We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tamambo Karen Blixen

Tamambo Karen Blixen
Karen Road, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
0719346349
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 317 restaurants in Nairobi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

Tamambo Karen Blixen is exceptional, my wife and I love the place, it's our favorite restaurant their food is great, especially their Mambrui(oysters) their pork spare ribs are succulent, when they see me they have to organize a spare ribs plate for me! The Ambience is awesome, I just love Tamambo. Jimmy

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    149
    87
    25
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic and Varied Food Choices in Karen, Nairobi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

My partner and I visited Tamambo as part of our visit to Nairobi, we were staying in the Hemingways Hotel just down the road and this was a nice alternative to eating in the hotel.
There were options to dine both inside and out, when we visited there was also a wedding function going on, this only added to the atmosphere.
The menu was varied and also substantial. We were meeting with members of the KTB (Kenyan Tourist Board), they had suggested this restaurant as a meeting place and we were certainly not disappointed.
There was also a good choice of fine wines to accompany the meal as well as a good selection of scotch to finish off the end of a thoroughly enjoyable evening.
Finally I just highlight the service, it was very friendly and also professional.
I would thoroughly recommend this restaurant to any friends and colleagues who visit this area of Nairobi.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Quiet evening Getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

My husband and I have been to Tamabo Karen Blixen severally. We once attended a wedding held there and the food was exceptional. We have also previously been at the restaurant they had at THE MALL which unfortunately closed. It was just as good and we spent many birthdays and special occasions there. The food and service is always awesome.
We were at Tamambo Karen Blixen just last weekend and it was amazing. We were welcomed well by the staff and asked about our seating preference upon which they took us to a slightly secluded lounge which was wonderful. Amazing food as always. Keep up the good work

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Pleasant setting for lunch outdoors”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

While on a visit to Karen Blixen's house, we decided to go next door to have lunch. A very charming place to spend a couple of hours in the afternoon enjoying the outdoor setting over a glass of white wine and a light lunch! Highly recommend.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Awesome services.........”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

I was most impressed by the hospitality staff.It is not hard to conclude that the Tamambo team is ready to go the extra mile to make sure that their clients are not only happy but satisfied.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tamambo Karen Blixen also viewed

 

Been to Tamambo Karen Blixen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tamambo Karen Blixen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.