We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cosy place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ol-moran Tented Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ol-moran Tented Camp
Cerca de Ololaimutia gate | Masai Mara National Reserve, Nairobi 00502, Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 91 Specialty lodging in Nairobi
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A cosy place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Even though this is a tented camp the rooms have permanent in-suit bathrooms, which was nice. Warm water and electricity are only available during specific times, which was problematic when we arrived home early one day. However, they can turn the heat on if you ask (as we realized afterwards). This was a very cosy place with nice food and friendly staff. The camp is located within the Masai Mara so it was really close to go from the camp to the actual safari sites. We had been informed that the room would be equipped with a mosquito net, but when we came there our room did not have a net... Luckily we had brought one of our own, which could be a good idea as many of the other camps we stayed at did not have one either.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    37
    13
    6
    2
See reviews for
19
26
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Ol-moran is a tented camp not far from the Maasai mara entrance gate. It is run by the Maasai. The tents are clean and very comfortable.The foods are local and good. We went there with four people. We used Aslan Adventure Tours & Travel which was an excellent choice. The driver provided us with useful information and the car was clean and well maintained.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington Hills, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

This is a tented camp outside the Masai Mara national reserve. We booked this one as it came up the cheapest option for us. It is outside the park so entrance fees are $10 more per person per day but it still came out to be cheaper. The service was excellent and so was the food. The chef took into account her preference and served us indian dinner the 2 nights that we were there. Also, the omelette station in the morning was excellent and so were the boxed lunches. He also have us an extra order of fries since we had kids who tend to get hungry more often than us.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
774 reviews 774 reviews
225 hotel reviews
Reviews in 273 cities Reviews in 273 cities
432 helpful votes 432 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We had requested mid-range accommodation which I think accurately reflects Ol Moran. It is a small resort with basic and a little bit dated but comfortable tents which have en suite bathrooms. We stayed for two night, the bed was comfortable, the tent had an en suite bathroom, and there was electricity to charge things.

We had been camping in very basic tents for a while so the Ol Moran resort was fine for us. If you've stayed in other parks for the same price however you might be disappointed - accommodation in the Mara is generally extremely expensive so you do get less for your money.

Elizabeth gave us a warm welcome and we were showed to our room. The food served was fine - I especially liked the macaroni cheese at lunch one day. It's a small place so there was not as much choice as in bigger resorts.

It is not within the Masai Mara park but is a 5-10 minute drive from the gate.

Staff were generally friendly and attentive , although some of the restaurant staff were a bit downbeat. We had a problem with our hot water one day which the staff resolved and were very keen to make sure that we were happy with everything.

Masai warrior looking staff are on hand as security and to help you with your bags. We had a bizarre encounter with one guy who followed us to our tent one night after dinner and seemed to be trying to sell us things which was a bit odd but apart from that everything was fine.

There is no wi-fi but there is a bar area and you can buy drinks to take back to your tent if you want.

If I was staying in the Masai Mara again I would be tempted to stay in a place inside the park but it would be more expensive.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

This was the last of several places we stayed on safari. The tents are fine, the hot water is hot but has a strong smell of rust. The electricity was generator and on early in the morning and evening. The food was very limited but adequate. The main issues we had were the noise and the focus on the locals who seemed to congregate in the center yard in the evening around an old oil barrel that served as a bonfire at night. Those gathered removed the furniture from our porch to sit and talk late into the evening. We asked to be moved due to noise and we were placed directly next to the kitchen which was even louder with loud talking and banging until 12:30am. The generator was to be off by 10:30 but one night the partying in the kitchen and lobby went on past midnight. There is no lobby or central place for guest to relx because the locals are filling the area for guests. There is no wifi or television so, because of this, you are banished to your tent. Since the chairs were removed from the porch, you needed to stay in the tent. No mosquito nets were provided. The Maasai Mara park is the best however, this was no a highlight of our journey.

Room Tip: away from the kitchen probably #6 or #12 not 1 or 9.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Spent three day at the Olmoran tent camping while on safari. . It was amazing! The services was over the top when we first got there after a dust ride we were met with warm wash clothes to clean our hands and face and the some refreshing juice to revive us after our long day of travel. Our tent was nicer than the hotel that I had stayed in while in Paris. Every need was tendered to. It was clean, comfy beds, private bathroom, great food even the lunch they made us for safari. Thank you staff at Olmoran.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

Good setting, close to the gate, comfortable tents, plenty of adequate food. It was about 10 minutes from the gate so easy access. Also it was very peaceful. Once inside the park at lunch the pack lunches for the all day game drive were very filling and nice.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ol-moran Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ol-moran Tented Camp

Address: Cerca de Ololaimutia gate | Masai Mara National Reserve, Nairobi 00502, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 91 Specialty lodging in Nairobi
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is an exclusive and intimate tented camp positioned to make you feel close to nature as much as possible.The camp is situated within the Masai Mara eco system on the banks of Olalaimutia River.Available are 15 spacious tents made up of single, doubles and one honeymooners’ suite. The meals are buffet enjoyed either in the shade of indigenous trees. The culinary affair is indeed one to delight your senses.What one must not miss watching at the camp is the traditional Masai Dance with the bon- fire and during day time one can take part in numerous escapades including adventures in the wild, nature trails and most of all the balloon safaris. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ol-Moran Tented Camp Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ol-moran Tented Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Ol-moran Tented Camp to your Saves list