We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food in Outdoor Garden” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tamambo Karen Blixen

Tamambo Karen Blixen
Karen Road, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
0719346349
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 322 Restaurants in Nairobi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Templeton, California, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Food in Outdoor Garden”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Food and beer were first class. Lunch was in a beautiful garden under a sun umbrella. A perfect lunch after visiting the Karen Blixen house.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    87
    26
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ramsbury Wiltshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Just perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

The ambience, helpful and friendly staff and the really good food makes this warm garden setting an absolute pleasure. We had taken the bus (24) to the Karen Blixen Museum and had been shown around that delightful house and decided to walk up the road to have lunch at the Coffee House. We were really well rewarded and sat in the garden eating and drinking with the quiet "burble" of other guests and the occasional Sacred Ibis sqwark. Outside the bus picked us up and took us slowly back to the city.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“I loved this hotel - the facility is gorgeous, the service is superb and the food is delicious! I highly recommend!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

What a lovely hotel. I'll definitely stay there during my next trip to Nairobi. The rooms are stunning, the grounds are lovely, the staff is attentive and gracious and the good is delicious.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A Lovely Sunday Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We are visiting our son-in-laws family in Nairobi and were taken to Karen Blixen for Sunday lunch.
The setting is delightful, based around an old colonial manor, the gardens where the tables are placed for you to eat are very well maintained.
The staff are well trained, friendly and very attentive.
The menu is quite extensive and the food we had was delicious.
Not fine dining but a lovely way to spend Sunday.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diani Beach, Kenya
2 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We were very impressed with every aspect of this Restaurant. The service was faultless .The succulent buffet was excellent quality, range of flavors and styles with never an empty container to be seen - always well stocked as if no one had sampled the salads, hot dishes etc.The selection in the Ala carte menu is well thought process. Service staff and Management attended to us with a great sense of humour. All staff were at pains to ask if all was well and could not do enough for us. For us it was a discovery and would highly recommend to any family out there who would be looking for excellent meal in an excellent natural set-up.Fresh and very refreshing cool air.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tamambo Karen Blixen also viewed

 

Been to Tamambo Karen Blixen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tamambo Karen Blixen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.