We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to chill!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Village Market

The Village Market
9/418 Limuru Road | 100, Nairobi, Kenya (Highridge)
+254 712 248890
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
and up
Nairobi City Tour
Ranked #24 of 89 things to do in Nairobi
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: East Africa's largest entertainment and shopping destination. Description: The Village Market is East Africa's largest Shopping, Recreation and Entertainment destination. The complex is home to over 150 outlets covering 210,000 square feet of retail space, 20,000 square feet of office space in addition to a host of recreation facilities. The mall essentially provides residents of the area with high-end shopping and entertainment, satisfying a niche that was not previously explored. As the name suggests, the complex embodies the spirit of the African market in an open-air setting. To live up to its African theme, are waterfalls, rivers and over 2000 exotic plants and gardens, giving this magnificent shopping centre an edge over other shopping malls. Since its inception 14 years ago, The Village Market has revolutionized shopping while redefining recreation and entertainment. Over the years, the centre has successfully been able to blend modernity and culture to provide an aura of modern shopping.This innovation has not gone unnoticed. Due to its remarkable architectural design, The Village Market has earned numerous accolades including the coveted International Council of Shopping Centres' Design Award.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase
Level Contributor
86 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great place to chill!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

For anyone planing a trip to Nairobi The Village Market is a great place to visit chill,shop and wonderful lunch. My parents and I just had lunch there and we ordered the chili garlic mutton at Kazana's which came with a choice of rice or naan another plate of kebab and I had a mouth watering plate of grilled lamb chops from Prime Cuts, with a choice of two sides, I chose the coleslaw and fries. The total bill for the two dishes from Kazana's was $1500 schillings = $18.00us and my dish came to $900 schillings = $11.00us plus a bottle of coke. Well worth it!!! I plan to go back when I return from our next road trip. The art cafe which is located on the upper level is another hip place to visit I was there the night prior with some friends and just split a pizza which was very fresh and tasty!!! Plus they had and extensive menu to choose from. Look for more blogs over the next few days!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
68 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lovely Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

A wonderful elegant setting with many different variety of restaurants ranging from Indian, Chinese, continental etc.

They have the lovely mini golf course, water slides, bowling and cinema. No doubt, one could spend a weekend there.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheaton, Illinois
Level Contributor
96 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Enjoy Coffee and a Croissant at Art Cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

The Art Cafe at Village Market is a trendy, airy place to meet friends and enjoy a cup of coffee and a pastry. The pastry selection includes almond croissants, apple pie, muffins and more. There is a wide arrange of coffee options. There is also a full menu. Wifi is available. Sit on the balcony and enjoy a cool breeze. Overall a great place to meet and see people and enjoy good food.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful place with brightly colored flowers everywhere.. exotic African merchandise available :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

I visited market village with a friend and it was a great experience.. we started off by having lunch at the food court and ordered food at an indian restaurant.. the food was really good.. food court is out door but the weather there is always pleasant so i enjoyed it.. i was quite impressed by the chandelier that was made out of recycled glass bottles of coke and other soft drinks..
We started visiting shops one by one looking for something interesting to take back home.. some of the leather made stuff was really good and i got a nice folder made of leather.. some of the soaps made of organic materials were also interesting.. i saw a lot of colorful flowers everywhere and they were so clean i thought they were artificial but my friend told me they were real.. i was quite impressed by that..

overall it was an amazing experience and i recommend it to anyone who is going to visit Nairobi :)

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great place to meet friends over Planet Yogurt and Dorman's Ice coffee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

One of my favorite meeting places. Casual, outside food court with plenty of variety and everyone of the many guest I have taken there has found food they enjoyed. I love the seafood place's garlic crab in a shell, Dorman's Ice coffee and Planet Yogurts, frozen yogurt. I think it is the best frozen yogurt anywhere and far better than any I've had in the USA. There very best fresh fish market in Nairobi is there at Prime Cuts Butchery.Their Malindi Sole and Parrot fish being my favorite. I dont do much other shopping there aside from Nakumart and the Green Grocer. The new Seven upscale restaurant upstairs has nice jazz and a relaxing atmosphere.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Village Market also viewed


Been to The Village Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing