We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A magical experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ol-moran Tented Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ol-moran Tented Camp
Save Saved
You added Ol-moran Tented Camp to your Saves list
Cerca de Ololaimutia gate | Masai Mara National Reserve, Nairobi 00502, Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 94 Specialty lodging in Nairobi
Cornwall England
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“A magical experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of a package arranged by Natural World Tours and Safaris Mombasa (see separate review) and what a wonderful experience it was. The staff were welcoming and friendly, and as it was slightly off season there were only a few other guests and we had almost one to one service.
We really enjoyed the food, freshly cooked, again as there were few guests we all ate together so the buffet was not hanging around for long periods. Soup, a choice of meat or fish, and fruit dessert. Drinks were expensive compared to Mombasa beach resorts (300ksh for a Tusker) but this area is seriously remote, a 5 hour drive from Nairobi.
The tents are fine, electricity is by generator so only on when it gets dusk, there is a porch with 2 chairs and a light outside, and a mirror on a canvas hanger, very rustic but quite novel and all part of the experience!
The private bathroom is a concrete building at the back of the tent with shower sink and toilet, again fairly rustic but that is what we wanted. We couldn't get the hot water to work but really it was not a problem, if we had gone back to reception/bar I am sure they would have explained it again, something about turning the red lever but it just didn't matter to us. Cold was fine, this is Africa.
The camp is about 5 minutes from the Mara gate and we heard plenty of wild sounds coming from the bush in the night. There is a Masai village nearby which we did not visit as we heard bad reports about a $25 entrance fee and aggressive selling techniques there.
The only slight niggle was the double bed which had a prounounced dip in the middle, on the second night I moved to the single bed and got a perfect nights sleep.
This is not a 'luxury' camp and if this is what you are after look elsewhere. For most true travellers however it provides a truly wonderful experience and I will remember my visit for the rest of my life. Recommendations do not come higher than that.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    37
    13
    7
    2
See reviews for
20
27
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2010

If you are looking for a better-than-budget camp, check this property out. I've stayed at Acacia Camp and Mara Sidai, and this one is a few steps above. The tents are spacious and the bathrooms are great... large shower and very hot water. The beds are comfortable, and extra blankets are provided, if necessary. Beware of the resident monkeys - we woke to find one rummaging in the fruit basket that was left on a table. Just be sure to zip your tent all the way, to keep these creatures out!

The food here is typical - nothing great, nothing to complain about. The service is great - very accommodating and kind. My daughter was celebrating her birthday, and management provided a cake, presented by the staff in a traditional manner. We even had a bush dinner one night, around a campfire. It was all great!

I was pleasantly surprised by our game driver, David. We were the only two passengers (!!) and he was fabulous. David went out of his way to make sure we got great photos of the game, and he seemed to have an uncanny ability to find leopards! We saw 3 in 2 days. I couldn't have asked for anyone better.

Definitely check this camp out if you are looking for something better than budget camping. I wouldn't hesitate to return. The only thing I would say to avoid is the Masai camp located close to the entrance of the reserve. It is a rip off - $20USD pp to get in. Once done touring the village and watching the young men dance and sing, you are ushered through the village to the market where you will encounter the most aggressive sales tactics imaginable. It borders on invasive and is definitely uncomfortable. Just a heads up!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2010

I stayed at the camp with some 7 friends. we were warmly received on arrival with a glass of juice. we stayed for 2 nights, the food was fresh and delicious.
the rooms are good with cormfortable beds with white bed sheets. the showers give you plenty of hot water and you can shower any time.
in the evening we could relax over a drink in the louge which is quite spacious.

on our second night a bush dinner was arranged and we requested for a masai dance which was provided. it was a wonderful time we shared with friends. the staff were friendly and would assist any time we called.

for the price, it was really a very good bargain.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubai
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2010

We stayed two nights in the camp. We were expecting to enter into a luxury tented camp, inside the Masai Mara as mentionned on their web site but it is completely wrong.
There is no reception, no boutique, no animation (for example, on their web site, they mentionned traditional masai Dance, not seen during our two days/nights, balloon safari idem, etc). very disapointful and misleading.
The camp is NOT inside the Masai Mara as indicated on the web site but at 20 minutes from the park entrance.
The level of comfort is very poor (the "bathroom" is not well designed, no miror, no curtain for the shower so everything is imediately flooded, toilet was not in a good shape, we got only two towel for three), there was no light on the "terasse" (light was removed or broken), only one inside the tent and even no candle for night (generator stop at 10h30).
we book for three (with my spouse and 5 Yo son) and the tent was full with one double bed and three single beds (was a kind of storage?) so no place at all for any kind of table (look at the picture on their web site, it is nicely furnished), no chair, etc...
The food was also very disapointing, the "soi disant" buffet was not a buffet at all but a single menu (in two days, it was almost the same).
When arriving, I have asked for the key of our tent and was told in a very unfriendly manner by the manager "Don't ask for the key" because it is safe there (i believe it is supposed to be safe in every hotel in the world while this is the first time In my life (and I travel a lot worldwide) that i could not get the key of my room).

The worst experience of my long carrier of traveller.
The worst being that I could have booked much better for the same price but I was even ready to pay more because we were looking for comfort and have been badly influenced by their web site.
For sure I would not recommend this tented camp but it seems it is relatively known as there was nearly nobody (5 people including the three of us the first night and few more the day after).

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2010

i was initially sceptical about staying in a tent, but was pleasantly surprised. this is a great option for those who prefer a slightly more rustic experience (or want to avoid expensive hotel costs) but still want a clean, comfortable place to stay. in our tent the bathroom was nice and clean, the hot water plentiful, the bedding new and crisp, the insects almost non-existent, the food/bar was very good and the service was great! expect to be greated with a warm towel and juice upon arriving. really for the price, this is a quality place i would recommend to anyone. and it's only 15 mins from the park entrance.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2009

I stayed with three friends for two nights at Primetime Safari's Ol Moran Tented Camp in the Mara. The tent bandas are very clean and actually contain permanent bathrooms! The food was good and the staff was very welcoming. They have a knew lobby and bar area that is very nice to lounge in after a day of driving in the park. The bar even has cold beers. The staff mentioned that they will be putting in a swimming pool within the next year, which will make this an even greater place to stay. -Joe

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mombasa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2009

the camp in a good location with zizeable tents, clean beddings and newly tiled bathrooms.the staff are welcoming and friendly. the food is also quite good and no where in their website do they suggest that they are a luxury tented camp.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ol-moran Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ol-moran Tented Camp

Address: Cerca de Ololaimutia gate | Masai Mara National Reserve, Nairobi 00502, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 94 Specialty lodging in Nairobi
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is an exclusive and intimate tented camp positioned to make you feel close to nature as much as possible.The camp is situated within the Masai Mara eco system on the banks of Olalaimutia River.Available are 15 spacious tents made up of single, doubles and one honeymooners’ suite. The meals are buffet enjoyed either in the shade of indigenous trees. The culinary affair is indeed one to delight your senses.What one must not miss watching at the camp is the traditional Masai Dance with the bon- fire and during day time one can take part in numerous escapades including adventures in the wild, nature trails and most of all the balloon safaris. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ol-Moran Tented Camp Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ol-moran Tented Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.