We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate accommodations” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ol-moran Tented Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ol-moran Tented Camp
Save
You added Ol-moran Tented Camp to your Saves list
Cerca de Ololaimutia gate | Masai Mara National Reserve, Nairobi 00502, Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 106 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Colma, California, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Adequate accommodations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

The tents are basic but comfortable, with a variety of bed arrangements (double, double and twin, 2 doubles and twin, etc.). While the tents are spacious, the arrangement of beds in our tent meant you had to squeeze between beds to reach the (ensuite) bathroom (which was also quite large). The sleeping and bath rooms were clean, but the water situation was not the best. Our tent did not always have running water, and it never had warm water, which, after a drive in the park, is most welcomed.

The food was excellent and served buffet style. Great local dishes. The staff were very helpful, but you had to speak up if you needed something. I had to ask about our water situation several times.

The location is an excellent base for exploring the Masai Mara--it is just minutes away from the gate into the park.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    38
    15
    8
    2
See reviews for
21
29
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

The tents are spacious and clean, the staff is very nice and the location is quite good as it is only 10 min away from Masai Mara entry gate.
There are only 20 tents or so which makes this camp very quiet and peaceful.
I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gent, Oost-Vlaanderen, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

The tents are nice, the food was good and the staff was friendly.
There was electricity most of the time (when we were at the camp).
Very good overall!
But a small drawback is that there's a lot of trees around the camp, so you don't get the views as in other camps.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

We booked through Natural World Safari Tours and were unsure what to expect. We went through the web site in detail. When they drove us up to the front door we were still unsure, then we went inside; greeted with a wonderful introduction. The rooms exceeded our expectation. This was our first experience in a tented camp so the construction and utility to provide true hot water and toliets in tents really works. We enjoyed the bar nightly and ran up quite a bill with 6 adults. They didn't take credit cards for the bar tab so make sure you have enough cash. The food was excellent. We had my wife and 4 kids (age 18 to 23)-they loved it more than us. The most noticeable thing is how quiet it can be in the middle of Africa. The sheer silence of the night, except for animals, put us in a wonderful sleep. Breakfast and dinner were both exception and they also made a great boxed lunch that we enjoyed during our Safari. The memories at Ol-moran will never be forgotten. We traveled all the way from South Carolina USA

Room Tip: We liked the closer tents to the main dining area
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Staying in tents made us feel we were actually living with the animals.It was not everyday that you wake up early morning to the sound of an elephant trumpeting.There was a slight problem with the hot water in the bathroom as it was coming in short spells and then stopping.We called the house keeping ad they said that it was the air pressure problem.But on the whole we would recommend this camp as it completes the safari experience.The rooms were very clean and there were moe problems with insects or mosquitoes.
The food also was good.

Room Tip: Any room is fine as you really get the safari experience staying in a tent
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

this tented camp is very nice and we had very comfortable time there. even though that the electricity timing was short somehow.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

it is nice to stay in a place like a tented camp instead of a building, feel more like in the wild.
They provide self-serviced meals which are the most delicious food I had in Kenya, especially the spaghetti with meat-ball!!! Chef YumYum create many excellent yummy sauce!!
Basically it is safe and all the staff are very nice and helpful. You will miss there when you leave.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ol-moran Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ol-moran Tented Camp

Address: Cerca de Ololaimutia gate | Masai Mara National Reserve, Nairobi 00502, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 106 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is an exclusive and intimate tented camp positioned to make you feel close to nature as much as possible.The camp is situated within the Masai Mara eco system on the banks of Olalaimutia River. Available are 19 spacious tents made up of single, doubles and one honeymooners' suite. The meals are buffet enjoyed either in the shade of indigenous trees. The culinary affair is indeed one to delight your senses. What one must not miss watching at the camp is the traditional Masai Dance with the bonfire and during day time one can take part in numerous escapades including adventures in the wild, nature trails and most of all the balloon safaris. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ol-Moran Tented Camp Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ol-moran Tented Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.