We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A haven at the edge of Nairobi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wildebeeste

Wildebeeste
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wildebeeste
Save
You added Wildebeeste to your Saves list
Ngong Road | Off Kibera Road, Nairobi, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 136 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“A haven at the edge of Nairobi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We stayed at this eco-camp for five nights, using it as a base for one day trips in our own hire car, before moving on. We loved the quiet seclusion of the place and the big garden, where all the tents are, is full of flowers, interesting plants and trees, and wild birds. The service was always friendly and helpful (especially when we wanted dinner saved because our car had broken down); the staff liked to chat and get to know you. Breakfast was a bit thin; we thought fresh fruit could be included instead of an extra dish you pay for, and something more could have been served with the cooked egg dish. But the dinners were excellent; tasty and varied. We especially liked the long dining table on the terrace for all the guests, as it got us chatting to other travellers; but there are several other tables if you want to be separate. The site is very secure and you can park the car inside. Some guests found the barking dogs distubed them at night, but on our side of the camp we were not troubled. The camp is well positioned for trips to Lake Magadi, to Nairobi National Park and to the south-east, but you have a slow drive through the suburbs if you want to go towards Naivasha and Nakuru or towards Mt Kenya. The immediate area around the camp is leafy suburb; large houses in their own grounds and we took several short walks in the district without any problems. There's an excellent shopping centre nearby. We would definitely stay again if we ever returned to Nairobi.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
3
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

Wonderful location within half an hour of the airport this is the perfect place to stay for a quick stop off or for am extended stay. The tents are very clean and comfortable but still very affordable and with breakfast included its a win win! Would recommend to all :)

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork. Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

Lovely setting, the tents were great, beds comfortable, breakfast fine but I have two complaints:
1) On the first night there was a power cut. Not completely unheard of in Nairobi!!. But there was no back up generator. This meant not only that there was no light but that there was no water (pump driven). Also the restaurant was closed so we had to get a taxi to a shopping centre and get ourselves a pizza.
2) When we checked in I showed the printout of our booking from the internet: one double luxury tent and one triple luxury tent. We were shown to two identical tents beside each other and settled in. When we went to pay two days later they asked for much more than I was expecting. I again produced my internet printout showing the price due. But they said that was for a double and a triple, we had had the use of two triples. We said we just went to the tents we were given. They eventually accepted our price but said it would have been "more honest" of us if we had pointed out the mistake on day one. We pointed out that we were not experts on tents and in many hotels rooms booked as doubles would consist of a double and a single bed. This idea that the mix up was due to our dishonesty left a very bitter and unnecessary bad taste. Pity!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2011

Arrived from London on flight that got us into Wildebeeste Camp at about 11 PM. Lorita, one of the owners was still up waiting for us . Booking in was simple and the beers and snacks came out as soon as we had unpacked.
We had an early flight to the game reserve the following morning so didnt have breakfast, but on our return again booked into Wildebeeste
The evening buffet meal was excellent and service quiet and unobtrusive.
I cannot understand the previous post about the cost of the beers. He should have been in the Maasai Mara and had to pay for a beer!!
The little shop had good quality ,interesting locally sourced handcraft at competitive prices

Room Tip: expect a camp site, and find a gem in city centre
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2009

As the last reviewer has said, we found this place to have a great location and very good value. The staff were very nice and the camp was very clean. There was a problem all over Nairobi with electricity, but the was not the fault of the camp, and they had a generator for light etc when the electricity was off.
I would highly recommend this place for good value.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2009

Good food . excellent coffee! drinks always available
good location, near supermarket, main road, buses and city-but peaceful location! garden was beautiful, well kept with giant tortoises. Nice places to quiet or play. Great outside room and TV.
Such good, kind Aussies running it, and visitors were fromUSA, Oz, Europe and Africa.
would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
2.3 mi away
Meridian Hotel
Meridian Hotel
#17 of 130 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 63 reviews
6.4 mi away
House of Waine
House of Waine
#1 of 130 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 179 reviews
1.3 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#10 of 130 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Progressive Park Hotel
Progressive Park Hotel
#20 of 130 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 127 reviews
0.9 mi away
Manyatta Backpackers
Manyatta Backpackers
#29 of 136 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 42 reviews
4.2 mi away
Lake View Studios
Lake View Studios
#19 of 136 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wildebeeste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildebeeste

Address: Ngong Road | Off Kibera Road, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 136 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wildebeeste, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.