We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Karen Camp

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Karen Camp
Save
You added Karen Camp to your Saves list
Marula Lane, off Karen Road | Karen, Nairobi, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 105 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Average...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2011

Rooms could be cleaner and are dated/sparsely furnished.

People are nice but place has general dingy feel of neglect.

"Free Wifi" turned out to be not only a usb dongle with sim card (not Wifi) but also not free!!
As this is advertised as bold on the website its a bit cheeky.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    14
    16
    6
    2
See reviews for
3
13
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2010

You get what you pay for. The price for a basic room is reasonable for Karen and includes a full breakfast. The room I stayed in was clean and offered a non working outlet, plenty of storage space, mosquito net, and shower with no hot water. As I had traveled to Nairobi to relax for a few days, I was mildly disappointed. The staff however, are very welcoming and aim to please. If you are looking for a quiet place to stay, this may not be the place for you as this is a frequent "watering hole" for the ex-pates and also a base for overland safari groups. All in all, I would only recommend Karen Camp to budget minded backpackers.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
259 helpful votes 259 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2010

If you find yourself stuck in Nairobbery . . . I mean Nairobi and want to avoid the city centre then Karen Camp isn't too bad a place to stay if you're on a tighter budget. They have camping space in the garden, dorm rooms in a building out the back and a range of en suite and shared bathroom bedrooms in the main house. It is also used as a stop by a few of the overland truck companies. Karen is about 30 minutes drive from the airport and city centre on the outskirts of the Nairobi National Park.

We had an en suite room with double bed and mosquito net which set us back $30 a night, not including breakfast. It feels a little bit overpriced as the rooms are a more than a little tired and could do with a bit of a freshen up. The bathrooms in particular look like they haven't been refurbished since the property was built.

Downstairs there's a communal TV lounge which has cable/satellite TV with about 50 channels. There's also a bar which serves a small selection of food (the home made chicken and cottage pies were very tasty). On Wednesday nights the local expats descend on the bar for a fairly lively drink . . . or 6!

The staff are friendly, there's good on site security (which is important in this part of the world) and the gardens are a fairly pleasant spot for a sit in the sun. The owner also has 3 very big but incredibly friendly dogs.

There's no internet access on site, the nearest net cafe is at the local shops, about a 5 minute ride in a taxi. Also fairly close by and reachable by taxi are the Langata Giraffe Centre (well worth a visit if you've never been up close and personal with a giraffe) and the Karen Blixen Museum (vastly overpriced).

In summary - feels a bit overpriced due to the tired condition of the rooms but it's probably the best of the budget options that Karen has to offer.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2010

We stayed here after reading it was 'a spotless hotel' in lonely planet. The sheets were dirty, the bathroom disgusting and there was dog hair all over the furniture. The hostel is miles from anywhere and the surrounding 'gardens' as read in Lonely Planet is a junkyard of old trucks and rubbish. I would never stay here again.

Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mlm2126
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2010

I stayed here as part of an overland group. I upgraded from a tent to a dorm room, which was small, airless, crowded, and featured only one electrical outlet (for four people, with various electronic devices that required charging). The beds, which featured dirty mattresses, lacked mosquito nets, and as a result, I spent a sleepless night swatting mosquitoes. Absolutely miserable.

The surly staff claimed that they had only room room key for the dorm room. I pressed. them on this point, and eventually they handed over an additional key.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2009

This is a great place to say at a very cheap rate. However, it is to an extend limited to people travelling with overland groups. You can easily spend a couple of days between trips there and just relax. Food prices are very reasonable too. However, if you prefer luxury this is definately NOT the place to go.

Stayed October 2009
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2009

The camp is dominated by a number of 'overland' tour companies who start and end their trips here. We stayed here on three seperate occassions over a couple of weeks during a recent trip (due to the logistics of our tour).

On each occassion we had a different room - all were basic but provided what you need when you're only after a cheap bed. We had mosquito nets in one room, not in the other, and one in our final room (not much use when there's two beds). Two rooms were ensuite, one was called ensuite but had a shared bathroom (although only with two other rooms). Managed a hot shower only once whilst visiting, and the other two were unbearably cold! Could do with a more rigorous cleaning routine as the floors seem quite dirty, but the bathroom was always clean and sheets fresh (but well used).

Food is provided, although it's all fairly simple stuff (ie chips). Best I had was a toastie and a pie. You will often have to wait quite a long time for your dinner so order with this in mind! Drinks also avaialble - both drinks and food seem fairly priced in comparison to the other places I stayed whilst in Kenya.

A couple of reviewers have mentioned the location - it's not great for Nairobi but there are a few things in walking distance and most of the cabs we got were relatively cheap. The best thing about the locale is the supermarket about half an hours walk away - very American (serves the large ex-pat community which is big in Karen) and a good place to visit before the start of a trip to stock up.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Karen Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karen Camp

Address: Marula Lane, off Karen Road | Karen, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 105 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Karen Camp Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Karen Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.