We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mvuli House

Save Saved
You added Mvuli House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Mvuli House
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Lang'ata Road | PO Box 12181, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 146 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Heavenly Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

The food at Mvuli House is amazing. Loved it! Loved it! Loved it. The restaurant is beautiful but I prefer the breeze in the garden that is so peaceful... Going there again soon and it is very pocket friendly

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    22
    10
    4
    4
See reviews for
2
10
7
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Chose this hotel as a one night stopover as it was close to the airport. What we wanted was an early night as we had to be at the airport at 4am. Asked for a quiet room and got one next to the main road, not sure if there are any quieter rooms. No air conditioning so had to keep the windows open so absolutely no sleep. Room very ordinary a little overpriced. Staff very pleasant, morning chef even insisted that we had some coffee and fruit while we waited for our early morning taxi.

Room Tip: Not sure there are quieter rooms but if so make sure you get one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMvuliHouse, General Manager at Mvuli House, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Hi,
We'd like to apologize for your experience. We usually have a room fan that we give guests who ask for it, since Nairobi is generally cold.
About the room noise we are working to have all the rooms sound- proofed. It will be complete in December. We hope that you will give us another chance to give you the a good stay at Mvuli House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Mvuli is well managed fair price for Nairobi where everything small small small including the new conference hall.
The food is fine, service is staff are good, security is good although the neighborhood is not very safe at night.
You can stay there when you are on tight budget or when you have a technical team in town format he region!

Room Tip: The rooms in the far form the stairs have weak wireless Internet connections.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanyuki, Kenya
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Stayed 01 July 2012, as always hotel staff friendly and room good. What was a let down this time was the food an.d wine. I ordered mushroom soup to start, which was powdered as all the dregs of powder on the bottom. Main course I ordered Mvuli house burger, which they did not have( mm no beef burger), I chose chicken burger which came out, the whole burger was about 3-4 inches big, when I removed the salad and pineapple their was the smallest not fully cooked chicken burger inside. I ordered wine which previously was 250ksh per glass, this time small bottle of warm white wine which was 500ksh and just over one glass. I asked for chilled white wine which is normal course, none chilled but offered ice. If the food remains the same I will not come back, it was like the chef had the night off and untrained staff in the kitchen

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMvuliHouse, General Manager at Mvuli House, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Mr Mackenzie, I am deeply sorry for your bad experience at the Hotel. You stayed with us at a genuinely unfortunate time, when we were in the process of taking over the restaurant from a 3rd party service provider, and we admit that things were wanting. I am sorry once more.

I'd like you to consider giving us another chance to pleasantly surprise you. We have greatly improved our menus, and our staff are now top notch.


Thanks for choosing Mvuli House.

Kellen Murungi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

I have recently been back at Mvuli and happy to note that the hotel did indeed put up a conference facility. In addition, they have re-done the place, particularly the front office, the dining area and even made some sitting space outside for a guest to relax. The place does look and feel very nice. Well done!

I was there for a day meeting and do congratulate them for making good their promise to put together a conference facility, since my last visit in June last year.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMvuliHouse, General Manager at Mvuli House, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Thank you for trusting us and giving us another chance to serve you. The improvements are part of a phased renovation, we are working to upgrade our rooms next.

Thanks for the review, we look forward to hosting you once more.

Regards,

Kellen Murungi
General Manager
Mvuli House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

I recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a hotel close to the airport. very good value for money.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

This a guest house that you want to come back to over and over again...there is serenity and privacy in their rooms,The food is exquisite staff are warm to be around offering the best service.
They have a plus in terms of location being located a few minutes from the Nairobi City Centre this makes it a wonderful location for both local and international tourists.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMvuliHouse, General Manager at Mvuli House, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are always looking to make your guest experience better each time. If you feel there is an area we can improve on, please send me an email on gm@mvulihouse.com.

Regards,

Kellen Murungi
General Manager
Mvuli House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mvuli House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mvuli House

Also Known As:
Mvuli House Hotel Nairobi
Mvuli House Hotel
Address: Lang'ata Road | PO Box 12181, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 146 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Mvuli House 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Mvuli House a place that embraces you in its serenity. Centrally located 5 minutes away from the Wilson Airport, it is a perfect stopover for guests transiting to Lamu, Malindi, Maasai Mara and other parts of Eastern Africa. Approximately 15 minutes away from the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, we are uniquely suited to meet the needs of business or leisure travelers on transit or layovers. Guests will find that Mvuli House is a relaxing getaway and an oasis of calm and ease. Mvuli has 46 lovely and well-appointed standard and twin bed rooms designed with your comfort in mind. Each room has a hot water shower, satellite TV connection, free wireless internet access (WI-FI), reading desk and a direct dial telephone. For your convenience and comfort, we offer room service, laundry service and a safety deposit box for valuables.The Mvuli House Restaurant is a tantalizingly perfect blend of both African and Western cuisines. The classic Mvuli Continental breakfast* consists of a tempting array of fresh seasonal fruits from around the country, refreshing natural juices, delectable pastries and scrumptious hot dishes, just what you need before a long work day. For lunch and dinner, our guests have the option of a 6-course buffet with an assortment of meats and mouthwatering desserts or ordering a meal off our appetizing a la carte menu. Our award-winning chef delights in creating a delicious cuisine for our guests. If you do fall in love with a Kenyan dish, maybe a word with the chef might result in you getting the recipe to take home * Breakfast is served between 6.00am and 11.00 am but on special request, we can prepare an early breakfast for guests with early flights or meetings.Need to work on the go? Mvuli House provides free Wi-Fi (wireless connectivity) 24 hours a day for our hotel guests. We make it easy for you to meet your deadlines and stay in touch with the world whether you are in Nairobi for business or pleasure.Our dedicated staff will assist if you are in need of photocopying, phone, printing or other business centre services. We are happy to help however way we can. In addition to the traditional hotel services, Mvuli House is a cozy location for conferences and events. We cater for meetings of up to 40 delegates in our conference room and events of up to 100 attendees in our garden. Our dedicated team of conference coordinators will give you personalized service throughout your event. Get in touch with us on if you would like to have a meeting or hold an event at Mvuli House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Tingo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Mvuli House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mvuli House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.