We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate but not preferred” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ol-moran Tented Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ol-moran Tented Camp
Cerca de Ololaimutia gate | Masai Mara National Reserve, Nairobi 00502, Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 90 Specialty lodging in Nairobi
bristol
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Adequate but not preferred”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

This was the last of several places we stayed on safari. The tents are fine, the hot water is hot but has a strong smell of rust. The electricity was generator and on early in the morning and evening. The food was very limited but adequate. The main issues we had were the noise and the focus on the locals who seemed to congregate in the center yard in the evening around an old oil barrel that served as a bonfire at night. Those gathered removed the furniture from our porch to sit and talk late into the evening. We asked to be moved due to noise and we were placed directly next to the kitchen which was even louder with loud talking and banging until 12:30am. The generator was to be off by 10:30 but one night the partying in the kitchen and lobby went on past midnight. There is no lobby or central place for guest to relx because the locals are filling the area for guests. There is no wifi or television so, because of this, you are banished to your tent. Since the chairs were removed from the porch, you needed to stay in the tent. No mosquito nets were provided. The Maasai Mara park is the best however, this was no a highlight of our journey.

Room Tip: away from the kitchen probably #6 or #12 not 1 or 9.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    37
    13
    6
    2
See reviews for
19
26
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glendale, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Spent three day at the Olmoran tent camping while on safari. . It was amazing! The services was over the top when we first got there after a dust ride we were met with warm wash clothes to clean our hands and face and the some refreshing juice to revive us after our long day of travel. Our tent was nicer than the hotel that I had stayed in while in Paris. Every need was tendered to. It was clean, comfy beds, private bathroom, great food even the lunch they made us for safari. Thank you staff at Olmoran.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

Good setting, close to the gate, comfortable tents, plenty of adequate food. It was about 10 minutes from the gate so easy access. Also it was very peaceful. Once inside the park at lunch the pack lunches for the all day game drive were very filling and nice.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Spent two nights at Ol-Moran on 3 & 4 May 2013 in a standard tent that had a double bed, single bed, private bathroom, tables, power plug and towels. The price was included in the cost of a safari we booked in Nairobi. Plentiful meals provided at breakfast and dinner with a big packed lunch supplied for our full-day game drive. Bar available in the dining area. Electricity and hot water supplied in the evenings from 6pm. Peaceful location with the tents well spaced out. The camp is about a 10-minute drive from the Oloolaimutia gate of the Masai Mara National Reserve, with good game viewing on offer within minutes of the gate. This was my second stay at Ol-Moran and I would stay again. Recommended as mid-range option for a Masai Mara safari.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I’m not a fan of camping and when my family announced on the bus that we were staying in tented accommodation my face must have been a picture!
However, my fears abated when I realised this is more Glamping, tents with real beds and a plumbed in bathroom. Oh, one thing I would say is pack something to sleep in as it can really get chilly at night.
The resort is just outside the Mara and a very short drive will take you to the gate. We were able to fit in 2 drives in our 24 hour pass.
The food was fine and basic, a word of warning though; do not ask for a poached egg, they do them in vinegar!
If you were expecting luxury you may well be disappointed, I was expecting tents so I was happy to have a bed and proper shower!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

After teaching in rural Kenya for two months, my colleagues and I decided to end our trip with Safari. We used PrimeTime safaris who set us up with Ol-Moran Tented Camps. It was a beautiful area with amazing amenities. Meals were included and the dining area was superb. We couldn't have asked for better staff and accommodations. I would highly recommend staying at Ol-Moran; you will feel like you are in a resort in the middle of Masai Mara!

Room Tip: They're all great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thika, Kenya
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Having recently returned from a 4 night stay at Ol Moran on 7th January we need to share our views and also respond to a scathing review from a previous visitor. Before our visit, we actually took the time to check the Ol Moran website ( lets assume internet is available in Europe) to be clear on the accommodation and facilities available - the description "tented camp" along with the rugged roads leading to Ol Moran, suggested to us that there was no 5 star oasis at the end of the path. The word " tent " gave us reason not to expect an expansive 3 bedroom apartment with Van Gogh's dangling from the wall. Did i mention that we checked the website before our visit......therefore we were aware of the electricity and hot water time schedules and consequently were remarkably able to equip ourselves with a torch and shower (together - as 2 people fit comfortably ) within the allocated times. The surrounding grounds were well groomed, and a lion attack on cattle beyond the fence, some 150 mtrs from our tent, gave us a more than adequate feeling of "camping in the bush". The food was of very good quality, and never lacked quantity - additionally we found by asking the staff about the dish gave the opportunity to converse with them to mutual benefit. Overall, in our opinion, Ol Moran more than met our expectations - it certainly was better than identical camps in Australia (actually, we don't have lions, zebras, elephants etc) while sadly, it apparently falls short of identical camps in europe. Well done to the friendly staff of Ol Moran - your efforts were appreciated, and the camp will be strongly recommended to others. Rob and Anne, Australia.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ol-moran Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ol-moran Tented Camp

Address: Cerca de Ololaimutia gate | Masai Mara National Reserve, Nairobi 00502, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 90 Specialty lodging in Nairobi
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is an exclusive and intimate tented camp positioned to make you feel close to nature as much as possible.The camp is situated within the Masai Mara eco system on the banks of Olalaimutia River.Available are 15 spacious tents made up of single, doubles and one honeymooners’ suite. The meals are buffet enjoyed either in the shade of indigenous trees. The culinary affair is indeed one to delight your senses.What one must not miss watching at the camp is the traditional Masai Dance with the bon- fire and during day time one can take part in numerous escapades including adventures in the wild, nature trails and most of all the balloon safaris. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ol-Moran Tented Camp Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ol-moran Tented Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Ol-moran Tented Camp to your Saves list