We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent lunch for visitors” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tamambo Karen Blixen

Tamambo Karen Blixen
Karen Road, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
+254 719 346349
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 352 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Tamambo Karen Blixen Coffee Garden Restaurant is located in a beautiful peaceful garden setting on Karen Road, on the site of the original Blixen farmhouse property. The Restaurant is open for breakfast from 06.00Am through to 10.00Pm. Diners have a fine choice of different areas for lunch or dinner. There is the indoor restaurant with adjacent outdoor terrace and garden, for a la carte dining. There are also a variety of functions areas such as the Grand Marquee Sultan style tent, available for 'royal style' wedding functions, dinners and conferences. The Grogan House is a lovely space for private dinners and exclusive functions For many Karen residents, the bar which opens out to a shisha lounge is a popular place to meet and mingle with delicious cocktails and bar snacks and satellite TV.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch for visitors”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We had a nice three course lunch in the beautiful garden with linen cloth and a good selection of both food and drink. The tamarind prawns with piri piri were excellent, as was the childrens quesadillas and caesar salad. A tasty bruschetta for starters plus a nice little dessert sampler completed the evidence that this chef knows his/her stuff. Prices are reasonable with European standards and this is the perfect middsy break whilst touring the Karen areas POIs. The place is frequented with tourists and we saw few locals during our time. Only complaint Is that the service was below par, even though the place was just half full. In all fairness, this seemed more of a problem in the kitchen as we saw waitresses hanging around restlesslytelling us that food was on the way. I do however prefer to have my coffee at the same time or after dessert, nor the other way around. All in all, the best eatery we experienced in Kenya to date.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCD51, Director of Sales at Tamambo Karen Blixen, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you very much for review

We are delighted that we were able to deliver both food and service which met your expectations. We highly appreciate your positive feed-back which will go a long way to motivate and encourage us to keep improving on all aspects of our food and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    261
    174
    50
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fitchburg, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Business trip with a retreat setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

The rooms were large and comfortable. The rooms could have been cleaner but the surroundings were exotic. The restaurant was outstanding with a wide range of items. The location is out of the city center not far from the airport.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

We had a great tour of the house, very interesting, the mountains and the trees around it was beautiful. There were lots of shade from the old trees, our guide took us outside and give us a run down of the place, very nice experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackwood, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

On one of our first days in Kenya our group of 19 stopped here for lunch. We were easily accommodated at a long table under a huge tent. The buffet had something for everyone. I especially enjoyed trying some of the regional food offerings. Wait staff was pleasant. Servers at the buffet were eager to have you sample their offerings. The grounds were charming. The artists and their works were impressive and seemed to be priced well. Although I did not purchase art, others in our group did. Soon we were off on our safari adventure!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCD51, Director of Sales at Tamambo Karen Blixen, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you for you for posting a review. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed the buffet lunch and the ambiance of the restaurant. We have shared your comments with our service and kitchen team who will be inspired to continue with their good work. We hope you had a good safari.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

We ate lunch on the lawn under the shade of old trees. The food was good, and the ambience superb. A fitting prelude to visiting the Blixen House.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tamambo Karen Blixen also viewed

 

Been to Tamambo Karen Blixen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tamambo Karen Blixen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.