We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ol moran staff..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ol-moran Tented Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ol-moran Tented Camp
Save
You added Ol-moran Tented Camp to your Saves list
Cerca de Ololaimutia gate | Masai Mara National Reserve, Nairobi 00502, Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 107 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Ol moran staff..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

we stayed in Olmoran tents for 2 days. As we are vegetarians ;we had instructed the staff about our choices of no bird/no animal meat . the staff; particularly Jane (I must mention she is very sweet ) provided us veg food keeping in mind our tastes,,thank you so considerate of them....

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    38
    16
    8
    2
See reviews for
21
30
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Radom, Poland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

The staff were friendly and welcoming. Quality of accommodation, meals, staff and prices is very good. I recommend this lodge for you.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

We stayed here not by choice and were a bit disappointed. The location of the Ol-Moran was good in terms of being very near to the entrance of the park and we saw baboons in the gardens, However, for only a little more you can stay at a much nicer lodge in the park.

The staff were friendly and welcoming. However, the tents were very basic, the bed was uncomfy and to get any hot water you need to leave it running for 7 minutes first. The food was bland and not enjoyable.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

Stayed at this camp recently (August 2011). Quality of accommodation, meals, staff were exscellent. A good location close to the entry gate to masi mara park. Note no swimming pool at this location

Room Tip: Ask for a tent furthest from the dinning and lounge area
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geldrop, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

We already travelled a lot and stayed in a lot of lodges. The olmoran is compared to that in price/.quality the average. The tents were nice, the staff friendly,Some minors are: abig television screen in teh lobby is disturbing the äfrican"ambiance we expected. You are not going to Massai Mara to watch european television on a big screen with a lot of noise in the middel of nowhere. The bulbs in the lobby/restaurant look very white. Without any extra investments it is very easy to create a better atmosphere. So my rating for the lobby is poor. During the game drive the lunch box was filled with overdated food and drinks. So check this before you leave. When this two things are resolved we would rate this camp better.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

Excellent choice of place to stay if visiting the Mara because:

Its close to the reserve (5-10 minutes)
Staff are friendly and always willing to chat
The food is great (especially the outdoor BBQ under the stars)

Be warned that electircty and hot water don't run all the time.

Room Tip: Being my first time to the Masai Mara I was usure of what to expect (also considering i prefer 5 sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nairobi
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

As a tour operator,I've been to many places and this is one of the good ones.
The price is definitely worth what you get.
Staff are very friendly with everyone having a smile on their lips.
It's been said that the little things make the difference and Ol-moran have really taken that into account:as soon as you reach there a warm towel and a cup of cool juice await you as you check into the establishment.
For the soccer lovers,dont worry coz there's a t.v connected to dstv so you dont miss any of the matches
The tents and the bathrooms are pretty clean and user-friendly
Landscape has been done very well.
And the best part is at night, staying awake listening to all the wild noises makes the whole trip so much enchanted.
P/S: Make sure you request for the bonfire maasai dance !!it's really an awesome experience
The food though lacking in variety is well cooked
noticed complains about the generator in the previous comments but have to say that the generator is very silent

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ol-moran Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ol-moran Tented Camp

Address: Cerca de Ololaimutia gate | Masai Mara National Reserve, Nairobi 00502, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 107 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is an exclusive and intimate tented camp positioned to make you feel close to nature as much as possible.The camp is situated within the Masai Mara eco system on the banks of Olalaimutia River. Available are 19 spacious tents made up of single, doubles and one honeymooners' suite. The meals are buffet enjoyed either in the shade of indigenous trees. The culinary affair is indeed one to delight your senses. What one must not miss watching at the camp is the traditional Masai Dance with the bonfire and during day time one can take part in numerous escapades including adventures in the wild, nature trails and most of all the balloon safaris. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ol-Moran Tented Camp Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ol-moran Tented Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.