We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of Africa” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tamambo Karen Blixen

Tamambo Karen Blixen
Karen Road, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
0719346349
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 314 restaurants in Nairobi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Out of Africa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

A beautiful place full of history and memories. The restaurant is nice and on Sundays there usually is a band playing jazz music, simply out of Africa! The house with all of Karen Blixen's personal furniture and stuff is just amazing and brings back thoughts of an era long gone.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    137
    85
    24
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carcavelos, Portugal
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“TOP QUALITY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Excellent cuisine (meat, fish, shrimps, soup,...), good variety of wines and beers, dedicated personnel (congratulations Joan), neat and clean. Wonderful landscape, interior decoration carefully maintained, crafts' shoppette... Will be back there if/when going to that area.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCD51, Director of Sales at Tamambo Karen Blixen, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to review Tamambo Karen Blixen.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your meal and were pleased with the quality and level of our service. Your positive remarks will be shared with our staff, who will be really motivated to maintain the high standard of food and service.

We thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Lovely day time experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We had lunch here after visiting the Giraffe Centre and the David Sheldrick Wildlife foundation. Its a lovely surrounding and setting, food and service were very good, and there is WIFI! we ordered the Tanzanian fish dish and a green salad. Not cheap at all but worth it really as not all restaurants are up to these standards. We also visited the gift shop which was much cheaper then other places. Worthwhile day visit!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
labinaNairobi, Director of Sales at Tamambo Karen Blixen, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about Tamambo Karen Blixen.

We are delighted you enjoyed meal and were happy with the environment, food and service.

We have shared your review with our team, who will be really motivated by your remarks.

Once again,many thanks for the feedback and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Nice and pricy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Tamambo Karen Blixen is a very nice and cosy place to have lunch. The surroundings are exquisite, the food is a little above average, but the prices are too high compared to the over all quality. Go here for the atmosphere ... actually, you can sip a nice cup of coffee and go somewhere else and have your lunch.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
labinaNairobi, Director of Sales at Tamambo Karen Blixen, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Tamambo Karen Blixen. We are delighted you enjoyed the atmosphere and surroundings but sorry you found the food too pricey. We are always striving to maintain the highest quality of food and service, however we obviously failed to live up to your expectations, for which we apologise. We shall share your remarks with our team who will endeavour to continue to improve.
thank you once again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great food choices, well managed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I had lunch here with a friend the other day and noticed the difference since the owner changed. Staff was very attentive, the service excellent and the menu offers a great choice of fresh and delicious food (appetizers, salads, meat, fish, deserts...). It's the perfect place for lunch because the garden is vast and beautiful and an oasis of peace. I wouldn't necessarily recommend it at night though.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tamambo Karen Blixen also viewed

 

Been to Tamambo Karen Blixen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tamambo Karen Blixen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.