu. We went to their cafe and got a strawberry dessert - which was stale. We paid about 450-500 KES for it... and apart from not being fresh it was not even the least appealing to your taste-buds. It only looked good to the eyes. The saving grace was the restaurant 'gazebo' opposite the hotel - No great food but better and cheaper than the hotel.
Location - a bit far off from city centre and a cab is needed. But the hotel provides the same or there are other cabs outside the hotel gate which are a bit cheaper too.
But overall a very recommended hotel & a must stay in Nairobi as most other hotels have outdated interiors. The staff handled my queries extremely well and made it a pleasure to stay there.

Room Tip: The Club room was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    143
    40
    10
    4
See reviews for
19
51
31
200
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

The hotel service is high standard. Very clean hotel rooms with free internet access. The lounge, bar and restaurants are very nice to meet colleagues and friends.

It is located away from the noisy and crowded city center. Easy and fast access from the airport.

I would stay here again, anytime.

Room Tip: Nice and spacious. good working desk
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandton, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

In the month of July 2011, I stayed at the Crowne Plaza Nairobi on two occasions both of which were superb. The hotel boasts numerous amenities including a state of the art gym and a spa/treatment facility.

The hotel's three restaurants offered a large variety of dishes including a fine dining steak house - the lamb chops were to die for.

The room's are comfortable, clean and its seems as if the hotel designers paid attention to detail - there are even ipod docks in the rooms!

Overall, I had a great stay at the hotel and will definitely stay there on my next trip to Nairobi.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

It stands grand amongst the best in the world, the Crown Plaza makes its mark in Nairobi. Set amongst the Embassies and Corporate giants on Upper hill, away from the air pollution, traffic and dust. it doesn't have views of Kilimanjaro, then again none of the hotels in Nairobi do, however the Crown Plaza is certainly the Jewel of Nairobi and the top choice for discerning travelers who like their comforts striking but not ostentatious.

It boast a grand lounge with grand piano, a bar with two floors, breakfast and all-day-dining over looking the pool, not to mention a 5* restaurant with exceptional service and food.

The staff are very eager to please and always smiling, i fell sick one night and they called me regularly to check-in on me, they went the extra mile, something you don't find much these days, especially in Africa. The mattresses are luxuriously comfortable and over the top. Duvets and a pillow menu were more then i bargained for, so i ordered 4 extra pillows, set my air-conditioner to 16 and slept like a baby.

The next day the breakfast buffet was fresh and welcoming, they had a good assortment of dishes and various bread and roll options. The private cabs are readily available and cleaner then the street cabs. The fitness center has the best Technogym equipment.
I always enjoy my stay and I'll definitely return, i think it's excellent value for money with the good rates they offer for a new 4**** hotel. Crown Plaza well done !!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are good, if you can afford the suite then go for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

My experience at Crowne Plaza Nairobi has been my best yet! The service was EXCEPTIONAL - I have never stayed at a hotel with such professional mannerism and authenticity. Everything from the food, to the rooms, to the comfortable beds, to the friendly staff, to the spa/gym was absolutely superb. The only hotel I'll be staying at when I return to Nairobi will be Crowne Plaza. I definitely recommend this hotel to anyone - you will NOT be disappointed!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

5 star service and the most comfortable bed I've ever slept on in a hotel!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

Something anyone staying in Nairobi must consider is the traffic. Weekends are not too bad but during the week it can take anything from 30 minutes to 2 hours to get to or from Jomo Kenyatta airport. If you have a morning flight to catch this can mean leaving your city hotel 4-5 hours before your flight! If this is the case I would consider a hotel near the airport, we saw the Ole Sereni and the Panari. If you can travel into the city I would definitely recommend the Crowne Plaza.
It is a new hotel and a pleasure to stay at. It is in a quiet area and you will have a peaceful nights sleep.
We arrived on a Saturday early morning flight and were lucky that we could be checked in early. The rooms are large, modern and functional, beds comfy - little soft, choice of pillows, pillow mist, good air conditioning, tea and coffee, fridge/minibar, international tv channels, free wi-fi and fab bathroom. I mention this because many hotels had no hospitality tray, tv or a fridge and extortionate internet access.
Staff were very friendly and helpful, we did not experience any problems during our 3 day stay but we did hear a few business guests who had some niggly problems. We got the impression across Kenya as a whole that staff will listen to your problem but are not always able to do anything about it. The infrastructure in the country means that high standards cannot always be maintained but the staff will always try to help and be polite.
The coffee lounge is relaxing with excellent drinks and snacks. We also got a take away pizza from here and took it up to our room. We ate in the less formal restaurant Baraza by the pool, the menu had a wide choice and the prices were reasonable for a hotel. Main courses 1500 KHS upwards (£11). You can eat outside or inside and it was very pleasant in the evening. The Gazebo Bar & Grill opposite the hotel was very good. It has an informal atmosphere and the food and drink is much cheaper. Nyama Choma (mixed roasted meat) was about £5 for a large portion and a huge fresh veggie burger with fries was £2.50.
There aren't that many sunloungers around the pool but being predominantly a business hotel there wasn't much competition. The gym looked well equipped. The pool is in the centre of the hotel so is surrounded and it is a bit strange swimming and sunbathing whilst business people are eating in the restaurant.
There isn't much to do in the neighbourhood so we visited the Ya Ya shopping centre on the Sunday where there was a good Maasai market, learning to haggle is a must. A taxi cost 700 KHS from the hotel and there were plenty around to take us home. There were a few restaurants there too and a bank that was willing to change our notes into smaller denominations free and was open on a Sunday.
We booked our excursions through Hayes & Jarvis who use Pollmans - have to say would not do that again. We visited the Giraffe Centre on the Monday which is well worth it. They are succesfully breeding Rothschild giraffes to release and help get them off the endangered list. They are very friendly and you can have a kiss from them! The wildlife walk there is also worthwhile. After that we went to the Karen Blixen museum which was interesting and had a good gift shop. Our guide took us to Tamambo for lunch it is also known as the Karen Blixen Coffee Garden.
On our last day we visited the Sheldrick elephant orphanage between 11 and 12 and then we returned at 5pm to watch them all go to bed. It is very worthwhile adopting, they do amazing work and this enables you to visit at 5 without the masses that can be there at lunchtime. You must book the evening visit well in advance though.
I would advise negotiating a driver for the day and going to the Giraffe Centre, Karen Blixen, Utamundi Craft Centre, Sheldrick Elephant Orphanage and some other shops. It is also worth looking for accomodation in Karen, it is a lovely area near excursions and not too bad for getting to the airport. The excursions were cheap to get into or a donation is expected and I think it would work out cheaper this way than booking through a tour operator. We used Elijah Njoroge who had an air conditioned Mercedes and was one of the most polite and accomodating people we met. He is an incredibly safe driver which counts for a lot in Nairobi. If you private message me I would be pleased to pass on his contact details.
The drivers at the Crowne Plaza were also safe drivers and it cost us $30 to get to the airport. It is good to have this price as a gauge then you can also get a taxi from the airport but I don't know if they charge for sitting in the traffic. The hotel did quote us $35 per person for an airport transfer when I e mailed them before we travelled so I would not recommend paying that.
We found the hotel a very relaxing place to stay, the staff were excellent and compared to the horror that is the Nairobi Safari Club the Crowne Plaza is far superior. If we return to Nairobi we will definitely be staying here.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi

Address: Kenya Road Upper Hill | PO Box 25574, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Upper Hill Estate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 111 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Nairobi is a new and stylish, 4 Star hotel strategically located in the commercial area of Upper Hill in Nairobi. The hotel is surrounded by multinational companies, diplomatic missions, banks, government offices, insurers and hospitals. Our pillar-less ballroom and 6 boardrooms with state-of-the-art equipments make it the ideal place to stay and meet. The Crowne Plaza Nairobi is just a 30 minute drive from the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, 10 minutes drive to the City Centre and 20 minutes drive to the famous Nairobi National Park and Animal Orphanage. Crowne Plaza Nairobi has 162 superbly appointed spacious rooms which include thirteen suites, a club floor with its exclusive lounge. All rooms are air conditioned and have high speed wireless internet connectivity. To compliment this is the Business Centre, the double story ultra modern fitness centre and heated swimming pool, Multiple restaurants and a double story bar, 24 hour room service, a gift shop, money changing facilities, beauty salon, travel desk, secure and ample parking space, and same day laundry facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.