We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Travellers paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wildebeeste

Wildebeeste
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wildebeeste
Save
You added Wildebeeste to your Saves list
Ngong Road | Off Kibera Road, Nairobi, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 107 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
“Travellers paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

Wonderful location within half an hour of the airport this is the perfect place to stay for a quick stop off or for am extended stay. The tents are very clean and comfortable but still very affordable and with breakfast included its a win win! Would recommend to all :)

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cork. Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

Lovely setting, the tents were great, beds comfortable, breakfast fine but I have two complaints:
1) On the first night there was a power cut. Not completely unheard of in Nairobi!!. But there was no back up generator. This meant not only that there was no light but that there was no water (pump driven). Also the restaurant was closed so we had to get a taxi to a shopping centre and get ourselves a pizza.
2) When we checked in I showed the printout of our booking from the internet: one double luxury tent and one triple luxury tent. We were shown to two identical tents beside each other and settled in. When we went to pay two days later they asked for much more than I was expecting. I again produced my internet printout showing the price due. But they said that was for a double and a triple, we had had the use of two triples. We said we just went to the tents we were given. They eventually accepted our price but said it would have been "more honest" of us if we had pointed out the mistake on day one. We pointed out that we were not experts on tents and in many hotels rooms booked as doubles would consist of a double and a single bed. This idea that the mix up was due to our dishonesty left a very bitter and unnecessary bad taste. Pity!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sussex
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2011

Arrived from London on flight that got us into Wildebeeste Camp at about 11 PM. Lorita, one of the owners was still up waiting for us . Booking in was simple and the beers and snacks came out as soon as we had unpacked.
We had an early flight to the game reserve the following morning so didnt have breakfast, but on our return again booked into Wildebeeste
The evening buffet meal was excellent and service quiet and unobtrusive.
I cannot understand the previous post about the cost of the beers. He should have been in the Maasai Mara and had to pay for a beer!!
The little shop had good quality ,interesting locally sourced handcraft at competitive prices

Room Tip: expect a camp site, and find a gem in city centre
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2009

As the last reviewer has said, we found this place to have a great location and very good value. The staff were very nice and the camp was very clean. There was a problem all over Nairobi with electricity, but the was not the fault of the camp, and they had a generator for light etc when the electricity was off.
I would highly recommend this place for good value.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2009

Good food . excellent coffee! drinks always available
good location, near supermarket, main road, buses and city-but peaceful location! garden was beautiful, well kept with giant tortoises. Nice places to quiet or play. Great outside room and TV.
Such good, kind Aussies running it, and visitors were fromUSA, Oz, Europe and Africa.
would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wildebeeste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildebeeste

Address: Ngong Road | Off Kibera Road, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 107 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wildebeeste, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.