We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and pricy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tamambo Karen Blixen

Tamambo Karen Blixen
Karen Road, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
+254 719 346349
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 419 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Tamambo Karen Blixen Coffee Garden Restaurant is located in a beautiful peaceful garden setting on Karen Road, on the site of the original Blixen farmhouse property. The Restaurant is open for breakfast from 06.00Am through to 10.00Pm. Diners have a fine choice of different areas for lunch or dinner. There is the indoor restaurant with adjacent outdoor terrace and garden, for a la carte dining. There are also a variety of functions areas such as the Grand Marquee Sultan style tent, available for 'royal style' wedding functions, dinners and conferences. The Grogan House is a lovely space for private dinners and exclusive functions For many Karen residents, the bar which opens out to a shisha lounge is a popular place to meet and mingle with delicious cocktails and bar snacks and satellite TV.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
336 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Nice and pricy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Tamambo Karen Blixen is a very nice and cosy place to have lunch. The surroundings are exquisite, the food is a little above average, but the prices are too high compared to the over all quality. Go here for the atmosphere ... actually, you can sip a nice cup of coffee and go somewhere else and have your lunch.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mogeltoft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
labinaNairobi, Director of Sales at Tamambo Karen Blixen, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Tamambo Karen Blixen. We are delighted you enjoyed the atmosphere and surroundings but sorry you found the food too pricey. We are always striving to maintain the highest quality of food and service, however we obviously failed to live up to your expectations, for which we apologise. We shall share your remarks with our team who will endeavour to continue to improve.
thank you once again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Level Contributor
92 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Nice gardens”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Cute place, with a good atmosphere that makes a nice break from the hustle and bustle of Nairobi. Nice gardens, and a great place for an afternoon cup of tea.

Helpful?
Thank LifeThroughALens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
224 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Great food choices, well managed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I had lunch here with a friend the other day and noticed the difference since the owner changed. Staff was very attentive, the service excellent and the menu offers a great choice of fresh and delicious food (appetizers, salads, meat, fish, deserts...). It's the perfect place for lunch because the garden is vast and beautiful and an oasis of peace. I wouldn't necessarily recommend it at night though.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ange516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
95 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“A wonderful setting, Great Service, good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This a great place to have a nice lunch in a shaded, relaxed setting while you are visiting the Karen Blixen Museum, the Elephant orphanage or the Giraffe Center in Karen, Kenya. The menu is varied and features mostly continental type cuisine. Don't expect ethic Kenya fare. The service was friendly and efficient. The drink selection was good. We had local beer (Tusker and a glass of wine). They also had free wifi access. This was a great break while visiting the local attractions. You can visit their website at: http://www.karenblixencoffeegarden.com.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank GlenLivet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
labinaNairobi, Director of Sales at Tamambo Karen Blixen, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Knock your socks off ice cream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Maybe it was because I just finished climbing Kilimanjaro the day before, but the meal I had at the restaurant was spectacular. The starter soup was the BEST I'd ever had. The Zanzibar fish, despite an enticing description, was so-so, but the coconut and brandy ice cream was the best I'd ever had! And there is no competition for coffee. Simply the best. Fantastic meal and casual atmosphere. - Although I was travelling solo, I could see it as great for business meetings. The service was incredibly attentive.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tamambo Karen Blixen also viewed

 

Been to Tamambo Karen Blixen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing