We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tamambo Karen Blixen

Tamambo Karen Blixen
Karen Road, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
+254 719 346349
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 384 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Tamambo Karen Blixen Coffee Garden Restaurant is located in a beautiful peaceful garden setting on Karen Road, on the site of the original Blixen farmhouse property. The Restaurant is open for breakfast from 06.00Am through to 10.00Pm. Diners have a fine choice of different areas for lunch or dinner. There is the indoor restaurant with adjacent outdoor terrace and garden, for a la carte dining. There are also a variety of functions areas such as the Grand Marquee Sultan style tent, available for 'royal style' wedding functions, dinners and conferences. The Grogan House is a lovely space for private dinners and exclusive functions For many Karen residents, the bar which opens out to a shisha lounge is a popular place to meet and mingle with delicious cocktails and bar snacks and satellite TV.
Blackwood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

On one of our first days in Kenya our group of 19 stopped here for lunch. We were easily accommodated at a long table under a huge tent. The buffet had something for everyone. I especially enjoyed trying some of the regional food offerings. Wait staff was pleasant. Servers at the buffet were eager to have you sample their offerings. The grounds were charming. The artists and their works were impressive and seemed to be priced well. Although I did not purchase art, others in our group did. Soon we were off on our safari adventure!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Beverly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCD51, Director of Sales at Tamambo Karen Blixen, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Thank you for you for posting a review. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed the buffet lunch and the ambiance of the restaurant. We have shared your comments with our service and kitchen team who will be inspired to continue with their good work. We hope you had a good safari.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

We ate lunch on the lawn under the shade of old trees. The food was good, and the ambience superb. A fitting prelude to visiting the Blixen House.

Helpful?
Thank Lynley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hexham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Chocolate brownies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

November 2013 was our fourth visit to Kenya and we lunched at Tamambo Karen Blixen twice during our stay.
The food and service have always exceeded our expectations, James was our waiter at our last visit, he was courteous and attentive.
On our first visit we had a chocolate brownie, one between two, and considered it to be the 'best chocolate brownie IN THE WORLD'. On each subsequent visit we have made a point of sharing a brownie.
The artwork displayed by the artists in residence, was an added attraction, and we bought a painting from each of them.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CliveK957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCD51, Director of Sales at Tamambo Karen Blixen, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We appreciate your complimentary feed back and are thrilled to hear you think our chocolate brownies are 'The best'! We have shared your remarks with the Tamambo team who will be inspired to provide even better food and service. Once again thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeville, Hawaii
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Not worth the entrance fee”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

This was another disappointment and uninteresting for us. It's nothing more than a house, and we didn't want to pay to go inside so just took a few pictures of the grounds which weren't anything special either.

Helpful?
Thank kauaiswimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Wyoming
Level Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“I'd skip this place unless you want a relaxing but expensive lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

We didn't take the tour - just had lunch, which was good and relaxing but expensive. I would skip this place and spend more time on safari or doing something else.

Helpful?
Thank sandy r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tamambo Karen Blixen also viewed

 

Been to Tamambo Karen Blixen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing