We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rough around the edges but comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Karen Camp

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Karen Camp to your Saves list
Karen Camp
Marula Lane, off Karen Road | Karen, Nairobi, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 134 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Rough around the edges but comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I often use the Karen Camp when I pass through Nairobi; its cheap and comfortable. Always easy to sit out in the front and chat to people passing through. Its not 4 star but then again nor are the prices

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    14
    17
    8
    2
See reviews for
3
14
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Castlebar, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We waited here for 4 nights in total, at the start and end of our overland trip with tucan travel. we stayed in dorm rooms for 3 nights and camped 1 night and thought it was a great experience. arranged pick up from the airport directly with Karen camp and it was a lot cheaper than other pre arranged pick ups that some people there had arranged. The camp and food is fairly basic but we enjoyed our stay. The staff were very friendly and helpful. the taxi drivers, Smiley and Amos were real gentlemen. nice communal area with bar (nice for chilling out with a few beers) and nice gardens and plenty of hot showers. the camp is also close to the karen shopping centre which has great shopping markets, coffee shops, banks, pharmacies etc.... only negative about the camp is no free wifi.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

It's not luxurious, it's very basic but I stay there often as I need an overnight stay...And sometimes its too much hassle to go into the centre of Nairobi. The biggest downside for me is the lack of wifi. They can arrange airport transfers and I used the same taxi driver to drive me around when I had an afternoon in Nairobi before my return flight.
You are also likely to meet some fascinating people as there are often overland travellers and backpackers staying there that always have a good story to share.
It is difficult to find so take a map for the taxi driver if you don't arrange a taxi through Karen Camp

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Karen Camp was the start of my African trip with Tucan, and I booked an extra day there. It was great when I got through customs and there was Smiley holding my name on a sign to take me to Karen Camp. In other words, take advantage of the hotel taxi deal, which you can book through the internet. That was an easy and fast email. The staff was helpful and hooked me up with a "dongle" so I could get internet and use my laptop to email home. They also gave us ideas of what to do with an extra day, so 3 of us went to the elephant orphan place and the giraffe center, as well as a zoo. I had a single room with a shared bathroom and it was comfortable and reasonable. The next night, I was with the group in tents, and big dogs (docile during the day) disturbed my sleep with barking. There are areas where you can have food or drinks and get to know other travelers.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Karen Camp is a great stop if you're doing a long trip and want some down time. It's not so far from central Nairobi that you can't get there fairly easily by bus or taxi, but far enough that you can choose to have a break if you want to. The facilities are fairly basic, but the showers are usually hot, and there are plenty of them. There's plenty of space in the large, pretty garden to pitch your own tents, or you can get a dorm, room or one of their permanent tents, all of which are comfortable, if not luxurious. The bar, food and communal areas are all really nice and the staff are welcoming, friendly and helpful. The area of Karen itself is also nice for a wander around and has a good range of shops, bars and so on.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

As a backpacker Karen Camp is good. Although the rooms are basic, they still have mosquito nets. It is slightly further of central Nairobi, in a calmer more Ex-pat area. A fair walk, or a quick taxi ride into Karen with all the amenities. There was internet, a pool table, and a tv we could use. They allowed us to call delivery and organised it for us. As a camper aswell there are separate showers and toilets for us to use. Everyone was pretty helpful around, and the dogs didn't bother us at all!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

I stayed at Karen camp about six years ago, and nothing has changed.
There is still no wifi, the rooms are very basic, and there are big dogs hanging about.
That said, given the lack of choice of decent budget accommodation in this part of Nairobi, the location and helpfulness of the staff made the stay.
They arranged airport picks for us and we could also organise cars once there which was great.
The Only real down side was that we could not access the Internet so were not able to arrange our onwards travel.
This is a fine choice if you want a budget room in the Karen area, however as with most of Nairobi it's not particularly cheap.
Could do with a good clean and upgrade.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
1.6 mi away
House of Waine
House of Waine
#1 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 177 reviews
8.7 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#3 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 408 reviews
1.9 mi away
Karen Country Lodge
Karen Country Lodge
#9 of 134 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cold Springs Karen Boutique Hotel
8.1 mi away
Nairobi Serena Hotel
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#10 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 603 reviews
8.3 mi away
Sankara Nairobi
Sankara Nairobi
#14 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karen Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karen Camp

Address: Marula Lane, off Karen Road | Karen, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 134 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Karen Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karen Camp Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Karen Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.