We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tamambo Karen Blixen

Tamambo Karen Blixen
Karen Road, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
+254 719 346349
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 347 Restaurants in Nairobi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Tamambo Karen Blixen Coffee Garden Restaurant is located in a beautiful peaceful garden setting on Karen Road, on the site of the original Blixen farmhouse property. The Restaurant is open for breakfast from 06.00Am through to 10.00Pm. Diners have a fine choice of different areas for lunch or dinner. There is the indoor restaurant with adjacent outdoor terrace and garden, for a la carte dining. There are also a variety of functions areas such as the Grand Marquee Sultan style tent, available for 'royal style' wedding functions, dinners and conferences. The Grogan House is a lovely space for private dinners and exclusive functions For many Karen residents, the bar which opens out to a shisha lounge is a popular place to meet and mingle with delicious cocktails and bar snacks and satellite TV.
Blackwood, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

On one of our first days in Kenya our group of 19 stopped here for lunch. We were easily accommodated at a long table under a huge tent. The buffet had something for everyone. I especially enjoyed trying some of the regional food offerings. Wait staff was pleasant. Servers at the buffet were eager to have you sample their offerings. The grounds were charming. The artists and their works were impressive and seemed to be priced well. Although I did not purchase art, others in our group did. Soon we were off on our safari adventure!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCD51, Director of Sales at Tamambo Karen Blixen, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you for you for posting a review. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed the buffet lunch and the ambiance of the restaurant. We have shared your comments with our service and kitchen team who will be inspired to continue with their good work. We hope you had a good safari.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    253
    168
    49
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

We ate lunch on the lawn under the shade of old trees. The food was good, and the ambience superb. A fitting prelude to visiting the Blixen House.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hexham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Chocolate brownies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

November 2013 was our fourth visit to Kenya and we lunched at Tamambo Karen Blixen twice during our stay.
The food and service have always exceeded our expectations, James was our waiter at our last visit, he was courteous and attentive.
On our first visit we had a chocolate brownie, one between two, and considered it to be the 'best chocolate brownie IN THE WORLD'. On each subsequent visit we have made a point of sharing a brownie.
The artwork displayed by the artists in residence, was an added attraction, and we bought a painting from each of them.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCD51, Director of Sales at Tamambo Karen Blixen, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We appreciate your complimentary feed back and are thrilled to hear you think our chocolate brownies are 'The best'! We have shared your remarks with the Tamambo team who will be inspired to provide even better food and service. Once again thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeville, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Not worth the entrance fee”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

This was another disappointment and uninteresting for us. It's nothing more than a house, and we didn't want to pay to go inside so just took a few pictures of the grounds which weren't anything special either.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Wyoming
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“I'd skip this place unless you want a relaxing but expensive lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

We didn't take the tour - just had lunch, which was good and relaxing but expensive. I would skip this place and spend more time on safari or doing something else.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tamambo Karen Blixen also viewed

 

Been to Tamambo Karen Blixen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tamambo Karen Blixen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.