We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There are better” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ol-moran Tented Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ol-moran Tented Camp
Save Saved
You added Ol-moran Tented Camp to your Saves list
Cerca de Ololaimutia gate | Masai Mara National Reserve, Nairobi 00502, Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 95 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“There are better”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

There are wonderful places to stay in the Mara, friendly staff and great food. THIS IS NOT ONE OF THEM. I was in one of the newer tents...no light in the toilet, no hot water in the shower. The food was mediocre and the staff acted like they couldn't wait for us to get out of the dining room. Although this is considered a budget camp, they will find ways to get money out of you, just order from the bar...1000 shillings for a coke and a gin and tonic. Really.

Room Tip: There is no path or needless to say, path lights, to some of the tents.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    38
    14
    7
    2
See reviews for
20
29
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dartford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

My partner & I stayed here for two nights back in February as part of a weeks safari for my 40th Birthday. The grounds the camp are set in is in the heart of the Masai Mara and are amazing, like being in the wilderness and very relaxing. I liked wandering around the grounds or sitting around reading a book and listening to the sounds at night was great. It was very surreal! The accomodation was comfortable and clean and the buffet food quite basic, but good enough after a long days safari. The bar was good and stocked plenty of coke and beer. The staff were friendly and welcoming and there was always someone around the grounds which made you feel safe and secure. Talking to the Masai boys who worked there was lovely. It really gave us an insight into their life listening to their life stories which is a world away from the life we live.

I would say improve the choice of food, get a small pool as I longed for somewhere to cool down and Ol Moran would by 5 stars, thoroughly loved it there. Can't wait to come back again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

After looking through the camp brochure we were given before our safari, we were looking forward to our stay in this camp but unfortunatly it didn't live up to the photos, although the tents were clean and comfortable and the bathrooms more than adequate the dark canvas made them very dull inside even in daylight. The generator which provides electricity for the camp can be quite noisy at night but switches off at 10.30pm - note, the electric goes off then also. Some of our group were wakened by it switching on again at 5.30am, but handy if you want to go on an early morning game drive! The setting of the camp is attractive and the communal lounge area is bright and airy. The 2 new luxury tents are worth the extra cost, light and spacious, beautiful wooden floors and verandas and luxurious bathroom/shower areas. The food was a bit limited but tasty. Because this camp is near the Oloolaimutia Gate and outside the Mara, it is quite a distance to travel to the better game drive areas, which are beside the Mara river. However, we saw a large variety of animals, including a cheetah chasing and killing a wildebeest, without going very far into the Mara

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the the luxury tents
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

I stayed two nights at ol moran tented camp and only have good things to say about the place! The food is delicious (especially the panncakes) and the staff is very welcoming and friendly. You stay in tents with your own bathroom attached to it, but frankly the tents are more like real houses, so if you want to go out camping, then this might not be the place. Lovely though, I would recommend it!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

Ol Moran tented camp is great. Nice little tented rooms, dotted across a landscaped garden. Nice big common area, with a lounge and a dining room. Well stocked bar, with very reasonably priced drinks. Decent dinner, and excellent omeletes for breakfast. Only complaint is the lack of hot water, but then again, with limited electricity, it might be too much to ask for. Mosquitos and flies are less of a problem than another camp where some of our friends were stating, and can be easily defeated with a bit of coil and spray action. Overall, a great experience.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

When we booked a safari to visit the maasai mara, we were told we would sleep in a tented camp. At first we were a bit skeptical being the first time to sleep in tent. However when we arrived at the olmoran tented all this changed. First, at the spacious lounge we were met by very friendly and welcoming staff with a glass of juice which was very refreshing after some 5 hrs of driving from Nairobi. When we were taken to the tents, it was unbelievable, what met us were neatly made wooden beds with white sheets, the bathrooms were clean and the showers had hot water. After freshening up we had a wonderful buffet lunch at the lounge. On our second day after our visit to the mara river, the camp manger showed us the new luxury tents that were almost ready for use. These tents are quite spacious and very cozy furnishing, we learned that while staying in these tents you can have room service at an extra cost. The tents we used had also recently been refurbished and they were pretty comfortable.
During our 2 nights stay we had delicious meals all the time and even though we were told we had a choice between the ready buffet and ordering for a meal, we choose to have the buffet as the choice in variety was sufficient for us. By the time we checked out on day 3 our ideas of sleeping in a tented camp had been completely changed! This is a place we would love to visit again and again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

Good tented camp, no doubt about it. The tent is not beautiful, but it's clean and comfortable. The restaurant area is nice and the staff is very good. Just one problem one day: the generator was working from 1 to 3 am, and it was very noisy. For the rest, everything perfect.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ol-moran, Manager at Ol-moran Tented Camp, responded to this review, May 23, 2011
I hereby thank Vidalson and all others clients who have reviewed our camp on this highly respected site. We did take Widalson review very seriously and the camp is undergoing refurbishment of the tents in addition to putting up more luxurious one"s.

As for issue of the generator running almost the whole night we do Apologise for not having informed you and the others that, that night we hand a client who was breathing through the assistance of an electric machine and hand request us have it on in order for him to continue charging the it.

We assure such a thing will not happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ol-moran Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ol-moran Tented Camp

Address: Cerca de Ololaimutia gate | Masai Mara National Reserve, Nairobi 00502, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 95 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is an exclusive and intimate tented camp positioned to make you feel close to nature as much as possible.The camp is situated within the Masai Mara eco system on the banks of Olalaimutia River.Available are 15 spacious tents made up of single, doubles and one honeymooners’ suite. The meals are buffet enjoyed either in the shade of indigenous trees. The culinary affair is indeed one to delight your senses.What one must not miss watching at the camp is the traditional Masai Dance with the bon- fire and during day time one can take part in numerous escapades including adventures in the wild, nature trails and most of all the balloon safaris. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ol-Moran Tented Camp Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ol-moran Tented Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.