We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tamambo Karen Blixen

Tamambo Karen Blixen
Karen Road, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
0719346349
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #3 of 300 restaurants in Nairobi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Blackwood, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

On one of our first days in Kenya our group of 19 stopped here for lunch. We were easily accommodated at a long table under a huge tent. The buffet had something for everyone. I especially enjoyed trying some of the regional food offerings. Wait staff was pleasant. Servers at the buffet were eager to have you sample their offerings. The grounds were charming. The artists and their works were impressive and seemed to be priced well. Although I did not purchase art, others in our group did. Soon we were off on our safari adventure!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCD51, Director of Sales at Tamambo Karen Blixen, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you for you for posting a review. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed the buffet lunch and the ambiance of the restaurant. We have shared your comments with our service and kitchen team who will be inspired to continue with their good work. We hope you had a good safari.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    118
    75
    23
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hexham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Chocolate brownies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

November 2013 was our fourth visit to Kenya and we lunched at Tamambo Karen Blixen twice during our stay.
The food and service have always exceeded our expectations, James was our waiter at our last visit, he was courteous and attentive.
On our first visit we had a chocolate brownie, one between two, and considered it to be the 'best chocolate brownie IN THE WORLD'. On each subsequent visit we have made a point of sharing a brownie.
The artwork displayed by the artists in residence, was an added attraction, and we bought a painting from each of them.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCD51, Director of Sales at Tamambo Karen Blixen, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We appreciate your complimentary feed back and are thrilled to hear you think our chocolate brownies are 'The best'! We have shared your remarks with the Tamambo team who will be inspired to provide even better food and service. Once again thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“peaceful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

this is based in karen which is one of the most serene and peaceful places in Nairobi.
its great to go for a lazy sunday lunch or a sundowner....great getaway from the hustle and bustle of the city. dont miss the happy hours :)

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCD51, Director of Sales at Tamambo Karen Blixen, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Tamambo. We are delighted that you find the environment serene and peaceful and enjoy a meal or sundowner.
We look forward to welcoming you back again as soon as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George's, Grenada
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A welcoming staff members, great food, great atmosphere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

The four times I have been at this restaurant are all memorable. The food is great at low prices, and I love the waiters. They are so nice. You just feel at home as you enjoy the great food and service. Every time I fly to Kenya, I just can't wait to get there and eat.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCD51, Director of Sales at Tamambo Karen Blixen, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to post a review and would like to thank you for your compliments. We are delighted to hear that the staff make you feel at home and that you enjoy the food. We shall share your remarks with the Tamambo team to inspire them to continue offering the best of food and service.
Many thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Kinangop
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“friendly waiters and a cool environment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

I enjoyed the serene environment delicious and healthy meals served by hospitable waiters. It is an enjoyable place that I would love to visit again. All staffs, from the entrance to the restaurant give you all the support you need. however the management need to ensure thorough security checks to ensure ill motivated people do not get access to this wonderful place.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCD51, Director of Sales at Tamambo Karen Blixen, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Thank you for your great Trip Advisor Review. We are so glad you enjoy the food and friendly service at Tamambo and we shall share your feedback with all the staff to inspire them. In addition we have noted your comments about security and will take the appropriate action.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tamambo Karen Blixen also viewed

 

Been to Tamambo Karen Blixen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tamambo Karen Blixen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.