We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant property serving good food in the middle of Karen” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tamambo Karen Blixen

Tamambo Karen Blixen
Karen Road, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
0719346349
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 315 restaurants in Nairobi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Pleasant property serving good food in the middle of Karen”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I’ve taken many international guests to Tamambo for lunch during our outings in Karen, and the food never disappoints. The portion sizes are generous, especially the salads, and the quality of the food has always been great. One tip - you will most likely be sitting outside for lunch or brunch, and it is often quite cold. We always bring extra shawls, but you can also request a chiminea be placed by your table. Great place to relax and enjoy a nice meal!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    144
    87
    24
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Schoten, Belgium
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“delicious food in relax atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Had dinner here on two occasions, and loved it both times.
Start your evening in the bar or garden and enjoy a cocktail before going to the dinner table.
They have good variation in meals so you will certainly find something you like and they are delicious!Friendly staff and a relax atmosphere.
Do try the desserts.I recommend the vanilla icecream with chocolate fudge brownie.Yumm!
If you can't choose go for the sample platter with 5 different desserts.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stewartsville, New Jersey
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stopped here as part of our Collette Safari tour before going to the Karen Blixen Museum. The food was buffet style and everything was excellent. Nice selection and also included some Kenyan cuisine. Best Bread Pudding I have ever had! The outdoor setting was beautiful. Only downside is that if you buy in the gift shop in order to pay with credit credit you have to go to the other side (quite a distance) to pay, plus many of the staff did not know where to show me to go. I wound up not buying because by the time I found it I did not have time before the tour was leaving.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Delicious food, with beautiful gardens”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Fantastic salads and soups. Friendly service and immaculate gardens. Best lunch I have had in Kenya.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stabekk
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Nice place with good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Had lunch in the garden. Friendly service, good food And relaxing place. Just close to the museum And good to combine.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tamambo Karen Blixen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tamambo Karen Blixen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.