We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice experience!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tamambo Karen Blixen

Tamambo Karen Blixen
Karen Road, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
0719346349
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 318 Restaurants in Nairobi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Nice place to relax, food is ok, have had one bad experience with chicken salad and food poisoning. Sundays buffet are average though

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    150
    87
    25
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Inconsistent but great for Lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I go to Tamambo often but have a love hate relationship. Lunches are well presented and the service is great. Often with the Manager helping out on the front line. The food has improved greatly and the menu is varied. Just one step down from Talisman and Haru.

However, wait until the sun sets and you will see a different story. On the last two occasions I stopped for dinner I practically had to beg for food and then again for the bill.

Sad

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and surroundings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We had lunch here after a very busy morning. The surroundings are gorgeous and present many great photo opportunities. We sat outside as it was a very warm day, however our table was slightly in the shade provided by a tree that must have been 100+ years old.
The food was gorgeous. It was lunchtime and lady recommended I try the burger as they are "the best in Nairobi". Well I only tasted one burger in Nairobi, but plenty around the world and this has to be up there with the nicest burger I have ever tasted. Presentation was fantastic and the price was also very reasonable. My wife had prawns and they were lovely too. Great quality food.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“An oasis after a long drive.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

It had a colonial and appearance and the charm of yesteryear with lovely tables set up on the beautiful lawns and outside verandahs. It gave it a very colonial grand touch. The food was tasty and

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We had two very good dinners here and two breakfasts.
Great service, large varied menu. Have you ever had Kenyan oysters? Somewhat small, but very good.
Nice wine list, I liked the South African reds.
A real treat.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tamambo Karen Blixen also viewed

 

Been to Tamambo Karen Blixen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tamambo Karen Blixen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.