We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and pricy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tamambo Karen Blixen

Tamambo Karen Blixen
Karen Road, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
0719346349
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #3 of 300 restaurants in Nairobi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Nice and pricy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Tamambo Karen Blixen is a very nice and cosy place to have lunch. The surroundings are exquisite, the food is a little above average, but the prices are too high compared to the over all quality. Go here for the atmosphere ... actually, you can sip a nice cup of coffee and go somewhere else and have your lunch.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
labinaNairobi, Director of Sales at Tamambo Karen Blixen, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Tamambo Karen Blixen. We are delighted you enjoyed the atmosphere and surroundings but sorry you found the food too pricey. We are always striving to maintain the highest quality of food and service, however we obviously failed to live up to your expectations, for which we apologise. We shall share your remarks with our team who will endeavour to continue to improve.
thank you once again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    117
    75
    23
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great food choices, well managed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I had lunch here with a friend the other day and noticed the difference since the owner changed. Staff was very attentive, the service excellent and the menu offers a great choice of fresh and delicious food (appetizers, salads, meat, fish, deserts...). It's the perfect place for lunch because the garden is vast and beautiful and an oasis of peace. I wouldn't necessarily recommend it at night though.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“A wonderful setting, Great Service, good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This a great place to have a nice lunch in a shaded, relaxed setting while you are visiting the Karen Blixen Museum, the Elephant orphanage or the Giraffe Center in Karen, Kenya. The menu is varied and features mostly continental type cuisine. Don't expect ethic Kenya fare. The service was friendly and efficient. The drink selection was good. We had local beer (Tusker and a glass of wine). They also had free wifi access. This was a great break while visiting the local attractions. You can visit their website at: http://www.karenblixencoffeegarden.com.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
labinaNairobi, Director of Sales at Tamambo Karen Blixen, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
We would like to thank you very much for taking the time to post a review about Tamambo Karen Blixen. We appreciate your compliments and take this opportunity to thank you for your support .

We have shared your review with our team, who are encouraged and motivated to continue paying attention to every detail.

Once again,many thanks for the feedback and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Nova Scotia, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Knock your socks off ice cream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Maybe it was because I just finished climbing Kilimanjaro the day before, but the meal I had at the restaurant was spectacular. The starter soup was the BEST I'd ever had. The Zanzibar fish, despite an enticing description, was so-so, but the coconut and brandy ice cream was the best I'd ever had! And there is no competition for coffee. Simply the best. Fantastic meal and casual atmosphere. - Although I was travelling solo, I could see it as great for business meetings. The service was incredibly attentive.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Superb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

On my one day off I went into the game park followed by lunch at the Resturant. Excellent greeting, very safe and lovely gardens. Food was excellent and a lot of choice. I had a home made burger which was excellent. Well priced. I would have no hesitation in going there again and can't wait to go back

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
labinaNairobi, Director of Sales at Tamambo Karen Blixen, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to review Tamambo Karen. We appreciate your excellent review which we shall share with our team who will be encouraged and motivated to continue working hard and paying attention to every detail.
Thank you for your support and we look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tamambo Karen Blixen also viewed

 

Been to Tamambo Karen Blixen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tamambo Karen Blixen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

You added Tamambo Karen Blixen to your Saves list