We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Revisit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mvuli House

Save Saved
You added Mvuli House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mvuli House
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Lang'ata Road | PO Box 12181, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 157 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Nanyuki, Kenya
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A Revisit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

After my last visit to the Guest House I thought I would give it another chance. It must have new management and some new staff what a transformation. Worth the visti especially prior to going to airport. Food good, staff excellent rooms good.

Room Tip: As for room away from main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    24
    9
    4
    4
See reviews for
2
11
8
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kyiv, Kyyivs'ka Oblast', Ukraine
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I stayed at Mvuli House because the place I had booked earlier turned out to be a con (Jupiter Guest House). I nonetheless stayed at Mvuli for a while before moving on to a residential apartment.

The problem with Mvuli is one that plagues a lot of hotels in Nairobi that are at 3-star and below - poor service. It almost seems like one is doing the staff a favor by being there, they lack the capability to follow up on issues raised and the don't understand how to resolve problems once and for all and avoid repetitions.

The food is bland - two star - so look for alternatives of which there are many.

The beds are ok for a low-rated place and the showers work.

The location is very convenient but gets bad in the mornings and evenings as Langata Road is a major thoroughfare and gets clogged at peak traffic hours - so plan your trips wisely.

With internet access so ubiquitous in Nairobi these days, it's surprising that they can't get theirs to work most of the time. This can be a major drag more so since they also do not have a business cafe that would allow one to use say, desktops to find information, directions or send email.

Finally, Mvuli works as a short term stay 1-2 days and no longer due to inconsistent service levels and the lack of surrounding amenities such as good restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I chose the Mvuli House for my first time in Nairobi because it was near the Airport and I knew I would be tired upon arrival. It has a very pleasant atmosphere, beautiful garden, excellent restaurant and delicious breakfast. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the room was clean and spacious. The bed was very comfortable and there was a nice hot shower. I felt very safe here also as a woman traveling alone. I'd highly recommend both the hotel and the restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

It is termed a “Bed & Breakfast” but I found that it was as good as any of the hotels that I had stayed at in the past.
Clean rooms, hot & cold water, comfortable bed, nice sized desk for work, wi-fi internet included, good Flat-screen TV.
Restaurant - very good breakfast with large selections. Lund/Dinner menu, although not extensive provided for just about all tastes. Meals were good and portions larger than expected, at very reasonable prices.
Staff - very friendly and courteous, quick to respond to requests.
Parking - limited but has 24Hr security so is relatively safe.
Pricing - $85/night
All in all a very welcome surprise in a city where hotel pricing has escalated dramatically and level of service and amenities appears has not kept pace.
Mvuli House is, I found, an excellent place to stay and a real value for money!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

The food at Mvuli House is amazing. Loved it! Loved it! Loved it. The restaurant is beautiful but I prefer the breeze in the garden that is so peaceful... Going there again soon and it is very pocket friendly

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Chose this hotel as a one night stopover as it was close to the airport. What we wanted was an early night as we had to be at the airport at 4am. Asked for a quiet room and got one next to the main road, not sure if there are any quieter rooms. No air conditioning so had to keep the windows open so absolutely no sleep. Room very ordinary a little overpriced. Staff very pleasant, morning chef even insisted that we had some coffee and fruit while we waited for our early morning taxi.

Room Tip: Not sure there are quieter rooms but if so make sure you get one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMvuliHouse, General Manager at Mvuli House, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Hi,
We'd like to apologize for your experience. We usually have a room fan that we give guests who ask for it, since Nairobi is generally cold.
About the room noise we are working to have all the rooms sound- proofed. It will be complete in December. We hope that you will give us another chance to give you the a good stay at Mvuli House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Mvuli is well managed fair price for Nairobi where everything small small small including the new conference hall.
The food is fine, service is staff are good, security is good although the neighborhood is not very safe at night.
You can stay there when you are on tight budget or when you have a technical team in town format he region!

Room Tip: The rooms in the far form the stairs have weak wireless Internet connections.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mvuli House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mvuli House

Address: Lang'ata Road | PO Box 12181, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 157 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Mvuli House 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Mvuli House a place that embraces you in its serenity. Centrally located 5 minutes away from the Wilson Airport, it is a perfect stopover for guests transiting to Lamu, Malindi, Maasai Mara and other parts of Eastern Africa. Approximately 15 minutes away from the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, we are uniquely suited to meet the needs of business or leisure travelers on transit or layovers. Guests will find that Mvuli House is a relaxing getaway and an oasis of calm and ease. Mvuli has 46 lovely and well-appointed standard and twin bed rooms designed with your comfort in mind. Each room has a hot water shower, satellite TV connection, free wireless internet access (WI-FI), reading desk and a direct dial telephone. For your convenience and comfort, we offer room service, laundry service and a safety deposit box for valuables.The Mvuli House Restaurant is a tantalizingly perfect blend of both African and Western cuisines. The classic Mvuli Continental breakfast* consists of a tempting array of fresh seasonal fruits from around the country, refreshing natural juices, delectable pastries and scrumptious hot dishes, just what you need before a long work day. For lunch and dinner, our guests have the option of a 6-course buffet with an assortment of meats and mouthwatering desserts or ordering a meal off our appetizing a la carte menu. Our award-winning chef delights in creating a delicious cuisine for our guests. If you do fall in love with a Kenyan dish, maybe a word with the chef might result in you getting the recipe to take home * Breakfast is served between 6.00am and 11.00 am but on special request, we can prepare an early breakfast for guests with early flights or meetings.Need to work on the go? Mvuli House provides free Wi-Fi (wireless connectivity) 24 hours a day for our hotel guests. We make it easy for you to meet your deadlines and stay in touch with the world whether you are in Nairobi for business or pleasure.Our dedicated staff will assist if you are in need of photocopying, phone, printing or other business centre services. We are happy to help however way we can. In addition to the traditional hotel services, Mvuli House is a cozy location for conferences and events. We cater for meetings of up to 40 delegates in our conference room and events of up to 100 attendees in our garden. Our dedicated team of conference coordinators will give you personalized service throughout your event. Get in touch with us on if you would like to have a meeting or hold an event at Mvuli House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Mvuli House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mvuli House Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mvuli House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.