We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive and Unsuitable Location (for us)” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Karen Camp

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Karen Camp
Save
You added Karen Camp to your Saves list
Marula Lane, off Karen Road | Karen, Nairobi, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 107 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Expensive and Unsuitable Location (for us)”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a double ensuite room for a couple of nights upon arrival in Nairobi. We thought that USD$50 was too much for the room and that the location was not great for us, hence we did not stay longer as originally planned.

The room we had was not spacious but adequate. It was quite rundown for the price range but the room was reasonably clean. There were no cupboards or a safe in which we could lock our valuables. The wifi worked fairly well in the bar area and there was nice outdoor seating.

Although it is located in a nice neighbourhood, we felt quite isolated out there. This is the main reason we didn't stay for longer. We didn't have our own vehicle and were told by staff that it wasn't a good idea to walk around. However it's location was rubbish for picking up taxis or public transport on the fly. Hence we were initially reliant on taxis that were called by the camp to go anywhere. Interestingly enough, the taxis we caught back were often cheaper than the ones the camp had called for us.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    14
    16
    6
    2
See reviews for
3
13
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

As budget travellers we've stayed at Karen Camp many times and it's now the only place we'll stay on a visit to Nairobi. It has a nice relaxed atmosphere, is cheap and clean. We often bring all our own camping and self-catering equipment but have also stayed in their rooms which are perfectly comfortable and adequate and the food is basic but great and always quick to arrive.
The camp is a little run down but the staff have been there for years and the friendly atmosphere makes it easy to look beyond that.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, Northland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

The camp is in one of the nicest areas of Nairobi and has good security - full time guards at the entrance and a fence. We had the double room with onsite which was very big, but has long since seem better days. The room was also filthy, superficially it looked clean, but after putting my bag under the bed it will never be the same again! The boss never said a word to us, but spent the day barking orders rudely and loudly at the other staff which made the atmosphere a little uncomfortable. The bar was very close to our rooms which made it noisy when the owner used it for a private party. Food was filling but average at best. Some of the staff were nice but none of them go out of their way to help.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

We stayed here for two nights - one night in a double inside room, and the second night camping in the grounds with the overlanding tour we joined.
The camp helpfully arranged a taxi to collect us from the airport, for a resonable price and everything went smoothly. We also made arrangements with the same taxi driver to visit the local Elephant orphanage and giraffe centre.
We arrived a lot earlier than check in time, but after a short wait the friendly staff allowed us to check in anyway, which was brilliant cause we were tired from travelling, and wanted to change our clothes etc.
The room was basic ( a double bed, lamp, open shelves and an ensuite), but very clean and everything you need for a room for the night.
The public areas down stairs, and the bar was also clean and tidy - bar staff friendly and informative, and we ate a few times and found it to be good value for hostel food.
On the second night, a local (extremly drunk) started talking to me at the bar, and then made some very rude comments. Obviosuly, this was not a reflection of my views of Camp Karen as they can not be accountable for the things their customers said - but I was very pleased to note that a bar staff member noticed that the man was being rude and made a point of 'rescuing me', and then finding me in the bar a short while later to apologise for the mans comments and ensure I was ok - I thought that was lovely, and beyond his role as staff member.
Should we return to Nairobi, I would stay here again without hesitation :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

This was my 4th stay at Karen Camp and I have to say to say I really enjoy it here. The staff make the place warm and welcoming so you are happy to put up with a few rough edges. Smiley the taxi driver is great craic and lives up to his name. The only uncomfortable moments came with the way white Kenyans that frequent the place on a social capacity speak to the staff and are, as rule fairly obnoxious to everyone.

Room Tip: Avoid triple, number 11. Next door to resident snorer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Basic place, 3 bunkbeds in a dorm with bathroom, warm shower, proper toilet, mosquito nets. Own safe in room. Good for backpackers. Breakfast not included.
Lounge good, comefey, free snooker table, tv, plug sockets (UK), have to pay for WiFi.
Bus stop, large supermarket and some shops 5 minute walk away.
Friendly staff.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed here with a large group (115 people). We bought the place out. Douglas (the owner) is great and very accommodating. He made sure we were happy and content. He even organized tent and chair rental for us. The staff is wonderful. They have a taxi driver on call, Smiley, who is wonderful. They also have a van driven by Fred if you have a decent size group. Overall a great place that is welcoming and clean. The restaurant serves basic, but good, food and beverages for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Karen Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karen Camp

Address: Marula Lane, off Karen Road | Karen, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 107 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Karen Camp Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Karen Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.