We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Hot Water” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Kenya Comfort Hotel Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Kenya Comfort Hotel Suites to your Saves list
Kenya Comfort Hotel Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Milimani / Ralph Bunche Road, Nairobi, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 106 Hotels in Nairobi
rabat
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“No Hot Water”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

This hotel is rather dark and the rooms are not exactly beautiful, but the staff is somewhat accommodating and brought me buckets of hot water each morning because there was no hot water in the bathroom. I of course got sick because of the lack of hot water, and when you think about it, it is sick that a three star hotel NOT have hot water! Other than the lack of hot water - a very average hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel and all of the hotels in its general geographic vicinity, as I stayed in a few of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    5
    7
    1
    3
See reviews for
3
4
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

Definitely have to agree with the previous reviewer - this place was a nightmare. We were sent here after their sister hotel in town refused to honour our reservation. It is currently under construction - there are gaping holes in some of the walls and exposed wiring in the lobby. The rooms were dingy, there was no hot water in either of our rooms, and my mosquito net was purely ornamental as it would not close (the other bed in our room didn't even have a net). I ended up getting bitten. We also ate at the restaurant, which resulted in all of us getting sick. I have been living in Kenya for six months, and only upon staying HERE did I get sick!

If you were choosing between this hotel and the one in town, I would certainly recommend the latter. Of course, it's very possible you might arrive there and find they have given your room away to someone else. Best solution - skip Kenya Comfort entirely.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kchensuites, Manager at Kenya Comfort Hotel Suites, responded to this review, August 8, 2011
I have carefully gone through and scrutinized both your reviews, whose facts I would like to clarify.
Firstly, I believe that you are widely travelled and as such you are fully aware of the booking and reservation concepts worldwide “whenever you do a room reservation and don’t pay for it, the booking remains tentative, it will only be blocked if you make a down payment further reservations without payment can be sold if one doesn’t show up between 6.30 to 7.00 pm latest. You returned late at night, what if you didn’t show up at all and the room was kept for you without payment? May be that is why you encounter some issues with Kenyan hotels. Our sister hotel is located in upmarket at suburbs of Milimani and currently undergoing extensive renovations rooms are not dingy with gaping holes though rooms you were allocated are yet to under go renovations. Since I believe you stay in Kenya I request you to come and pin point the holes expenses paid.
The exposed wiring in the lobby is one of the construction requirement in conformity with the laid down government procedures of occupational health and safety act 2007 for safety of the guests staff and other occupiers of the premises.
The bed without mosquito net was as a result of your needs since you were a family and it was your decision to share a room we had to fix an extra bed but if you could have raised the issue with the duty manager, then you could have been given a separate room without any problem.
All meals in the restaurant are freshly prepared. All our rooms are fitted with hot instant water showers and if you don’t correctly regulate the flow of water then you are bound to get wrong water temperatures.
Besides we run a fairly good forum of sorting out our guest issues as we have a 24 hour duty manager and all other senior managers are on call if one feels dissatisfied
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2010

Old building, old furniture, dangerous bathroom, mysterious food, bad and dangerous neighbourhood and the hotel is a great place for prostitutes. You can pick the "ladies" from the bar and lobby.
Stay away from this hotel!

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kchensuites, Manager at Kenya Comfort Hotel Suites, responded to this review, October 25, 2010
This contribution is absolutely incorrect. Our building is up to standard with very spacious rooms. Furniture is well maintained and fully functional. In fact the property is under renovation to be a better 3 star property within the next one year.

Our hotel is at the outskirts of the city center with a very good neighborhood. From city centre our immediate neighbor is an hotel our next neighbor is a plot with very beautiful trees neighboring it is Department of Defence. The other neighbor is an undeveloped plot which will be developed, soon next to it is State house
We don’t have a balcony and our bar largely serves in-house guests because it’s a little bit out of town. There is no surrounding activity which can attract prostitutes at all.

Above all there was no any complaint lodged with our manager regarding food quality.

What we have learned is that infact these were. Dutch guests who had paid dearly to their agent to be booked in a five star hotel. They had negative comments about our paintings on the wall saying that they were advertising prostitution. The truth of he matter is that these are painting of Masaai women portraying their true culture owing to the fact that this is the tribe which has really treasured and maintained its true culture, we feel to be associated with them by putting some of their painting on the walls.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springdale, Arkansas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2010

We stayed here after arriving in Nairobi and before transferring to Arusha for Safari. Not many reviews so I wasn't sure what to expect, but the price was right. This place isn't super fancy, but it's spacious and the kitchen has electric kettles, utensils, toaster, etc. Would not be a bad place to stay for an extended period in that you could take advantage of this kitchen. Furnishings were pretty simple but there was a table and chairs and a couch, small TV, and two beds (a double and a twin), and we got the cheapest option (studio suite I think). Hotels in Nairobi are $$ but this is a good value. Also, there is a restaurant that is open 24 hrs and we had already eaten dinner, but the food looked good. Also a small attached bar. We did have the breakfast included and it was pretty good. Cereals and toast and sausage and cooked to order eggs and great potatoes, and fruit. I would stay here again. Although, they say they have wifi but it was slow as hell when we tried to use it, and only in the restaurant area, but I think this is typical in east Africa.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2009

First, the suites/hotel were nowhere near comfortable as the bathroom was in such a messy state. Perhaps luck was not on our side so as to get this room but it was so terrible and efforts to get this addressed were futile.
The restaurant was no good but luckily we did not have such high expectations.

So it's best you do not have such expectations of service and comfort as you would in a western hotel otherwise you'd be disappointed.
I would not return to this place at all costs.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2009

This represents good value in Nairobi and I have stayed here many times over the eyars. The rooms (especially the suits) are large and reasonably comfortable. There is also 24 hour room service, the staff are friendly and it is a short trip into town.

The TV slection isn't great and it can be noisy at times.

Well worth the money, especially for longer stays.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2009

We had to rush back from our safari because of my daughter becoming very ill. I had seen this hotel from when we stayed at the awful Kivi Minimani Hotel as it is close by.
We had no booking but the staff here bent over backwards to help us. They gave us a huge room which had a kitchen and very comfy beds.
They tried to find a doctor for us but couldnt but was so very good of them to try. In the end we took her to the hospital. The staff at the hotel got us a cab and also helped me with my daughter as she was so sick by now.
We decided to stay 3 nights and once again it was no problem for the staff to change this.
The kitchen was just a bonus as I could cook my daughter some pasta etc as she started to get better. There was a fridge also and a TV in the room.
I left some laundry in the room as I forgot to call them to collect it.. No problem the cleaners took it and delivered it the next day. rooms were lovely and clean. The bathroom was ok but the tiles in the bath tub were a bit shabby.
There was also a nice restaurant down stairs with a buffet lunch. The food was ok but we didnt like the taste of the sandwiches we ordered as they saturated the bread in margarine.
Overall this hotel was fantastic. Its cheaper then the Kivi Milimani with far more facilities and lovely staff..

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kenya Comfort Hotel Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenya Comfort Hotel Suites

Address: Milimani / Ralph Bunche Road, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 106 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kenya Comfort Hotel Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kenya Comfort Hotel Suites is up market with 64 spacious suites, all en-suite and equipped with kitchens. The smallest suite is an open plan layout of 400 sq ft, with larger One, Two or Three Bedroom options available. A special ground floor suite is available for physically challenged guests. All the Suites are furnished with settees & dining tables plus the kitchens are equipped with basic cutlery, crockery, kettles, toasters, microwave, electric cookers and refrigerators. The guest facilities at the Suites include a Solar Heated Swimming Pool & Outdoor Jacuzzi, Safe Deposit Box Facility, Mini Internet Cafe, Parking Area and a 100 pax Ground Floor Conference Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Venere, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kenya Comfort Hotel Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kenya Comfort Hotel Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.