We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of Africa” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tamambo Karen Blixen

Tamambo Karen Blixen
Karen Road, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
+254 719 346349
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 341 Restaurants in Nairobi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Tamambo Karen Blixen Coffee Garden Restaurant is located in a beautiful peaceful garden setting on Karen Road, on the site of the original Blixen farmhouse property. The Restaurant is open for breakfast from 06.00Am through to 10.00Pm. Diners have a fine choice of different areas for lunch or dinner. There is the indoor restaurant with adjacent outdoor terrace and garden, for a la carte dining. There are also a variety of functions areas such as the Grand Marquee Sultan style tent, available for 'royal style' wedding functions, dinners and conferences. The Grogan House is a lovely space for private dinners and exclusive functions For many Karen residents, the bar which opens out to a shisha lounge is a popular place to meet and mingle with delicious cocktails and bar snacks and satellite TV.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Out of Africa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

A beautiful place full of history and memories. The restaurant is nice and on Sundays there usually is a band playing jazz music, simply out of Africa! The house with all of Karen Blixen's personal furniture and stuff is just amazing and brings back thoughts of an era long gone.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    247
    160
    48
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Carcavelos, Portugal
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“TOP QUALITY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Excellent cuisine (meat, fish, shrimps, soup,...), good variety of wines and beers, dedicated personnel (congratulations Joan), neat and clean. Wonderful landscape, interior decoration carefully maintained, crafts' shoppette... Will be back there if/when going to that area.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCD51, Director of Sales at Tamambo Karen Blixen, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to review Tamambo Karen Blixen.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your meal and were pleased with the quality and level of our service. Your positive remarks will be shared with our staff, who will be really motivated to maintain the high standard of food and service.

We thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Lovely day time experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We had lunch here after visiting the Giraffe Centre and the David Sheldrick Wildlife foundation. Its a lovely surrounding and setting, food and service were very good, and there is WIFI! we ordered the Tanzanian fish dish and a green salad. Not cheap at all but worth it really as not all restaurants are up to these standards. We also visited the gift shop which was much cheaper then other places. Worthwhile day visit!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
labinaNairobi, Director of Sales at Tamambo Karen Blixen, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about Tamambo Karen Blixen.

We are delighted you enjoyed meal and were happy with the environment, food and service.

We have shared your review with our team, who will be really motivated by your remarks.

Once again,many thanks for the feedback and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Just average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Sorry but I keep trying and I can't ever feel like the food and service at Karen Blixen is anything other than average. It is quite expensive and yet nothing special. Really needs 'something' to take it to the next level and the new interior is NOT it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Nice and pricy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Tamambo Karen Blixen is a very nice and cosy place to have lunch. The surroundings are exquisite, the food is a little above average, but the prices are too high compared to the over all quality. Go here for the atmosphere ... actually, you can sip a nice cup of coffee and go somewhere else and have your lunch.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
labinaNairobi, Director of Sales at Tamambo Karen Blixen, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Tamambo Karen Blixen. We are delighted you enjoyed the atmosphere and surroundings but sorry you found the food too pricey. We are always striving to maintain the highest quality of food and service, however we obviously failed to live up to your expectations, for which we apologise. We shall share your remarks with our team who will endeavour to continue to improve.
thank you once again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tamambo Karen Blixen also viewed

 

Been to Tamambo Karen Blixen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tamambo Karen Blixen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.