We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic, cheap, fine.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Karen Camp

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Karen Camp
Marula Lane, off Karen Road | Karen, Nairobi, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Basic, cheap, fine.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Basic place, 3 bunkbeds in a dorm with bathroom, warm shower, proper toilet, mosquito nets. Own safe in room. Good for backpackers. Breakfast not included.
Lounge good, comefey, free snooker table, tv, plug sockets (UK), have to pay for WiFi.
Bus stop, large supermarket and some shops 5 minute walk away.
Friendly staff.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    13
    11
    6
    2
See reviews for
2
10
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kampala, Uganda
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed here with a large group (115 people). We bought the place out. Douglas (the owner) is great and very accommodating. He made sure we were happy and content. He even organized tent and chair rental for us. The staff is wonderful. They have a taxi driver on call, Smiley, who is wonderful. They also have a van driven by Fred if you have a decent size group. Overall a great place that is welcoming and clean. The restaurant serves basic, but good, food and beverages for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Always a pleasant place to stay, food is basic but good, rooms are simple and a bit dated but that adds to the charm, would have given a better rating but the prices seem to continue to go up and nothing really seems to change. You don't always get a towel in your room and some beds don't have great fitting mozzie nets. Would always stay there as feels like home away from home but don't come here if you aren't used to roughing it a little bit!

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Great little place, basic but for Africa to have shower n power at the same time is a luxury! The staff are great, the breakfast is very douable! Even the Kenyan Cowboys are a lot of fun n the drinks just flow! Smiley is a asset to the place always there to take you were ever you need to go, n at any time, n any place for a very reasonable price! Will love to go back there in a heartbeat! It's a easy walk to the shops, just cut across the paddocks ask a local, but don't do at night!

Room Tip: Pay the extra n get a ensuite room, there better than the share bathrooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I often use the Karen Camp when I pass through Nairobi; its cheap and comfortable. Always easy to sit out in the front and chat to people passing through. Its not 4 star but then again nor are the prices

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castlebar, Ireland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We waited here for 4 nights in total, at the start and end of our overland trip with tucan travel. we stayed in dorm rooms for 3 nights and camped 1 night and thought it was a great experience. arranged pick up from the airport directly with Karen camp and it was a lot cheaper than other pre arranged pick ups that some people there had arranged. The camp and food is fairly basic but we enjoyed our stay. The staff were very friendly and helpful. the taxi drivers, Smiley and Amos were real gentlemen. nice communal area with bar (nice for chilling out with a few beers) and nice gardens and plenty of hot showers. the camp is also close to the karen shopping centre which has great shopping markets, coffee shops, banks, pharmacies etc.... only negative about the camp is no free wifi.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

It's not luxurious, it's very basic but I stay there often as I need an overnight stay...And sometimes its too much hassle to go into the centre of Nairobi. The biggest downside for me is the lack of wifi. They can arrange airport transfers and I used the same taxi driver to drive me around when I had an afternoon in Nairobi before my return flight.
You are also likely to meet some fascinating people as there are often overland travellers and backpackers staying there that always have a good story to share.
It is difficult to find so take a map for the taxi driver if you don't arrange a taxi through Karen Camp

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Karen Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karen Camp

Also Known As:
Karen Camp Hotel Nairobi
Karen Camp Hotel
Address: Marula Lane, off Karen Road | Karen, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 88 Specialty lodging in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Karen Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Karen Camp to your Saves list