We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect sorroundings, good ambience, good food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tamambo Karen Blixen

Tamambo Karen Blixen
Karen Road, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
+254 719 346349
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 360 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Tamambo Karen Blixen Coffee Garden Restaurant is located in a beautiful peaceful garden setting on Karen Road, on the site of the original Blixen farmhouse property. The Restaurant is open for breakfast from 06.00Am through to 10.00Pm. Diners have a fine choice of different areas for lunch or dinner. There is the indoor restaurant with adjacent outdoor terrace and garden, for a la carte dining. There are also a variety of functions areas such as the Grand Marquee Sultan style tent, available for 'royal style' wedding functions, dinners and conferences. The Grogan House is a lovely space for private dinners and exclusive functions For many Karen residents, the bar which opens out to a shisha lounge is a popular place to meet and mingle with delicious cocktails and bar snacks and satellite TV.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Perfect sorroundings, good ambience, good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

Took my partner to Africa for the first time and we visited this place on the fourth day. The food was so lovely and the staff were so polite and attentive. I had grilled lamb with ugali while my partner had tilapia, which she absolutely loved. She loved the setting and spent ages admiring your gardens and taking pictures. It's a bit pricy but totally worth the visit. You won't regret it.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    271
    177
    55
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Out of Africa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

A beautiful place full of history and memories. The restaurant is nice and on Sundays there usually is a band playing jazz music, simply out of Africa! The house with all of Karen Blixen's personal furniture and stuff is just amazing and brings back thoughts of an era long gone.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carcavelos, Portugal
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“TOP QUALITY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Excellent cuisine (meat, fish, shrimps, soup,...), good variety of wines and beers, dedicated personnel (congratulations Joan), neat and clean. Wonderful landscape, interior decoration carefully maintained, crafts' shoppette... Will be back there if/when going to that area.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCD51, Director of Sales at Tamambo Karen Blixen, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to review Tamambo Karen Blixen.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your meal and were pleased with the quality and level of our service. Your positive remarks will be shared with our staff, who will be really motivated to maintain the high standard of food and service.

We thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Lovely day time experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We had lunch here after visiting the Giraffe Centre and the David Sheldrick Wildlife foundation. Its a lovely surrounding and setting, food and service were very good, and there is WIFI! we ordered the Tanzanian fish dish and a green salad. Not cheap at all but worth it really as not all restaurants are up to these standards. We also visited the gift shop which was much cheaper then other places. Worthwhile day visit!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
labinaNairobi, Director of Sales at Tamambo Karen Blixen, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about Tamambo Karen Blixen.

We are delighted you enjoyed meal and were happy with the environment, food and service.

We have shared your review with our team, who will be really motivated by your remarks.

Once again,many thanks for the feedback and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Just average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Sorry but I keep trying and I can't ever feel like the food and service at Karen Blixen is anything other than average. It is quite expensive and yet nothing special. Really needs 'something' to take it to the next level and the new interior is NOT it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tamambo Karen Blixen also viewed

 

Been to Tamambo Karen Blixen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tamambo Karen Blixen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.