We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ambience and excellent food and service go hand in hand here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Norfolk Hotel

Norfolk Hotel
Kijabi Street, Nairobi, Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)
+254-(0)-20-2216940
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 341 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Nairobi Central Business District
West Palm Beach, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Ambience and excellent food and service go hand in hand here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

I truly enjoyed my recent stay at the Norfolk where the staff (from the chefs to the servers) goes out of its' way to provide you with a memorable dining experience. Whether sampling Kenyan favorites or enjoying Western style fare, I found all of my choices done to perfection. And, the traditionally colonial decor makes this an all-around perfect choice to get the feel of old-time Kenya brought into the 21st century.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    19
    9
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“A fine, albeit expensive, place to eat in Nairobi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

The Delamere Terrace, like most of the Norfolk has been recently renovated. The food has gone up several notches as have the prices. There is a wide variety of cuisines - safe options include the lamb chops; the Arabic Mezzah makes a good starter. Puddings also good and generally food is quite imaginative. Wine list good, with a rarity for East Africa, a good Alsace Riesling. Service good as you would expect from a hotel of its standing and pedigree. You will pay for the food and the historical setting, but it's worth it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Peaceful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Peaceful spot in the heart of the city - a real sense of history and charm. Hint: the French onion soup is the best in East Africa. The pizza, on the other hand, is one of the worst in the region!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Enchanting.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The restaurant (and the hotel, in general) has an enchanting ambience! Because of the fact that it's from the 1900's, we really wanted to visit the Norfolk because of its' history, aside from it's a good and safe place to dine before our further long travel to Masai Mara. We didn't want to be too adventurous with food during the beginning of our safari so we decided on international foods that we are quite familiar with. They have a number of restaurants to choose from. The service was prompt and friendly. Price is also competitive. It's worth a visit when you're around Kenya - wish we have the time to stay next time.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co. Donegal
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A haven of calm in a bustling city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

The Norfolk Hotel is the epitome of old world charm and elegance. The staff are always cheerful and friendly - even the doorman remembers your name. Service is first class and of a high standard. One of the delights is to experience breakfast at a table set on the lawn. Evening drinks on the verandah are also a welcome escape from the frantic city. My only negative comment concerns the pool, which is in shadow in the afternoon, due to its proximity of newly erected tall buildings.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Norfolk Hotel also viewed

 

Been to Norfolk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Norfolk Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.